Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 50th Anniversary Season
The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary season is a corker. The sad farewell of the Ponds, the puzzling mystery of Clara, exciting and interesting scripts, clever twists and some terrifying monsters.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2011 - THE DOCTOR, THE WIDOW AND THE WARDROBE
7/10: a bit cheesy but Hey! It's Christmas

SERIES 7 - PART 1

1. ASYLUM OF THE...
Published 8 months ago by Lew623

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointing Season
Occasionally fantastic, often mediocre and frequently awful: those are my memories of Season 7. Episodes like The Angels Take Manhattan, The Snowmen and The Crimson Terror are a sheer delight but much of the rest is, at best, forgettable and too often un-watchable.

Things start off in a depressing vein with the highly disappointing Asylum of the Daleks, a...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 50th Anniversary Season, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary season is a corker. The sad farewell of the Ponds, the puzzling mystery of Clara, exciting and interesting scripts, clever twists and some terrifying monsters.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2011 - THE DOCTOR, THE WIDOW AND THE WARDROBE
7/10: a bit cheesy but Hey! It's Christmas

SERIES 7 - PART 1

1. ASYLUM OF THE DALEKS (9/10): great to see all those Daleks although there could have been a little bit more action. For me, the highlight of the story is Jenna-Louise Coleman as the sexy Oswin. I wish Clara could be a bit more like that.
2. DINOSAURS ON A SPACESHIP (8/10): the doctor has a gang! Maybe some adults would find it boring but it's perfect for the kids. And Mark Williams is the perfect choice for Rory's dad.
3. A TOWN CALLED MERCY (7/10): a bit boring when i first watched it but it grew on me. A good story but cowboy western mumbo-jumbo isn't really my cup of tea.
4. THE POWER OF THREE (8/10): the year of the slow invasion. An interesting insight into the Ponds' life. Jemma Redgrave is good as Kate Stewart just as she is in The Day of the Doctor. I wonder if she's actually a Zygon at this point aswell? I give 8/10 for the first half-hour as the ending seemed a bit rushed and we never learn why the Shakri took Brian and some other humans.
5. THE ANGELS TAKE MANHATTAN (9/10): the much awaited return of the Weeping Angels and in New York too! Alex Kingston is amusing as River Song as always although she has been turning up like a bad penny in the past year. The Angels do not dissapoint and the Ponds' farewell is as emotional as promised although as other people have said, Rory doesn't get a proper send-off.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2012 - THE SNOWMEN
8/10: Good old Vastra, Jenny and Strax are back as the comedy Victorian gang along with the return of the Great Intelligence after nearly 45 years away from the show. Jenna-Louise Coleman pops up again, this time as a Victorian barmaid/governess called Clara. Good episode but I feel that the snowmen could have popped up a bit more seeing as the title of the story is The Snowmen.

SERIES 7 - PART 2

6. THE BELLS OF SAINT JOHN (8/10): nice idea, people getting attacked through the Wi-Fi. Fun season opener with a suprise cameo of Richard E Grant as The GI.
7. THE RINGS OF AKHATEN (2/10): utter guff. Boring, pointless, stupid. WAY TOO MUCH singing for my liking. If it wasn't for the magical yet sad story of Clara's parents before the opening sequence, I would have given this story 0.
8. COLD WAR (9/10): although the ice-warriors haven't been in Doctor Who since 1974, they are still just as chilling. I absolutely loved the idea of an ice-warrior coming out of its suit. There were obviously a lot of ice-warriors in the ship that came to rescue Skaldak. Maybe hinting a more epic ice-warrior story next year?
9. HIDE (8/10): oh dear, I thought. Another story by the author of Rings. I was pleasantly surprised by this story however. It's quite clever and has some good acting. I think the bit at the end with the scorpion-alien-things in love was a bit weird though.
10. JOURNEY TO THE CENTRE OF THE TARDIS (8/10): cool story. A great way to see what's actually in the TARDIS.
11. THE CRIMSON HORROR (8/10): watching this episode, I knew that a Vastra, Jenny, Strax spin-off would be great. This is a very funny yet gruesome tail and an enjoyable watch.
12. NIGHTMARE IN SILVER (6.5/10): an okay story but the cybermen are now too powerful. They're meant to have weaknesses. It's all a bit silly in some ways between bringing along the kids, the Doctor playing chess with himself and Clara hiding out in a fairy castle with Griphook the Goblin.
13. THE NAME OF THE DOCTOR (10/10): a perfect prequel to the even more perfect 50th anniversary special. The mystery behind Clara is very clever; she is just a normal girl who followed the GI into the Doc's timestream. I adore the opening scene with Clara following all the Doctors, the Whispermen are terrifying and seeing Trenzalore reminds us that The Doc won't live forever.

Overall a really enjoyable season. Buy if you like action packed, monster filled Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


246 of 255 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Contents, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Adamo Giovanni Alex (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
2011 Christmas Special
The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe

Series 7 Part One
7x01 Asylum of the Daleks
7x02 Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
7x03 A Town Called Mercy
7x04 The Power of Three
7x05 The Angels Take Manhattan

2012 Christmas Special
The Snowmen

Series 7 Part Two
7x06 The Bells of Saint John
7x07 The Rings of Akhaten
7x08 Cold War
7x09 Hide
7x10 Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS
7x11 The Crimson Horror
7x12 Nightmare in Silver
7x13 The Name of the Doctor

Extras
Audio commentaries for episodes: The Snowmen, Cold War, Hide, and The Crimson Horror
Prequels for: The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe, Asylum of the Daleks, The Snowmen (The Great Detective, Vastra Investigates, Demons Run: Two Days Later), The Bells of Saint John and The Name of the Doctor (She Said, He Said, Clarence and the Whispermen)
Pond Life
As Good as Gold (exclusive to the UK version)
The Making of the Gunslinger
Creating Clara
Rain Gods
Clara and the TARDIS
Inforarium
Clara's White Christmas
Behind the scenes featurettes for every episode (except The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe)
Last Days of the Ponds
The Science of Doctor Who
The Companions
Doctor Who at Comic Con
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who?, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Jayke1981 (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
15 episodes, including 2 Christmas Specials and a plethora of fantastic extras that makes this series one of the best boxsets that Doctor Who has released so far. Its the first not to include the UK's Doctor Who Confidential, so we have documentaries that are produced by BBC America, and truth be told, they are incredible editions! Probably as they include contributions from pre Moffat era's David Tennant, John Barrowman, Noel Clarke and Freema Aygeman. Most interesting documentary was the Science of Doctor Who. And for me the funniest extra content scene was Clara and The Tardis!

Matt Smith's final boxset as the Doctor is a brilliant one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its not perfect but you know what..., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ive read various criticisms of this series and the Matt Smith/S Moffat era in general. Im afraid that I have to disagree with them. The point is valid that this whole post tennant era has been a rollercoaster of greatness and stupidity but as with life, you remember and take with you the good times. Here is where I choose to differ. The highlights of the Smith and Moffat era are so much better than what has come before that to then whinge about the poorer aspects is churlish. Its like being treated to a 5 star night out and moaning that the taxi was 5 mins late and the show you went to see finished a bit later than planned.

But I digress. The problem is RT Davies brought the show back from a very bad place and just kept building it up and up with Tennant the icing on the cake. But he peaked and there was nowhere left to go. He tried to change it slightly and all we got was self indulgent stories that bordered on ego. The tenth Doctor became a little too arrogant and toward the end a bit whiny. They should have ended the reign before the year of 'Specials' that saw Tennant leave. I was sorry to see him go but I was getting sick of it and that last year seemed tainted.

Matt Smith came in trying to fill some big boots. There was a lot of hit and miss as he and Moffat tried to differentiate themselves from what had come before but to my mind, Smith's inexperience in the role was not evident. He had done his homework and thrown all of himself into it. I have never seen an actor so young being able to portray the age and burden of a timelord who has endured too much. Yet he also bought an energy to the role. This was a character who was old but young, jaded but excitable, kind but dangerous. Smith literally nailed the eccentricity of the Doctor. There have been childish moments but when its mattered, Smith and Moffat have delivered such powerful scenes that all else is forgiven. The Doctors speech to young Amy in the Big Bang, the rings of akhaten, Amy's words at the end of The Angels Take Manhattan - Just a few moments that have brought emotion that most modern Television can only dream of. These are the kinds of motivational concepts that drive people to want to be better and to be more than they are.

Series 7 was more like a series of mini films. The production values were superb and although the Clara episodes seem a bit disjointed it was all enjoyable. The first half was more consistent and I get the feeling the second half had a bigger story arc to tell but there wasnt enough time. Although we are familiar with Clara it feels like we are forced to know her and her impact on the Doctor's life far sooner than we should.

This series is probably one of the best yet but the inconsistencies and the cliffhanger ending are a bit of a let down. That said, I will be really sorry to see Matt Smith go. There is a part of me that considers him the best Doctor (yes I grew up with Tom Baker so thats saying something!). I dont think he was appreciated for what he did. But he will be going out on a high. Just wish I could work out how this ends. Well Done to all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best To Date - Makes Me Happy To Pay My TV Licence, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Doctor Who - Complete Series 7 follows the adventures of the legendary time lord "The Doctor" (played by Matt Smith) and his companions. The five disc boxed set contains the following episodes:

Asylum of the Daleks
Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
A Town Called Mercy
The Power of Three
The Angels Take Manhattan
The Bells of Saint John
The Rings of Akhaten
Cold War
Hide
Journey to the Centre of the Tardis
The Crimson Horror
Nightmare in Silver
The Name of the Doctor

Also included are the Christmas specials, and a host of special features such as several features on the mysterious and rather yummy Clara (played by Jenna-Louise Coleman). There are plenty of features on the discs to keep even the hard core fans happy.

Generally the quality of episodes throughout the season are very high and an improvement on the previous series. Highlights for me were the first episode "Asylum of the Daleks" which had a great twist at the end, the heart breaking "The Angels Take Manhattan" and the brilliant "The Name of the Doctor" which paves the way for the up and coming "Day of The Doctor". There were a few episodes that I didn't enjoy for various reasons. Journey to the Centre of the Tardis for example disappointed me (mainly because of the ending), as did "The Power of Three" which I felt had so much more to offer, especially with the introduction of Kate Stewart (daughter of the Brigadier Lethbridge Stewart.)

Nevertheless most content is very enjoyable, entertaining and watchable. The series also introduces a new foe in the way of the sinister Whispermen, while the Daleks (both new style and old) make a reappearance.

Matt Smith plays the Doctor very well with brilliant acting (backed up by good scripts) and makes this season his own. Matt will be missed by Doctor Who fans and myself alike and this series offers the best examples to why.

The series was a bit disjointed during broadcast as there was a break after "The Angels Take Manhattan." While there were various reasons for this, it was a bit disappointing to have to wait so long for Doctor Who to return to TV, as I was really getting into the series come the time of Angels.

If you a fan of Doctor Who you will enjoy watching and or rewatching the episodes in this series. I'm sure you'll be counting down the days to the Day of The Doctor (I know that I am) until that day comes - enjoy this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few dodgy episodes but my favourite Matt Smith/Steven Moffat series, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. A. Rothnie "arothnie" (Formby, Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Admittedly series seven of new Who has several mediocre episodes particularly in the second half but for me it is the strongest series since two to four. I know some fans are disappointed with it but while it is not perfect there are a number of decent episodes, some excellent. There is still a story arc - namely about "the impossible girl" - which is a good thing but there are no multi-part stories which often works but also sometimes fails. For example everything up to the final ten minutes of "The Power of Three" is really exciting storytelling about an invasion but the end is so simplistic (a flick of the doctor's sonic screwdriver) that it could have done with a second episode with a better resolution. Two of the least strong episodes "Journey to the Centre of the Tardis" and "Nightmare in Silver" similarly have fast resolutions but at least there is more sophistication that leads up to them.

But anyhow, usually having single episodes is okay and this run is in my opinion superior to series five and six. Steven Moffat's era as Doctor Who boss has been dogged by too much exposition and a lot of his best episodes were with Russell T Davies as boss. It is like he needed Davies in charge to reduce the excessive, dodgy exposition so the stories are more accessible. Whereas series five was bland and six was pretentious, Steven Moffat has honed his style and for the most part it is no longer puzzle of the week. It is big and cinematic while retaining sophistication and not being an overly complex, difficult watch.

"The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe" I might surprise people is my favourite of the two Christmas specials. While it is like the 2010 special based on a famous story, this time it is done right. Whereas 2010's special was tacky with the singing and flying fish, this time it is atmospheric with the snow and trees. The emotion of the mother's predicament as to when to tell the children about the father's death in the war makes it an emotional tale too. The 2012 Christmas special "The Snowmen" is pretty good though not quite as amazing as the 2011 one. Again it has a good Christmas atmosphere and differs from the previous two in that it is not based in any way on another story. The story of Clara saving the Doctor and world from the great intelligence is solid. The only thing, however, that reduces its effect on me is that the 2008 special was likewise based in Victorian London and I enjoyed that a bit more.

"Asylum of the Daleks" is one of the very best episodes. Again it is atmospheric on the snow-covered planet and in the grimy, dark Dalek asylum. It is a strong story and introduces Jenna Coleman in what was a surprise first appearance. Her saving of the doctor and his companions is a decent ending and initiates the story arc of the "impossible girl." It is definitely the best Dalek episode of the Moffat era and finest Dalek episode in a long while.

"The Angels Take Manhattan" is the strongest episode of the entire series and even fans who do not like series seven must admit it is a great. It is very emotional as Amy and Rory die in the present time and is as good a departure of the doctor's companion(s) as series two's "Army of Ghosts/Doomsday." What also makes it such a strong episode is unlike series five where the Weeping Angels are boring, this time they can again like series three's "Blink" send people back in time to use their lifespan for energy. It makes for a much more interesting tale and the setting of New York with all the Angels is really grand. Alex Kingston as Amy and Rory's part Time Lord daughter also contributes a strong performance.

"The Bells of Saint John" is another great and feels like a short movie. "The Crimson Horror" is Mark Gatiss' best episode since series one's "The Unquiet Dead." Similarly, it is set in Victorian London and the factory is a strong setting and feels like a proper adventure with its various rooms that the characters travel through. The mystery of the factory workers deaths provides intrigue. Diana Rigg plays one of the best antagonists in the series as she is so sinister. Meanwhile Jenny, Strax and Madame Vastra are interwoven well into the resolution of the story and it is admirable the way Clara smashes the first mechanism instead of the doctor resorting to his sonic screwdriver.

"The Name of the Doctor" is the best series finale since series three providing an effective resolution to the mystery of "the impossible girl" and five years of River Song stories. It is genius for River Song's death to have been back in series four and now the viewer is seeing her for the last time as an echo from the library's computer. The continuity over a long time enhances the emotion of River Song's last meeting with the doctor. The atmosphere is again excellent and the viewer really feels the sadness of Trenzalore. The reveal at the end that there was another life of the doctor - one who broke the promise of his name - at the end of the episode is really exciting and sets up the story for the fiftieth anniversary special. The episode flows well but the only thing is perhaps there is slightly too much exposition in the final ten minutes of the episode which reduces my appreciation a bit. But it is the strongest finale in a long time though and all the different reveals are gripping.

Other good episodes in series seven include "A Town Called Mercy" with its moral dilemma in an American Western town. In fact Amy and Rory's final appearances in the first half of the series are their strongest ever. "Hide" is also a solid episode providing ghost searching with a fantasy/sci-fi explanation.

The problem that series seven has however is that there are a few episodes that drag it down a bit as they are so average or even poor. "Dinosaurs on a Spaceship" is run of the mill and dinosaurs in space did not work so effectively in Red Dwarf too. "Cold War" on the other hand lacks a bit of complexity in the plot to make it a good story. "Journey to the Centre of the Tardis" is bland with its too frequent running through the same corridor. Meanwhile "Nightmare in Silver" though not as bad as reviews made out is crying out for a more action-based plot. "The Rings of Akhaten" is simply the worst new Who episode ever - the minutes of singing which are part of the main story are cringe worthy.

Series seven of Doctor Who is for me the best under Steven Moffat's direction as show runner - there are nine and a half out of fifteen good to excellent episodes here. Anyway, for me the post-Christopher Ecclestone series have all failed to be consistently great all the way through though series five and six are particularly average overall. The problem is unlike something like Red Dwarf which typically has six episodes in each run it must be quite difficult to make thirteen episodes all vital with only a years' space between each series. There have always been some weak episodes since series one and though series seven is not perfect it has enough fine episodes to make it worth buying. You wonder whether some people have been especially unfavourable towards it as perhaps they are bored with Doctor Who. Perhaps Doctor Who could do with a reinvention soon - though not completely different - to refresh it but for now series seven despite some dross has enough good in it to make it a reasonably successful run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Farewell Season For Smith, 1 Nov 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a really big fan of Series 7, and despite what anyone has negatively said about the split season, the poor storytelling and development of Clara, I would urge them to watch this boxset and appreciate in a new way. Seeing these episodes in a continuous run, as I have twice since receiving the boxset five days ago, these problems seem like minor quibbles and add a certain credibility to the episodes and their characters/themes not present in the original weeklly viewings.

Disc 1 contains episodes 'The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe' which still remains the weakest Christmas Special since the shows return. Its not as bad upon repeat viewings, but its incredibly twee and uneventful. However this is followed up by the spectacular 'Asylum Of The Daleks' which includes the humble beginnings of the Clara/Oswin mystery and a positive spin on making the Daleks scary again. 'Dinosaurs On A Spaceship' is a bold and original style of Doctor Who episode, fitting in with the themes of episodic blockbusters they were attempting this year. Its a great episode, very undervalued with some beautiful themes, sharp dialogue and ideas that make it simialr to 'The Beast Below' - another underrated modern Who ep.

Disc 2 contains 'A Town Called Mercy' which despite high production values and a few morally thoughtful themes is not really the most original idea for Who. However, 'The Power Of Three' is a fantastic episode with the Cubes and the Shalka (ideas that I hope get expanded upon in a future episode) the introduction of the Brigadiers daughter Kate Lethbridge-Stewart and a different episodic structure than what Who is used to. But 'The Angels Take Manhattan' is a fantastic episode: noir in tone and a fittingly dark goodbye to the Ponds, which despite a few lapses in logic is stunning in its sentimentality

Disc 3 contains 'The Snowmen' which is a fantastic episode and ironically the best seasonal special, considering the poor effort from the previous year, and is stunningly well made and a fitting continuation of the Clara character. A great episode to re-watch, not something that can always be said of a seasonal special. 'The Bells Of Saint John' is an intriguing story, very modern, beautiful looking and with a few twists (and a start turn from Celia Imrie as baddie Miss Kizlet. The Rings Of Akhaten is the weakest episode here, but it does improve with repeat viewings which showcase its ambition and scale and both Smith and Coleman exercise their emotions in a moving final act.

Disc 4 has 'Cold War' a brillianty atmospheric piece showcasing the return of the Ice Warriors and 'Hide,' a gothic inspired, atmospheric and beautifully tonal episode with some lovely rich themes on life and love. The final episode on the disc is 'Journey To The Centre of the TARDIS' which boasts some inventive visuals, impressive storytelling and an engaging look into Who's history in this anniversary year. Very cool

Disc 5 has the final episodes with the comic and camp 'The Crimson Horror' which is a fantastic Mark Gatiss-penned script, full of wit, comedy and an engaging performance from all involved, particularly Rachael Stirlings performance. The slightly sub-par 'Nightmare In Silver' shows a brave attempt at a Cyberman reboot, but fails somewhat, and is only really saved by Smiths performance as both himself and the Cyber-Doctor. However this is more than made up for in series finale 'The Name Of The Doctor' with the reappearance (in flasback) of all previous incarnations of the Doctor, the resolution of the Clara mystery, the return of the Great Intelligence and the sinister Whispermen and the trip to Trenzalore, which was first mentioned over a year ago in the series 6 finale. All in all a very satisfying purchase.

The DVDs all have beautiful artwork on them,(in particular Amy's image on Disc 2) and a vast array of features including specially filmed shorts (Rain Gods, Inforarium, Clara & The TARDIS), behind the scenes and interviews (the kind of thing that would have normally made up the bulk of previous Doctor Who Confidentials) and interesting prequels. There is lots to be had here, and rewatching it I see how much of it is good, with a few justifiable modern classics that make it a well worth it purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 12 Feb 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
May contain spoilers
After the very disappointing Series 6, this is a great (though in some cases mixed) series to lead up to the 50th Anniversary special. I'll give a rating out of 10 for each episode and a brief review

The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe (6/10):
It's not the best episode ever, but it's a Christmas special, and is very "Christmassy". Good performance by guest stars and Matt Smith as always. It won't win any awards but is a very solid episode to bridge the gap between Series 6 and 7

Asylum of the Daleks (8/10):
I've never seen a Dalek episode I didn't enjoy, and this is no exception. Also good to see some cameos from classic Dalek models, and a return to the RTD Dalek model after the terrible ones from Series 5. Surprise appearance of Jenna-Louise Coleman also good to see

Dinosaurs on a Spaceship (6/10):
Generally a bit of a comic-relief episode (as seen from the Mitchell and Webb robots), but is still very enjoyable to watch. Anyone who likes Harry Potter will be happy (me included) with two actors, Mark Williams and David Bradley, who were in it. Williams played Rory's dad, showing a bit of Rory's life apart from Amy.

A Town Called Mercy (7/10):
Interesting episode, one where we (and the Doctor) aren't 100% sure about who the real villain is. A bit more seen about the Doctor and the impact of everything on him, who is of course well-acted by Matt Smith.

The Power of Three (5/10):
Probably the weakest episode of the whole series. It's a good idea of a 'slow invasion', and it's good to see the Brigadier's daughter for the first time, but it's hard to get past the fact that the first half an hour is pretty much just everyone looking at cubes.

The Angels Take Manhattan (7/10):
Emotional end to Amy and Rory, who had been part of Doctor Who as long as Matt Smith had. Weeping Angels another enemy that rarely have a bad episode (though they've never come close to Blink). River Song is annoying as always, but she is made up for by the rest of the episode.

The Snowmen (9/10):
Where Christmas episodes have traditionally been among the weakest episodes of Doctor Who, this completely changes that. Richard E Grant/Ian McKellen are a good combination as the villain, and it's a good (and surprising) intro for Clara Oswald. I'm still not sure why the Doctor has a Silurian, Sontaran and random woman as friends though

The Bells of Saint-John (8/10):
Clara's third and final intro story. A lot is spent on that over the threat, which is another example of contemporary things being turned into problems in Doctor Who. Very good episode, with the "main enemy of the series" having a cameo at the end

The Rings of Akhaten (6/10):
One of the episodes that would have been more typical of Series 6, where a bad episode is turned into an OK episode by Matt Smith's incredible performance (I rate only Tom Baker as a better Doctor)

Cold War (9/10):
This was the first I'd seen of the Ice Warriors (though I've seen the classic stories since) and they seem to be a monster pretty close to the heights of Daleks/Cybermen etc. It's surprising the Cold War (where everything was already so close to ending) has never been used before, but it's used very well here

Hide (7/10):
A "ghost story meets Sci-Fi" kind of episode that works very well, with good performances from the guest stars. Interesting end to the episode too

Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS (6/10):
If the guest stars had been better, this could have easily been an 8. However, they weren't, and the performance part ended up being carried by Matt Smith/Jenna-Louise Coleman. The "getting lost in the TARDIS" story isn't exactly original though, and has elements from 'The Doctor's Wife'

The Crimson Horror (7/10):
One of those interesting stories, that lived up to its potential. Again, not the best episode in the series, but neither is it the worst. Pretty much an average episode, though the Silurian/Sontaran/random woman combination reappears

Nightmare in Silver (9/10):
Possibly the best appearance of the Cybermen since The Five Doctors back in 1983. The idea that they can upgrade themselves quickly gives them an extra dimension, and makes them a much bigger threat. Also, Harry Potter/Star Wars (or even An Idiot Abroad) fans, Warwick Davis appears

The Name of the Doctor (10/10):
Perfect way to set up The Day of the Doctor. Silurian/Sontaran/random woman combination returns but are possibly at their best, as is River Song (not that that's difficult). Finally discover how Clara is "the Impossible Girl", with a return of the Great Intelligence (only Richard E Grant, though, not Ian McKellen anymore). This is a spoiler, but I'm guessing everyone knows about John Hurt, and his sudden appearance at the end made the wait for Day of the Doctor seem even longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - The Complete Series Seven, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I'd go as far to say that this is probably my favourite series of Doctor Who, certainly since the show was revived in 2005. I have been a great fan of Doctor Who since first watching it in 2006 and I have loved every series, some more than others. Here are my ratings [Out of 10] for the complete series seven [I have included the two recent specials as, despite not being included on the set, form a part of series seven]:

The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe - 7
Asylum of the Daleks - 10
Dinosaurs On A Spaceship - 8
A Town Called Mercy - 8
The Power of Three - 7
Angels Take Manhattan - 9
The Snowmen - 9
The Bells of Saint John - 8
The Rings of Akhaten - 10
Cold War - 10
Hide - 10
Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS - 9
The Crimson Horror - 10
Nightmare in Silver - 9
The Name of the Doctor - 10
The Day of the Doctor - 10
The Time of the Doctor - 9

Perhaps I am just easily pleased, but I think this is by far the most consistent series of Doctor Who there's been. I do, however, firmly believe that the show should opt to hourly episodes starting form next year. 13x60 minute episodes would be superb, but I would be prepared to see the series drop down to 10 episodes if there could be an increase in length. I feel that the biggest drawback of series seven is the episode length. Whilst I don't think they effect the episodes severely, many of them have suffered from rushed endings as a result of the 45 minute timeslot.

Ratings and episodes aside, I think the set as a whole is superb. I was initially a bit pessimistic about what would be on the set, given that Doctor Who Confidential was axed in 2011, and the show contributed towards a bulk of the special features on the NuWho sets. However, I needn't have worried as the set is chock full of Value Added Material [VAM].

Every episode, with the exception of "The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe" has a behind the scenes featurette, each averaging at around 5 minutes in length. These offer a nice insight into the production of each episode. I wasn't a massive fan of Confidential overall, as I felt that they were mostly too long and off-topic [The Confidential cut-downs on the boxsets were better, but often suffered from the wrong content being cut], but these 5 minute features are pretty good. They could perhaps do with being more like the Behind The Lens features that have been on the DVDs of The Day of the Doctor and The Time of the Doctor; fun and offering a great insight into the production of each episode.

We haven't had a full series of commentaries since series four in 2008 [Most, if not all, of which were taken directly from the official Doctor Who site], but series seven has four of them on the following episodes: "The Snowmen", "Cold War", "Hide" and "The Crimson Horror". They are all great and range from interesting insights and comments from Mark Gatiss, to a hilarious listen from the Paternoster Trio and Matt Smith's first and so far only appearance on a DVD commentary. Matt is a guest on the "Hide" commentary with director Jamie Payne. I think that this is by far the best commentary of the set, and perhaps one of the greatest Who commentaries, as it is so clear that Matt utterly adored his time as The Doctor. It's worth noting that I listened to the commentary on Christmas Day, just before the explosive regeneration in The Time of the Doctor, so Matt's love of the show really hit home.

There are also three documentaries on the DVD which were originally broadcast by BBC America. The docos are 45 minutes in length and are basic introductions for new fans, but enjoyable nonetheless. It's worth warning that two out of the three docos feature John Barrowman!

To round the set off are several scenes that are exclusive to the set: "Inforarium", "Rain Gods", "Clara and the TARDIS" and "Clarence and the Whispermen". The first two feature the Doctor, the latter of which is set during the first part of the series and the latter is set sometime during the second half and features River Song, as played by Alex Kingston. The title "Clara and the TARDIS" says it all, really, and "Clarence and the Whispermen" feels like a cut scene from The Name of the Doctor and could have perhaps done with being included in the story itself.

All in all an excellent set to accompany what I feel has been an excellent series of our beloved show. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a show by its critics, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
As a lifelong dedicated Whovian you can either fall into the trap of following the many forums and blogs where negativity is currency or you can watch a programme on it's own merits and enjoy the ride that each show runner provides. This, series 7, ran by the indomitable Stephen Moffat, is a different kettle of fish to his previous two woven tapestries with the fact that half of it is all movie style, stand alone epic bluster that says goodbye to two companions that came on board at the same time as Matt Smith, and the other half are stand alone stories infused with a mystery that is weaved in up untill the last episode while also introducing us to the latest plot driven companion. So, as a whole, it does feel slightly uneven as a dvd boxset but worked well to suit the gapping in it's transmission. That said, each story brings it's merits to the table and there is not really a damp squib between them. Yes even the critically panned Rings of Akhaten had it's good side where both Matt and Jenna act their chops off against a green screen monster/god. While doctor who confidential is missed the special features, while not up to par with previous box sets, does have a fair amount of importance to them, whether it's the mini episodes setting up the main course or little bite sized online making of vignettes it still makes holding out on getting the 2 part vanilla-ish dvds for so long and waiting for this treasure chest of a whole series of timey whimy, dinosaur hunting, angel dodging, tardis exploring, cybermen reinventing fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who -  The Complete Series 7 [DVD]
Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] by Matt Smith (DVD - 2013)
£20.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews