Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

273
4.6 out of 5 stars
Doctor Who -  The Complete Series 7 [DVD]
Format: DVDChange
Price:£29.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

270 of 279 people found the following review helpful
on 8 September 2013
2011 Christmas Special
The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe

Series 7 Part One
7x01 Asylum of the Daleks
7x02 Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
7x03 A Town Called Mercy
7x04 The Power of Three
7x05 The Angels Take Manhattan

2012 Christmas Special
The Snowmen

Series 7 Part Two
7x06 The Bells of Saint John
7x07 The Rings of Akhaten
7x08 Cold War
7x09 Hide
7x10 Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS
7x11 The Crimson Horror
7x12 Nightmare in Silver
7x13 The Name of the Doctor

Extras
Audio commentaries for episodes: The Snowmen, Cold War, Hide, and The Crimson Horror
Prequels for: The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe, Asylum of the Daleks, The Snowmen (The Great Detective, Vastra Investigates, Demons Run: Two Days Later), The Bells of Saint John and The Name of the Doctor (She Said, He Said, Clarence and the Whispermen)
Pond Life
As Good as Gold (exclusive to the UK version)
The Making of the Gunslinger
Creating Clara
Rain Gods
Clara and the TARDIS
Inforarium
Clara's White Christmas
Behind the scenes featurettes for every episode (except The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe)
Last Days of the Ponds
The Science of Doctor Who
The Companions
Doctor Who at Comic Con
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on 16 January 2014
The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary season is a corker. The sad farewell of the Ponds, the puzzling mystery of Clara, exciting and interesting scripts, clever twists and some terrifying monsters.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2011 - THE DOCTOR, THE WIDOW AND THE WARDROBE
7/10: a bit cheesy but Hey! It's Christmas

SERIES 7 - PART 1

1. ASYLUM OF THE DALEKS (9/10): great to see all those Daleks although there could have been a little bit more action. For me, the highlight of the story is Jenna-Louise Coleman as the sexy Oswin. I wish Clara could be a bit more like that.
2. DINOSAURS ON A SPACESHIP (8/10): the doctor has a gang! Maybe some adults would find it boring but it's perfect for the kids. And Mark Williams is the perfect choice for Rory's dad.
3. A TOWN CALLED MERCY (7/10): a bit boring when i first watched it but it grew on me. A good story but cowboy western mumbo-jumbo isn't really my cup of tea.
4. THE POWER OF THREE (8/10): the year of the slow invasion. An interesting insight into the Ponds' life. Jemma Redgrave is good as Kate Stewart just as she is in The Day of the Doctor. I wonder if she's actually a Zygon at this point aswell? I give 8/10 for the first half-hour as the ending seemed a bit rushed and we never learn why the Shakri took Brian and some other humans.
5. THE ANGELS TAKE MANHATTAN (9/10): the much awaited return of the Weeping Angels and in New York too! Alex Kingston is amusing as River Song as always although she has been turning up like a bad penny in the past year. The Angels do not dissapoint and the Ponds' farewell is as emotional as promised although as other people have said, Rory doesn't get a proper send-off.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2012 - THE SNOWMEN
8/10: Good old Vastra, Jenny and Strax are back as the comedy Victorian gang along with the return of the Great Intelligence after nearly 45 years away from the show. Jenna-Louise Coleman pops up again, this time as a Victorian barmaid/governess called Clara. Good episode but I feel that the snowmen could have popped up a bit more seeing as the title of the story is The Snowmen.

SERIES 7 - PART 2

6. THE BELLS OF SAINT JOHN (8/10): nice idea, people getting attacked through the Wi-Fi. Fun season opener with a suprise cameo of Richard E Grant as The GI.
7. THE RINGS OF AKHATEN (2/10): utter guff. Boring, pointless, stupid. WAY TOO MUCH singing for my liking. If it wasn't for the magical yet sad story of Clara's parents before the opening sequence, I would have given this story 0.
8. COLD WAR (9/10): although the ice-warriors haven't been in Doctor Who since 1974, they are still just as chilling. I absolutely loved the idea of an ice-warrior coming out of its suit. There were obviously a lot of ice-warriors in the ship that came to rescue Skaldak. Maybe hinting a more epic ice-warrior story next year?
9. HIDE (8/10): oh dear, I thought. Another story by the author of Rings. I was pleasantly surprised by this story however. It's quite clever and has some good acting. I think the bit at the end with the scorpion-alien-things in love was a bit weird though.
10. JOURNEY TO THE CENTRE OF THE TARDIS (8/10): cool story. A great way to see what's actually in the TARDIS.
11. THE CRIMSON HORROR (8/10): watching this episode, I knew that a Vastra, Jenny, Strax spin-off would be great. This is a very funny yet gruesome tail and an enjoyable watch.
12. NIGHTMARE IN SILVER (6.5/10): an okay story but the cybermen are now too powerful. They're meant to have weaknesses. It's all a bit silly in some ways between bringing along the kids, the Doctor playing chess with himself and Clara hiding out in a fairy castle with Griphook the Goblin.
13. THE NAME OF THE DOCTOR (10/10): a perfect prequel to the even more perfect 50th anniversary special. The mystery behind Clara is very clever; she is just a normal girl who followed the GI into the Doc's timestream. I adore the opening scene with Clara following all the Doctors, the Whispermen are terrifying and seeing Trenzalore reminds us that The Doc won't live forever.

Overall a really enjoyable season. Buy if you like action packed, monster filled Doctor Who.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 February 2014
May contain spoilers
After the very disappointing Series 6, this is a great (though in some cases mixed) series to lead up to the 50th Anniversary special. I'll give a rating out of 10 for each episode and a brief review

The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe (6/10):
It's not the best episode ever, but it's a Christmas special, and is very "Christmassy". Good performance by guest stars and Matt Smith as always. It won't win any awards but is a very solid episode to bridge the gap between Series 6 and 7

Asylum of the Daleks (8/10):
I've never seen a Dalek episode I didn't enjoy, and this is no exception. Also good to see some cameos from classic Dalek models, and a return to the RTD Dalek model after the terrible ones from Series 5. Surprise appearance of Jenna-Louise Coleman also good to see

Dinosaurs on a Spaceship (6/10):
Generally a bit of a comic-relief episode (as seen from the Mitchell and Webb robots), but is still very enjoyable to watch. Anyone who likes Harry Potter will be happy (me included) with two actors, Mark Williams and David Bradley, who were in it. Williams played Rory's dad, showing a bit of Rory's life apart from Amy.

A Town Called Mercy (7/10):
Interesting episode, one where we (and the Doctor) aren't 100% sure about who the real villain is. A bit more seen about the Doctor and the impact of everything on him, who is of course well-acted by Matt Smith.

The Power of Three (5/10):
Probably the weakest episode of the whole series. It's a good idea of a 'slow invasion', and it's good to see the Brigadier's daughter for the first time, but it's hard to get past the fact that the first half an hour is pretty much just everyone looking at cubes.

The Angels Take Manhattan (7/10):
Emotional end to Amy and Rory, who had been part of Doctor Who as long as Matt Smith had. Weeping Angels another enemy that rarely have a bad episode (though they've never come close to Blink). River Song is annoying as always, but she is made up for by the rest of the episode.

The Snowmen (9/10):
Where Christmas episodes have traditionally been among the weakest episodes of Doctor Who, this completely changes that. Richard E Grant/Ian McKellen are a good combination as the villain, and it's a good (and surprising) intro for Clara Oswald. I'm still not sure why the Doctor has a Silurian, Sontaran and random woman as friends though

The Bells of Saint-John (8/10):
Clara's third and final intro story. A lot is spent on that over the threat, which is another example of contemporary things being turned into problems in Doctor Who. Very good episode, with the "main enemy of the series" having a cameo at the end

The Rings of Akhaten (6/10):
One of the episodes that would have been more typical of Series 6, where a bad episode is turned into an OK episode by Matt Smith's incredible performance (I rate only Tom Baker as a better Doctor)

Cold War (9/10):
This was the first I'd seen of the Ice Warriors (though I've seen the classic stories since) and they seem to be a monster pretty close to the heights of Daleks/Cybermen etc. It's surprising the Cold War (where everything was already so close to ending) has never been used before, but it's used very well here

Hide (7/10):
A "ghost story meets Sci-Fi" kind of episode that works very well, with good performances from the guest stars. Interesting end to the episode too

Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS (6/10):
If the guest stars had been better, this could have easily been an 8. However, they weren't, and the performance part ended up being carried by Matt Smith/Jenna-Louise Coleman. The "getting lost in the TARDIS" story isn't exactly original though, and has elements from 'The Doctor's Wife'

The Crimson Horror (7/10):
One of those interesting stories, that lived up to its potential. Again, not the best episode in the series, but neither is it the worst. Pretty much an average episode, though the Silurian/Sontaran/random woman combination reappears

Nightmare in Silver (9/10):
Possibly the best appearance of the Cybermen since The Five Doctors back in 1983. The idea that they can upgrade themselves quickly gives them an extra dimension, and makes them a much bigger threat. Also, Harry Potter/Star Wars (or even An Idiot Abroad) fans, Warwick Davis appears

The Name of the Doctor (10/10):
Perfect way to set up The Day of the Doctor. Silurian/Sontaran/random woman combination returns but are possibly at their best, as is River Song (not that that's difficult). Finally discover how Clara is "the Impossible Girl", with a return of the Great Intelligence (only Richard E Grant, though, not Ian McKellen anymore). This is a spoiler, but I'm guessing everyone knows about John Hurt, and his sudden appearance at the end made the wait for Day of the Doctor seem even longer
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 December 2013
I'd go as far to say that this is probably my favourite series of Doctor Who, certainly since the show was revived in 2005. I have been a great fan of Doctor Who since first watching it in 2006 and I have loved every series, some more than others. Here are my ratings [Out of 10] for the complete series seven [I have included the two recent specials as, despite not being included on the set, form a part of series seven]:

The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe - 7
Asylum of the Daleks - 10
Dinosaurs On A Spaceship - 8
A Town Called Mercy - 8
The Power of Three - 7
Angels Take Manhattan - 9
The Snowmen - 9
The Bells of Saint John - 8
The Rings of Akhaten - 10
Cold War - 10
Hide - 10
Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS - 9
The Crimson Horror - 10
Nightmare in Silver - 9
The Name of the Doctor - 10
The Day of the Doctor - 10
The Time of the Doctor - 9

Perhaps I am just easily pleased, but I think this is by far the most consistent series of Doctor Who there's been. I do, however, firmly believe that the show should opt to hourly episodes starting form next year. 13x60 minute episodes would be superb, but I would be prepared to see the series drop down to 10 episodes if there could be an increase in length. I feel that the biggest drawback of series seven is the episode length. Whilst I don't think they effect the episodes severely, many of them have suffered from rushed endings as a result of the 45 minute timeslot.

Ratings and episodes aside, I think the set as a whole is superb. I was initially a bit pessimistic about what would be on the set, given that Doctor Who Confidential was axed in 2011, and the show contributed towards a bulk of the special features on the NuWho sets. However, I needn't have worried as the set is chock full of Value Added Material [VAM].

Every episode, with the exception of "The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe" has a behind the scenes featurette, each averaging at around 5 minutes in length. These offer a nice insight into the production of each episode. I wasn't a massive fan of Confidential overall, as I felt that they were mostly too long and off-topic [The Confidential cut-downs on the boxsets were better, but often suffered from the wrong content being cut], but these 5 minute features are pretty good. They could perhaps do with being more like the Behind The Lens features that have been on the DVDs of The Day of the Doctor and The Time of the Doctor; fun and offering a great insight into the production of each episode.

We haven't had a full series of commentaries since series four in 2008 [Most, if not all, of which were taken directly from the official Doctor Who site], but series seven has four of them on the following episodes: "The Snowmen", "Cold War", "Hide" and "The Crimson Horror". They are all great and range from interesting insights and comments from Mark Gatiss, to a hilarious listen from the Paternoster Trio and Matt Smith's first and so far only appearance on a DVD commentary. Matt is a guest on the "Hide" commentary with director Jamie Payne. I think that this is by far the best commentary of the set, and perhaps one of the greatest Who commentaries, as it is so clear that Matt utterly adored his time as The Doctor. It's worth noting that I listened to the commentary on Christmas Day, just before the explosive regeneration in The Time of the Doctor, so Matt's love of the show really hit home.

There are also three documentaries on the DVD which were originally broadcast by BBC America. The docos are 45 minutes in length and are basic introductions for new fans, but enjoyable nonetheless. It's worth warning that two out of the three docos feature John Barrowman!

To round the set off are several scenes that are exclusive to the set: "Inforarium", "Rain Gods", "Clara and the TARDIS" and "Clarence and the Whispermen". The first two feature the Doctor, the latter of which is set during the first part of the series and the latter is set sometime during the second half and features River Song, as played by Alex Kingston. The title "Clara and the TARDIS" says it all, really, and "Clarence and the Whispermen" feels like a cut scene from The Name of the Doctor and could have perhaps done with being included in the story itself.

All in all an excellent set to accompany what I feel has been an excellent series of our beloved show. Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 25 November 2013
As a lifelong dedicated Whovian you can either fall into the trap of following the many forums and blogs where negativity is currency or you can watch a programme on it's own merits and enjoy the ride that each show runner provides. This, series 7, ran by the indomitable Stephen Moffat, is a different kettle of fish to his previous two woven tapestries with the fact that half of it is all movie style, stand alone epic bluster that says goodbye to two companions that came on board at the same time as Matt Smith, and the other half are stand alone stories infused with a mystery that is weaved in up untill the last episode while also introducing us to the latest plot driven companion. So, as a whole, it does feel slightly uneven as a dvd boxset but worked well to suit the gapping in it's transmission. That said, each story brings it's merits to the table and there is not really a damp squib between them. Yes even the critically panned Rings of Akhaten had it's good side where both Matt and Jenna act their chops off against a green screen monster/god. While doctor who confidential is missed the special features, while not up to par with previous box sets, does have a fair amount of importance to them, whether it's the mini episodes setting up the main course or little bite sized online making of vignettes it still makes holding out on getting the 2 part vanilla-ish dvds for so long and waiting for this treasure chest of a whole series of timey whimy, dinosaur hunting, angel dodging, tardis exploring, cybermen reinventing fun
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 November 2013
This is a quick mention for the US version, as per the above link. It has a different front cover.

All of the series 7 episodes are included as well as "The doctor, the widow and the wardrobe" Christmas special, as per the UK version. The only difference is that the CBBC "school winner" short video "Good as Gold" is not included. This short video features the Doctor and Amy with an appearance by a weeping angel. Instead, on the US Edition there are some interviews with Matt Smith and Jenna-Louise Coleman which were shown on the US series "The Nerdist" (this is shown on BBC America). It's a chat-show format and Matt appears via satellite while Jenna is on a video recorded PODcast. Both interviews are informative and Matt gives some interesting insights into his take on The Doctor. As these interviews run to 15mins and the Good as Gold short is 3mins I know which I prefer!

The series itself, as others have stated, is a mixed bag and it is subjective as to which stories are better. What is undisputed is that this series has garnered even more US fans, as can be seen in the footage of the filming in New York and at the San Diego comic-con convention. Plus the fact that there are New York buses with adverts on them for Doctor Who means that the series has well and truly penetrated the US market! Long may it be so!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
69 of 83 people found the following review helpful
on 5 September 2013
Ive read various criticisms of this series and the Matt Smith/S Moffat era in general. Im afraid that I have to disagree with them. The point is valid that this whole post tennant era has been a rollercoaster of greatness and stupidity but as with life, you remember and take with you the good times. Here is where I choose to differ. The highlights of the Smith and Moffat era are so much better than what has come before that to then whinge about the poorer aspects is churlish. Its like being treated to a 5 star night out and moaning that the taxi was 5 mins late and the show you went to see finished a bit later than planned.

But I digress. The problem is RT Davies brought the show back from a very bad place and just kept building it up and up with Tennant the icing on the cake. But he peaked and there was nowhere left to go. He tried to change it slightly and all we got was self indulgent stories that bordered on ego. The tenth Doctor became a little too arrogant and toward the end a bit whiny. They should have ended the reign before the year of 'Specials' that saw Tennant leave. I was sorry to see him go but I was getting sick of it and that last year seemed tainted.

Matt Smith came in trying to fill some big boots. There was a lot of hit and miss as he and Moffat tried to differentiate themselves from what had come before but to my mind, Smith's inexperience in the role was not evident. He had done his homework and thrown all of himself into it. I have never seen an actor so young being able to portray the age and burden of a timelord who has endured too much. Yet he also bought an energy to the role. This was a character who was old but young, jaded but excitable, kind but dangerous. Smith literally nailed the eccentricity of the Doctor. There have been childish moments but when its mattered, Smith and Moffat have delivered such powerful scenes that all else is forgiven. The Doctors speech to young Amy in the Big Bang, the rings of akhaten, Amy's words at the end of The Angels Take Manhattan - Just a few moments that have brought emotion that most modern Television can only dream of. These are the kinds of motivational concepts that drive people to want to be better and to be more than they are.

Series 7 was more like a series of mini films. The production values were superb and although the Clara episodes seem a bit disjointed it was all enjoyable. The first half was more consistent and I get the feeling the second half had a bigger story arc to tell but there wasnt enough time. Although we are familiar with Clara it feels like we are forced to know her and her impact on the Doctor's life far sooner than we should.

This series is probably one of the best yet but the inconsistencies and the cliffhanger ending are a bit of a let down. That said, I will be really sorry to see Matt Smith go. There is a part of me that considers him the best Doctor (yes I grew up with Tom Baker so thats saying something!). I dont think he was appreciated for what he did. But he will be going out on a high. Just wish I could work out how this ends. Well Done to all involved.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
Doctor Who - Complete Series 7 follows the adventures of the legendary time lord "The Doctor" (played by Matt Smith) and his companions. The five disc boxed set contains the following episodes:

Asylum of the Daleks
Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
A Town Called Mercy
The Power of Three
The Angels Take Manhattan
The Bells of Saint John
The Rings of Akhaten
Cold War
Hide
Journey to the Centre of the Tardis
The Crimson Horror
Nightmare in Silver
The Name of the Doctor

Also included are the Christmas specials, and a host of special features such as several features on the mysterious and rather yummy Clara (played by Jenna-Louise Coleman). There are plenty of features on the discs to keep even the hard core fans happy.

Generally the quality of episodes throughout the season are very high and an improvement on the previous series. Highlights for me were the first episode "Asylum of the Daleks" which had a great twist at the end, the heart breaking "The Angels Take Manhattan" and the brilliant "The Name of the Doctor" which paves the way for the up and coming "Day of The Doctor". There were a few episodes that I didn't enjoy for various reasons. Journey to the Centre of the Tardis for example disappointed me (mainly because of the ending), as did "The Power of Three" which I felt had so much more to offer, especially with the introduction of Kate Stewart (daughter of the Brigadier Lethbridge Stewart.)

Nevertheless most content is very enjoyable, entertaining and watchable. The series also introduces a new foe in the way of the sinister Whispermen, while the Daleks (both new style and old) make a reappearance.

Matt Smith plays the Doctor very well with brilliant acting (backed up by good scripts) and makes this season his own. Matt will be missed by Doctor Who fans and myself alike and this series offers the best examples to why.

The series was a bit disjointed during broadcast as there was a break after "The Angels Take Manhattan." While there were various reasons for this, it was a bit disappointing to have to wait so long for Doctor Who to return to TV, as I was really getting into the series come the time of Angels.

If you a fan of Doctor Who you will enjoy watching and or rewatching the episodes in this series. I'm sure you'll be counting down the days to the Day of The Doctor (I know that I am) until that day comes - enjoy this series.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 February 2014
What an incredible season! These episode are the most incredible you can think about.
The season finale is such an epic episode that I watched it five times.
The delivery was fast and accurate. It's nice to have the digital copy too so that I can watch the episodes on my computer as well.
The Blu-ray pack has a very high-definition quality and the sound is fantastic (I'm used to playing the disc on my bly-ray home theatre).
This is not a suggest: it's a must see season.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 November 2013
It took me a second viewing to really get into this season and after watching it on blu ray -I really enjoyed it. It is split into two halves -the first half being the end of the Amy and Rory's journey with the doctor, the second being the start of Clara's. It all ends with s tantalising shot of John Hurt as " The Doctor" even though Peter Capaldi has already been announced as being Doctor number 12. Tantalising stuff - looking forward to the next episode.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.