Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 albums of all time
Please ignore the slightly superficial comments from the other reviewers. This is, no doubt, one of the top 10 80s albums. It ranks up there with the best from Duran, Simple Minds et al. It has all the killer ingredients that made 80s pop so powerful. Namely, outstanding production with great depth and subtlety, cracking tunes, soaring vocals and great instrumentation...
Published on 15 Dec 2005 by Timothy Plumb

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Content Good. Sound Quality Poor
All I will say about this album is that it's good. For this price you will not be disappointed.

What I would like to say (that nobody else has) is that it has poor sound quality, possibly the worst I have heard from a CD. The high frequency content appears to have been lost, leaving a wooly and dry sound. I have a 45rpm of "Feels Like Heaven" and even with the...
Published on 12 July 2011 by MusicLover


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top 10 albums of all time, 15 Dec 2005
By 
Please ignore the slightly superficial comments from the other reviewers. This is, no doubt, one of the top 10 80s albums. It ranks up there with the best from Duran, Simple Minds et al. It has all the killer ingredients that made 80s pop so powerful. Namely, outstanding production with great depth and subtlety, cracking tunes, soaring vocals and great instrumentation (the slap bass is something special). How this album became overlooked at the time is beyond me.
It's clear that (Feels Like) Heaven (go on the brackets) is an all-time classic but do not think that the rest of the album disappoints. If you appreciate your 80s pop then there is no need to flick through a single track. Ghost of Love has a driving slap bass and super guitar riff, the title track is a soaring piece of emotional pop and Heart and Mind has the kind of high-hat work that Roger Taylor would be proud of.
Buy with confidence - this album deserves all the recognition it can get. It's up there with the Ward Brothers as the great lost album of the 80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 20 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This is one of my all time favourite albums of the 8O's. It is just a shame they are no longer around to brings such classics as feels like heaven and the album track Hanging garden. Come back lads we are lost without your music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I still hear this group on Czech radio, 11 May 2000
By A Customer
Fiction Factory, like so many things in life were only appreciated after they'd gone. I regularly hear Feels Like Heaven and Hate That Ghost of Love on Czech Radio ( I'm a Scot based in Prague ). This album is fine and competent but the high hopes you have of something excellent following the first track are all too soon dashed, it'll bring back a few memories to those who remember this band from their brief period of success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sounds like Heaven, 17 Dec 1999
The first track on the album, Feels Like Heaven, is one of those tracks that sums up the very best music of the early eighties. Play it anywhere, and get ready to remind everyone of the group's name. None of the other tracks can quite touch the first, but who cares? Just repeat track 1 and enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The return of an old friend, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Throw The Warped Wheel Out (Audio CD)
Fiction Factory will go down as a one-hit-wonder band. Nothing new there - even great bands of longevity like Blue Oyster Cult suffer that fate to those unwilling to delve a little deeper.

And, yes, Heaven is the best track on this CD. But Panic, Ghost go Love and The Warped Wheel are near equal. Hit the Mark, The First Step and Tales of Tears are all very good songs. The Hanging Gardens (experimental), All or Nothing (the most dated) and Heart and Mind (the dullest) are the weakest on the original album, but are by no means poor.

Of the additional B sides, The Other Side of Grey and I Who Know You are really good, while Everyone But You (with the lovely bitter refrain "I dream of everyone but you - I leave you out!") is wonderful. Dreaming of Someone is pretty good too. The only true bum note is Old Game Blue Flame.

I listened to FF's follow-up album at the time but didn't care for it at all. Perhaps Fiction Factory should be referred to as a one-hit-album-wonder band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album...Buyer Information Review, 2 April 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone looking at this review probably already knows of Fiction Factory; or, at the very least, has heart (Feels Like) Heaven and wants to know more about the band. Well, there's enough on the internet about the band and their short career so I'm not going to waste space here going into it. Suffice to say, this is an excellent album from an underrated band!

Now, the important bit.

You may not know that this album has been release twice. Once as a 10 track CD (the one listed with picture here on Amazon); but there was also a 1993 12 Track version.

THAT version included the songs 'Rise and Fall' and 'I Who Know You'. Both are excellent tracks; and it is well worth tracking down the other version for those tracks. The barcode number for that version is: 5018665297326 and it CAN be found here on Amazon if you search using the code.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow !, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Michael 80 (San Francisco,USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Throw The Warped Wheel Out (Audio CD)
Excellent reissue of a lost classic. FF only had two albums and this one clearly sets the tone for what the band was about. A cross between early Simple Minds,Tears For Fears and The Associates. Cherry Red has done a decent job in the remastering process with all the b sides and remixes presented here immaculately. Anyone wondering about the loudness factor: there's none whatsoever . Buy it Now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album....love the extended versions now included on this extended edition!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Throw The Warped Wheel Out (Audio CD)
Great album,...the additional bonus tracks are excellent. Really love this album and I highly recommend this new extended CD Release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic 80s, 13 Mar 2013
By 
K. Fotheringham (TAYSIDE,SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
one of the most underated albums and band ever .feels like heaven is classic as is ghost of love ...saw them 2 years ago at the rewind festival.......a wee footnote i work with the lead singer of fiction factory ..great guy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bonkers album title of all time, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a fantastic album from the 80's. the sound quality is poor but the quality of songs like ghost of love[which should have been just as big a hit as heaven]makes up for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Throw The Warped Wheel Out
Throw The Warped Wheel Out by Fiction Factory (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews