Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Metallica Album in About 20 Years.........
Yes, I know it's not Metallica, I was being witty!...

However Jason Newsted was the full time bassist in Metallica for about 15 years and if Metallica had released anything as good as this since he left in 2000 then they would still be one of the best bands on the planet instead of living on past glories.

Powerfull well produced metal, highly...
Published 19 months ago by Martyn Clegg

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ... sure what I was expecting but this ain't very good. Poor lyrics
Not sure what I was expecting but this ain't very good. Poor lyrics, poorly sung. Some good riffs and drumming. Its pretty much Metallica load/reload sounding. Bit disappointed 😞
Published 6 months ago by Harmzzy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Metallica Album in About 20 Years........., 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (MP3 Download)
Yes, I know it's not Metallica, I was being witty!...

However Jason Newsted was the full time bassist in Metallica for about 15 years and if Metallica had released anything as good as this since he left in 2000 then they would still be one of the best bands on the planet instead of living on past glories.

Powerfull well produced metal, highly recommended. Well done Jason Newsted....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is what it says on the cover, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
Heavy Metal Music - never one to shy away from the Metal Tag Jason Newsted plays is loud and proud on this first full length CD from the ex Flotsam & Jetsam/Metallica Bassists - makes a great companion to the Metal EP released in January. Jason has surrounded himself with some like-minded band mates to produce an album of quality and maturity - buy and enjoy \m/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise, 15 Oct. 2013
By 
Dave Hale (Colchester, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
I recently bought 2 new CD's - Megadeth 'Super Collider' and this album. When I first listened to 'Super Collider' I thought it was not too bad and couldn't understand why everyone had given it such bad reviews. When I first listened to 'Heavy Metal Music' I thought it was poor and couldn't understand why it had received so many good reviews on Amazon. Fast forward a mere week and 'Super Collider' is back in it's case as it got very boring very quickly. On the other hand, Heavy Metal Music is still being played. In fact now a month later I am still listening to it on a daily basis. When I first heard the album I thought the songs were a bit tedious and unoriginal and the lyrics really lame. However, the more I have listened the more it has grown on me. I don't think there is a bad song on the album, the sound quality and mixing is excellent, the songs are brutal in places but never over the top, there are are moments of great musicianship and intricate harmonies along with pure detuned power chord heaven. The lyrics in places are pretty rubbish but at the end of the day, the vocals are there just to give a bit of direction to the heavy metal smorgasbord that is served up alongside it.
Really pleased for Jason - if Metallica had knocked out something like this recently I think the crtics would be, quite rightly, hailing a new era for them. As it is Newsted will have a limited audience, but I for 1 am glad I took a punt and bought this album. If you do buy it, just make sure you don't dismiss it after a few listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Aleutia (Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
This album is so refreshing, Jason has looked backwards in order to go forwards with this release. It's all here , Double kick drums, Distorted Bass, huge guitars (solo's & catchy melodies). Jason's voice is as good as the metal EP hinted at. This album doesn't drag, there aren't any album fillers or half assed songs here. It's simply an old school metal feel that's been dragged in to the modern day, all of the songs on here are allowed to breathe & you can here everything that is going on. This is hands down the best mixed album I have heard in a long time, it doesn't have all of the other issues like Death Magnetic (terrible mix)did. The production & mixing are 1st class making this an album that doesn't hurt your ears like a lot of recent releases have.

This album has been played on my home stereo, in my car, on my mp3 player & phone, It sounds great on all of these systems & that's good enough for me. This is a great 1st album & hopefully Newsted will go onto make better albums, as for a 5 star album it's good but not a out and out classic. Too many people just say 5 star to everything (how can you compare this to Master of Puppets, Blood Mountain, The Blackening, or any other albums that where way above anything else).

With the quality of song writing here from Jason it makes you wonder, what if metallica had actually written more with Jason,
how would things have turned out ? we'll never know the answer to that one & judging by this album it doesn't matter. Jason is back doing what he does best & that's all that matters.

If you like Heavy Metal Music then you should add this to your collection as it simply is... Heavy Metal Music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
I brought this on the release date purely on the reviews from the EP. Haven't really heard much of Jason's non-metallica stuff to be honest, but thought i'd give it a go. As like most heavy metals fans, I love metallica, certainly the earlier stuff from my youth (pre-black album). I listen to alot of music, mostly rock, but also country, blues, etc. But I always need a heavy metal fix now and again. This album really does that. The guitaring sounds great, really mean and heavy. Jason's voice is also very good. I have been playing this album pretty much every day for the last 2-3 weeks and not getting bored of it yet. Every song is very good. Only down side I would say are the lyrics, they do sound like a bit of an afterthought in places. But on the whole, if you like metal, buy it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Pulverising Metal, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
I Invested in this awesome double LP which also comes with the cd, so you can put it on your ipod or play it in the car. The artwork of the LP is excellent with a kind of worn, 'beat up' effect like an old Maiden or Priest record that's been kicking around for thirty years.
Every song on the album is filled with energy, passion, crunching riffs and Newsted's excellent gravel-voiced vocals. Everything convinces; Jason and his new band really mean business.
Whilst heavy and aggressive, there is a lot of positivity on the album. I can't recommend it highly enough. Along with Phil Anselmo's new record, this is one of the highlights of heavy music for some years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good start, 15 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. A. P. T. Day "apday101" (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (MP3 Download)
Got to hand it to Newsted, this is metal. You can hear his bass in the music as well (Unlike most of the Metallica recordings where they seemed to turn it right down to almost non-existence!) Good riffs, cheesy lyrics but ultimately it does what is says on the tin. Suspend the need for faster or heavier or blacker or more shock...enjoy this metal first offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm crunchy, 18 Mar. 2015
Well you get exactly what the title says, there's nothing new here, but what you do get is a growling, grinding, crunching heavy metal glacier. Jason's singing reminds me(not sounds like) of Lemmy or Max C. there's no vocal gymnastics just gravel. Long Time Dead will give you a good feel for what you're going to get. This is a late night post pub soundtrack before one for the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy is the core, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
Its quite fitting that the previous release was called 'Metal' and this release is called 'Heavy Metal Music'.
I say this because 2 tracks from the previous E.P are present on this album, Soliderhead & King Of The Underdogs and they have gone through a remixing process to give them the backing dirt effect that puts the Heavy in Metal, thus taking them from Metal to Heavy Metal Music, Louder and more dirty and above all else Heavy.

Considering Jason was a former Metallica star (and in my eyes still is) this album sounds completely different to anything Metallica has ever released, The Black Album comes closest to the Album but is still very far away. The only thing that sounds similar to the Metallica sound is of course Jasons voice, its quite pleasing to hear that Jasons vocals have not suffered since 1999s S&M, its only become slightly more brutal which is perfect being backed by the sound of the rest of the album.

Jasons seen as one of the Godfathers of Metal and he's produced an album along side Jesus Mendez JR., Mike Mushok and Jessie Farnsworth which clearly proves this fact. I personally find that this albums key is the shear amount of memorable riffs, both bass and guitar wise, Ampossible, Long Time Dead and Kindevillusion hold some of the most impressive riffs i've heard in a long time, it just goes to show that Metal is still going strong in the world of music and not everything has been done yet.

Overall this album should belong on every Metalheads shelf whether they be a fan of Metallica or despise them. Jason Newsted has hit the world hard and am hoping that his next release comes out just as good as Heavy Metal Music, because he's not just set the bar high for Metallica but he's set it high for himself too, if he can better this album then he is truly the King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal Music, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heavy Metal Music (Audio CD)
When I first heard that Jason Newsted was releasing solo material, I was apprehensive, half expecting disappointing material that sold because Jason used to be Metallica's bass player.

How wrong I was.

I initially bought the 'Metal' EP which contains 4 tracks in total, 2 of which appear on the 'Heavy Metal Music' album and left me waiting for the album to be released...

I'm so glad I bought it, there isn't a weak track on the album. There's pounding beats, heavy riffs, great solo's, complimented by Jason's gravelly vocals. What more could you want in a heavy metal album?

Probably 2013's best metal release, this has become one of my most played albums.

If you like heavy metal music, then buy 'Heavy Metal Music'. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heavy Metal Music
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews