Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book
This is excellent. I can see many weeks of reading ahead with this collection. It is the kind of collection which is brilliant to read with your children and the illustrations are beautiful. They really make it a very special book. I'm reading it on iPad and it looks really appealing. There are a lot of stories :
The frog king or iron Henry
Cat and mouse in...
Published 12 months ago by CycleRacing

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shouldn't be surpised
Why is it so hard to find Grimm's fairy tales, not the namby pamby lovey dovey ones but the horrifying, gruesome, viscous original tales. Apparently really hard, I though maybe these ones would of had a few but alas they have the ones that most children of today know. Oh well for what it was It was okay, just not what I wanted.
Published 16 months ago by Tania

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 15 April 2014
By 
CycleRacing (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
This is excellent. I can see many weeks of reading ahead with this collection. It is the kind of collection which is brilliant to read with your children and the illustrations are beautiful. They really make it a very special book. I'm reading it on iPad and it looks really appealing. There are a lot of stories :
The frog king or iron Henry
Cat and mouse in partnership
The story of the youth who went forth to discover what fear was
The wolf and the seven little kids
Faithful John
The good bargain
The twelve brothers
The pack of ragamuffins
Little brother and little sister
Rapunzel
The three little men in the wood
The three spinners
Hansel and Gretel
The three snake-leaves
The straw, the coal, and the bean
The fisherman and his wife
The valiant little tailor
Cinderella
The riddle
Mother Holle
The seven ravens
Red-cap
The Bremen town-musicians
The devil with the three golden hairs
The three languages
Clever Elsie
The wishing-table, the gold ass, and the cudgel in the sack
The wedding of Mrs Fox
The Elves
The robber bridegroom
Herr Korbes
Frau Trude
Godfather death
Fitcher's bird
Old sultan
The Six swans
Fundevogel (bird-foundling)
King Thrushbeard
Little Snow White
Rumpelstiltskin
The golden bird
Frederick and Catherine
The queen bee
The three feathers
The golden goose
Allereirauh
The hare's bride
The twelve huntsmen
The thief and his master
Jorinda and Joringel
The three sons of fortune
How six men got on in the world
Clever Grethel
The ld man and his grandson
The water-nix
Hans in luck
The fox and the geese
The singing, soaring lark
The young giant
The elves
The raven
The peasant's wise daughter
The water of life
Doctor knowall
The spirit in the bottle
Bearskin
Sweet porridge
Wise folks
The poor miller's boy and the cat
The two kings children
The blue light
The three apprentices
The king's son who feared nothing
The old woman in the woods
The three brothers
The devil and his grandmother
The iron stove
The lazy spinner
The four skilful brothers
One eye, two eyes, and three eyes
Fair Katrinelje and Pif-Paf-Poltrie
The fox and the horse
The shoes that were danced to pieces
Iron John
Simeli mountain
Going a-travelling
The donkey
The three sluggards
The twelve idle servants
The shepherd boy
The star money
Brides on their trial
Odds and ends
The sparrow and his four children
The story of Schlauraffen land
A riddling tale
Snow-White and Rose-Red
The glass coffin
Lazy Harry
The hut in the Forrest
Sharing joy and sorrow
The willow-wren
The sole
The bittern and the hoopoe
The owl
The duration of life
Death's messengers
Master Pfriem
The goose-girl at the well
The little folk's presents
The giant and the tailor
The nail
The true sweethearts
The hare and the hedgehog
The spindle, the shuttle, and the needle
The peasant and the devil
The master-thief
The grave-mound
The crystal ball
Maid Maleen
The boots of buffalo-leather
The golden key

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For All The Family, 13 Nov. 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
When the Grimm brothers collected all these old folktales they produced something that was enjoyable for all the family, not just children. Most of these stories are known and loved by millions, and have inspired books, films, and tv series', etc. As an adult I still love to peruse these stories, and for children coming to these for the first time, these stories give us a certain sort of magical entertainment. For a collection of stories that you can grow up with, and still enjoy even when you are old, you can't really go wrong here.

This e-book edition has an active table of contents, active footnotes, and those beautiful illustrations by Arthur Rackham. As I read this mainly on my iPad I should point out that if the table of contents doesn't appear in the 'Go To' menu on your normal kindle e-reader, just click on the beginning and go back from there, and you will find a few pages with the contents listed. With regards to the illustrations there are some black and white ones as well as colour plates. Although these show up perfectly okay, of course the colour ones are better seen on a tablet device.

Grimm's book is something that ideally every household should have, and with this beautiful e-book edition you can have it with you any time, and indulge yourself. As I write this, this is currently on promo and this is more than an ideal time to download this. Give yourself, or your children a treat this Christmas and get this now. If there is nothing on tv you will still have something to keep the family entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars delightfully grim, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
First published in the early 19th century in Germany by the brothers Grimm, I found myself wanting to know more about the origins of the tales: Wikipedia has good coverage here and is well worth reading.

They could be seen as morality tales which reward honesty, beauty, kindness and industry, and punish greed, laziness and dishonesty and so on. Any references to religion are slight, but the punishment for misdemeanours seems to echo the same moral message as the Christian image of hell.

One of the delights of this Kindle addition are the very fine illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this as the illustrations are lovely. I will enjoy reading this book to my granddaughter and I remember the stories myself, so we will both be happy to dip in and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grimms Fairy Tales, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
I have not read this particular version yet. But years ago, i read a much earlier copy and enjoyed the strang tales therein.
Evelyn Steward
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love fairy tales., 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
The illustrations in this book are fabulous. I would prefer to have it in book form but I am glad I have it.The stories are timeless and I have read them to my children and their children as my parents read to me and my siblings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to read the real versions, 5 Jan. 2014
By 
Andrea M Thompson (Christchurch, Canterbury. New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
You think you know some of these stories but the originals are so different from the Disney ones! Nice pics too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite stories of all times. wonderfully illustrated. good read for mkids and adult ., 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
beautifully illustrated story book. great for reading even at bedtime. for adult and kids too. i will recommend it to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
This is a lovely edition of the classic collection of fairy tales. Some a little more gruesome that the disney versions! I've found it fascinating to read the origins of some of our best known fairy tales, and discover new ones that I have never heard of before.

The illustrations by Arthur Rackham are lovely. I'm reading this on an old-fashioned kindle but the illustrations are coming out very clearly in black and white. This would display to even greater advantage on a kindle fire though, where you could enjoy the colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated) (Fairy eBooks) (Kindle Edition)
It is a lovely illustrated book well worth buying go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Grimm's Fairy Tales: Complete and Illustrated
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (33)   
Buy new£0.99
Available for download now

Grimm's Fairy Tales: Complete Edition & Over 200 Fairy Tales (Annotated)
Buy new£0.99
Available for download now

Grimm's Fairy Tales (Illustrated)
Buy new£0.99
Available for download now