Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


230 of 239 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Contents
2011 Christmas Special
The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe

Series 7 Part One
7x01 Asylum of the Daleks
7x02 Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
7x03 A Town Called Mercy
7x04 The Power of Three
7x05 The Angels Take Manhattan

2012 Christmas Special
The Snowmen

Series 7 Part Two
7x06 The Bells of Saint...
Published 10 months ago by Adamo Giovanni Alex

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great picture and sound shame about the episodes
Not bad, just mostly "meh" I can't say I will rush back to view season 7 very often. The opening Dalek story is fun, but the series soon flattens out into stories that never meet their potential on paper. I know there are big fans of this era and season - I'm not one of them, and i feel the best of the new Doctors is wasted in many of these episodes reduced to a...
Published 5 months ago by M. Hevingham


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

230 of 239 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Contents, 8 Sep 2013
By 
Adamo Giovanni Alex (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
2011 Christmas Special
The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe

Series 7 Part One
7x01 Asylum of the Daleks
7x02 Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
7x03 A Town Called Mercy
7x04 The Power of Three
7x05 The Angels Take Manhattan

2012 Christmas Special
The Snowmen

Series 7 Part Two
7x06 The Bells of Saint John
7x07 The Rings of Akhaten
7x08 Cold War
7x09 Hide
7x10 Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS
7x11 The Crimson Horror
7x12 Nightmare in Silver
7x13 The Name of the Doctor

Extras
Audio commentaries for episodes: The Snowmen, Cold War, Hide, and The Crimson Horror
Prequels for: The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe, Asylum of the Daleks, The Snowmen (The Great Detective, Vastra Investigates, Demons Run: Two Days Later), The Bells of Saint John and The Name of the Doctor (She Said, He Said, Clarence and the Whispermen)
Pond Life
As Good as Gold (exclusive to the UK version)
The Making of the Gunslinger
Creating Clara
Rain Gods
Clara and the TARDIS
Inforarium
Clara's White Christmas
Behind the scenes featurettes for every episode (except The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe)
Last Days of the Ponds
The Science of Doctor Who
The Companions
Doctor Who at Comic Con
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 50th Anniversary Season, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
The Doctor Who 50th Anniversary season is a corker. The sad farewell of the Ponds, the puzzling mystery of Clara, exciting and interesting scripts, clever twists and some terrifying monsters.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2011 - THE DOCTOR, THE WIDOW AND THE WARDROBE
7/10: a bit cheesy but Hey! It's Christmas

SERIES 7 - PART 1

1. ASYLUM OF THE DALEKS (9/10): great to see all those Daleks although there could have been a little bit more action. For me, the highlight of the story is Jenna-Louise Coleman as the sexy Oswin. I wish Clara could be a bit more like that.
2. DINOSAURS ON A SPACESHIP (8/10): the doctor has a gang! Maybe some adults would find it boring but it's perfect for the kids. And Mark Williams is the perfect choice for Rory's dad.
3. A TOWN CALLED MERCY (7/10): a bit boring when i first watched it but it grew on me. A good story but cowboy western mumbo-jumbo isn't really my cup of tea.
4. THE POWER OF THREE (8/10): the year of the slow invasion. An interesting insight into the Ponds' life. Jemma Redgrave is good as Kate Stewart just as she is in The Day of the Doctor. I wonder if she's actually a Zygon at this point aswell? I give 8/10 for the first half-hour as the ending seemed a bit rushed and we never learn why the Shakri took Brian and some other humans.
5. THE ANGELS TAKE MANHATTAN (9/10): the much awaited return of the Weeping Angels and in New York too! Alex Kingston is amusing as River Song as always although she has been turning up like a bad penny in the past year. The Angels do not dissapoint and the Ponds' farewell is as emotional as promised although as other people have said, Rory doesn't get a proper send-off.

CHRISTMAS SPECIAL 2012 - THE SNOWMEN
8/10: Good old Vastra, Jenny and Strax are back as the comedy Victorian gang along with the return of the Great Intelligence after nearly 45 years away from the show. Jenna-Louise Coleman pops up again, this time as a Victorian barmaid/governess called Clara. Good episode but I feel that the snowmen could have popped up a bit more seeing as the title of the story is The Snowmen.

SERIES 7 - PART 2

6. THE BELLS OF SAINT JOHN (8/10): nice idea, people getting attacked through the Wi-Fi. Fun season opener with a suprise cameo of Richard E Grant as The GI.
7. THE RINGS OF AKHATEN (2/10): utter guff. Boring, pointless, stupid. WAY TOO MUCH singing for my liking. If it wasn't for the magical yet sad story of Clara's parents before the opening sequence, I would have given this story 0.
8. COLD WAR (9/10): although the ice-warriors haven't been in Doctor Who since 1974, they are still just as chilling. I absolutely loved the idea of an ice-warrior coming out of its suit. There were obviously a lot of ice-warriors in the ship that came to rescue Skaldak. Maybe hinting a more epic ice-warrior story next year?
9. HIDE (8/10): oh dear, I thought. Another story by the author of Rings. I was pleasantly surprised by this story however. It's quite clever and has some good acting. I think the bit at the end with the scorpion-alien-things in love was a bit weird though.
10. JOURNEY TO THE CENTRE OF THE TARDIS (8/10): cool story. A great way to see what's actually in the TARDIS.
11. THE CRIMSON HORROR (8/10): watching this episode, I knew that a Vastra, Jenny, Strax spin-off would be great. This is a very funny yet gruesome tail and an enjoyable watch.
12. NIGHTMARE IN SILVER (6.5/10): an okay story but the cybermen are now too powerful. They're meant to have weaknesses. It's all a bit silly in some ways between bringing along the kids, the Doctor playing chess with himself and Clara hiding out in a fairy castle with Griphook the Goblin.
13. THE NAME OF THE DOCTOR (10/10): a perfect prequel to the even more perfect 50th anniversary special. The mystery behind Clara is very clever; she is just a normal girl who followed the GI into the Doc's timestream. I adore the opening scene with Clara following all the Doctors, the Whispermen are terrifying and seeing Trenzalore reminds us that The Doc won't live forever.

Overall a really enjoyable season. Buy if you like action packed, monster filled Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few dodgy episodes but my favourite Matt Smith/Steven Moffat series, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. A. Rothnie "arothnie" (Formby, Merseyside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Admittedly series seven of new Who has several mediocre episodes particularly in the second half but for me it is the strongest series since two to four. I know some fans are disappointed with it but while it is not perfect there are a number of decent episodes, some excellent. There is still a story arc - namely about "the impossible girl" - which is a good thing but there are no multi-part stories which often works but also sometimes fails. For example everything up to the final ten minutes of "The Power of Three" is really exciting storytelling about an invasion but the end is so simplistic (a flick of the doctor's sonic screwdriver) that it could have done with a second episode with a better resolution. Two of the least strong episodes "Journey to the Centre of the Tardis" and "Nightmare in Silver" similarly have fast resolutions but at least there is more sophistication that leads up to them.

But anyhow, usually having single episodes is okay and this run is in my opinion superior to series five and six. Steven Moffat's era as Doctor Who boss has been dogged by too much exposition and a lot of his best episodes were with Russell T Davies as boss. It is like he needed Davies in charge to reduce the excessive, dodgy exposition so the stories are more accessible. Whereas series five was bland and six was pretentious, Steven Moffat has honed his style and for the most part it is no longer puzzle of the week. It is big and cinematic while retaining sophistication and not being an overly complex, difficult watch.

"The Doctor, The Widow and the Wardrobe" I might surprise people is my favourite of the two Christmas specials. While it is like the 2010 special based on a famous story, this time it is done right. Whereas 2010's special was tacky with the singing and flying fish, this time it is atmospheric with the snow and trees. The emotion of the mother's predicament as to when to tell the children about the father's death in the war makes it an emotional tale too. The 2012 Christmas special "The Snowmen" is pretty good though not quite as amazing as the 2011 one. Again it has a good Christmas atmosphere and differs from the previous two in that it is not based in any way on another story. The story of Clara saving the Doctor and world from the great intelligence is solid. The only thing, however, that reduces its effect on me is that the 2008 special was likewise based in Victorian London and I enjoyed that a bit more.

"Asylum of the Daleks" is one of the very best episodes. Again it is atmospheric on the snow-covered planet and in the grimy, dark Dalek asylum. It is a strong story and introduces Jenna Coleman in what was a surprise first appearance. Her saving of the doctor and his companions is a decent ending and initiates the story arc of the "impossible girl." It is definitely the best Dalek episode of the Moffat era and finest Dalek episode in a long while.

"The Angels Take Manhattan" is the strongest episode of the entire series and even fans who do not like series seven must admit it is a great. It is very emotional as Amy and Rory die in the present time and is as good a departure of the doctor's companion(s) as series two's "Army of Ghosts/Doomsday." What also makes it such a strong episode is unlike series five where the Weeping Angels are boring, this time they can again like series three's "Blink" send people back in time to use their lifespan for energy. It makes for a much more interesting tale and the setting of New York with all the Angels is really grand. Alex Kingston as Amy and Rory's part Time Lord daughter also contributes a strong performance.

"The Bells of Saint John" is another great and feels like a short movie. "The Crimson Horror" is Mark Gatiss' best episode since series one's "The Unquiet Dead." Similarly, it is set in Victorian London and the factory is a strong setting and feels like a proper adventure with its various rooms that the characters travel through. The mystery of the factory workers deaths provides intrigue. Diana Rigg plays one of the best antagonists in the series as she is so sinister. Meanwhile Jenny, Strax and Madame Vastra are interwoven well into the resolution of the story and it is admirable the way Clara smashes the first mechanism instead of the doctor resorting to his sonic screwdriver.

"The Name of the Doctor" is the best series finale since series three providing an effective resolution to the mystery of "the impossible girl" and five years of River Song stories. It is genius for River Song's death to have been back in series four and now the viewer is seeing her for the last time as an echo from the library's computer. The continuity over a long time enhances the emotion of River Song's last meeting with the doctor. The atmosphere is again excellent and the viewer really feels the sadness of Trenzalore. The reveal at the end that there was another life of the doctor - one who broke the promise of his name - at the end of the episode is really exciting and sets up the story for the fiftieth anniversary special. The episode flows well but the only thing is perhaps there is slightly too much exposition in the final ten minutes of the episode which reduces my appreciation a bit. But it is the strongest finale in a long time though and all the different reveals are gripping.

Other good episodes in series seven include "A Town Called Mercy" with its moral dilemma in an American Western town. In fact Amy and Rory's final appearances in the first half of the series are their strongest ever. "Hide" is also a solid episode providing ghost searching with a fantasy/sci-fi explanation.

The problem that series seven has however is that there are a few episodes that drag it down a bit as they are so average or even poor. "Dinosaurs on a Spaceship" is run of the mill and dinosaurs in space did not work so effectively in Red Dwarf too. "Cold War" on the other hand lacks a bit of complexity in the plot to make it a good story. "Journey to the Centre of the Tardis" is bland with its too frequent running through the same corridor. Meanwhile "Nightmare in Silver" though not as bad as reviews made out is crying out for a more action-based plot. "The Rings of Akhaten" is simply the worst new Who episode ever - the minutes of singing which are part of the main story are cringe worthy.

Series seven of Doctor Who is for me the best under Steven Moffat's direction as show runner - there are nine and a half out of fifteen good to excellent episodes here. Anyway, for me the post-Christopher Ecclestone series have all failed to be consistently great all the way through though series five and six are particularly average overall. The problem is unlike something like Red Dwarf which typically has six episodes in each run it must be quite difficult to make thirteen episodes all vital with only a years' space between each series. There have always been some weak episodes since series one and though series seven is not perfect it has enough fine episodes to make it worth buying. You wonder whether some people have been especially unfavourable towards it as perhaps they are bored with Doctor Who. Perhaps Doctor Who could do with a reinvention soon - though not completely different - to refresh it but for now series seven despite some dross has enough good in it to make it a reasonably successful run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great picture and sound shame about the episodes, 22 Feb 2014
By 
M. Hevingham "Mark Hevingham" (BIRMINGHAM, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not bad, just mostly "meh" I can't say I will rush back to view season 7 very often. The opening Dalek story is fun, but the series soon flattens out into stories that never meet their potential on paper. I know there are big fans of this era and season - I'm not one of them, and i feel the best of the new Doctors is wasted in many of these episodes reduced to a shouty arm waving loon which spoiled my enjoyment. Such a good actor in search of better scripts.

Picture and sound are demonstration quality. Extras are plentiful and range from interesting to filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tardis full of delights (as usual), 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Along with the Tomorrow People way back in the 70s this was the show that made the rest of the week's television bearable. No video recording, catch up or amazon prime/Netflix back then you saw stuff once and that was it for the most part.
Ever since Dr Who was revamped way back in 2006 my love for it has been rekindled and Matt has shared some of the best story lines along with Amy and Rory and now Cara. I
can't wait to see how Peter handles the role, A brave move by the BBC to cast an older man and take it back to the traditional idea rather than a young handsome heartthrob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its not perfect but you know what..., 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ive read various criticisms of this series and the Matt Smith/S Moffat era in general. Im afraid that I have to disagree with them. The point is valid that this whole post tennant era has been a rollercoaster of greatness and stupidity but as with life, you remember and take with you the good times. Here is where I choose to differ. The highlights of the Smith and Moffat era are so much better than what has come before that to then whinge about the poorer aspects is churlish. Its like being treated to a 5 star night out and moaning that the taxi was 5 mins late and the show you went to see finished a bit later than planned.

But I digress. The problem is RT Davies brought the show back from a very bad place and just kept building it up and up with Tennant the icing on the cake. But he peaked and there was nowhere left to go. He tried to change it slightly and all we got was self indulgent stories that bordered on ego. The tenth Doctor became a little too arrogant and toward the end a bit whiny. They should have ended the reign before the year of 'Specials' that saw Tennant leave. I was sorry to see him go but I was getting sick of it and that last year seemed tainted.

Matt Smith came in trying to fill some big boots. There was a lot of hit and miss as he and Moffat tried to differentiate themselves from what had come before but to my mind, Smith's inexperience in the role was not evident. He had done his homework and thrown all of himself into it. I have never seen an actor so young being able to portray the age and burden of a timelord who has endured too much. Yet he also bought an energy to the role. This was a character who was old but young, jaded but excitable, kind but dangerous. Smith literally nailed the eccentricity of the Doctor. There have been childish moments but when its mattered, Smith and Moffat have delivered such powerful scenes that all else is forgiven. The Doctors speech to young Amy in the Big Bang, the rings of akhaten, Amy's words at the end of The Angels Take Manhattan - Just a few moments that have brought emotion that most modern Television can only dream of. These are the kinds of motivational concepts that drive people to want to be better and to be more than they are.

Series 7 was more like a series of mini films. The production values were superb and although the Clara episodes seem a bit disjointed it was all enjoyable. The first half was more consistent and I get the feeling the second half had a bigger story arc to tell but there wasnt enough time. Although we are familiar with Clara it feels like we are forced to know her and her impact on the Doctor's life far sooner than we should.

This series is probably one of the best yet but the inconsistencies and the cliffhanger ending are a bit of a let down. That said, I will be really sorry to see Matt Smith go. There is a part of me that considers him the best Doctor (yes I grew up with Tom Baker so thats saying something!). I dont think he was appreciated for what he did. But he will be going out on a high. Just wish I could work out how this ends. Well Done to all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it back to back and it's a beautiful flawed masterpiece, 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a strong defender of series 7. You see, while series' 5 and 6 are both rightly regarded as masterful, complex and seemingly part of a greater story, Stephen Moffat's head scratcher starts here, slap bang in the middle of series 7 in a little Christmas episode called The Snowmen (hypnotic christmas fairytale). If it weren't for the Great Intelligence wanting to take revenge for the Doctor's interfering in that episode (as well as others, including two Troughton stories), they wouldn't have forced him to his grave in The Name of The Doctor (episode 13 - sombre, compelling, tantalising) where, it's prophesied "Silence will fall when the question is asked" (the Doctors real name, opening his grave), thus causing the Silence to want to prematurely kill him in defence of their movement in series 6, nor steer the TARDIS to explode, causing the cracks in time in series 5. Phew. And fans complain that there was a lack of story arc.

As always Moffat writes the highlight episodes:
The Doctor, The Widow and The Wardrobe (a Christmas special maybe too 'sap' heavy)
Asylum of the Daleks (the best series opener to date, epic & stunningly directed by Nick Hurran)
The Angels Take Manhattan (deeply heartbreaking)
The Snowmen (see above)
The Bells of Saint John (Murray Gold brings the goods for this fast, overlooked actioner)
The Name of the Doctor (see above)

However, there are some other serious highlights. The Rings of Akhaten was initially loathed by all apart from Dan Martin at The Guardian. But people have slowly and secretly started to understand it. Initial complaints were that there were too many songs, the aliens was underused and the whole thing stank of cheese. However, the songs have become fan favourites - my iTunes sends me a pop-up saying "really? Again?" every time I play The Long Song. The aliens are slightly underused, that still holds, but now you forgive that because the meat of the story isn't in the cool aliens, but the theme - civilisations living in holy fear of a warrior (the Doctor makes the comparison himself), and powering on to THAT speech at the end. The stink of cheese has now matured into a love of the good points of the Peter Davison/Colin Baker era, which the episode seems gleefully reminiscent of (a space glider ride between planets, chasing a girl who is being dragged across space is beautifully 80s).

Hide is another episode to admire. My housemate, who first got introduced to Doctor Who during Moffat's series 5 injection of intelligence, didn't have much to say for Hide, where I couldn't stop raving about the episodes horror content, the 70s setting, the 'twisted man', the beautifully conceived and designed 'pocket universe', the disappearance of the house in the woods leaving the Doctor stranded, the guest casting. It's a 5-star beauty.

Talking of star-ratings, Mark Gatiss brings us not one but two 3-star episodes, continuing his run of 'meh'. The Ice Warriors were brought back perfectly, with such a high concept it would take a submarine to bring it down. Oh wait.

The other episodes roughly average 4 stars each.

The stand alone storylines of series 7 were detrimental to its enjoyment when partnered with scheduled viewing. Now with blu-ray and DVD, the series can be enjoyed as it was meant to be. The Ponds' near divorce leading to their renewed commitment and Amy's eventual ultimate sacrifice. The heart-rending goodbye to the Ponds followed by the perfect remedy of hope in The Snowmen. The mystery of Clara unfolding and her surrendering of the leaf, a symbol of all the potential had her mother not died, to a soul-eating god. The opening of The Name of The Doctor. Trust me, Doctor Who has never felt and looked better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best To Date - Makes Me Happy To Pay My TV Licence, 2 Nov 2013
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Doctor Who - Complete Series 7 follows the adventures of the legendary time lord "The Doctor" (played by Matt Smith) and his companions. The five disc boxed set contains the following episodes:

Asylum of the Daleks
Dinosaurs on a Spaceship
A Town Called Mercy
The Power of Three
The Angels Take Manhattan
The Bells of Saint John
The Rings of Akhaten
Cold War
Hide
Journey to the Centre of the Tardis
The Crimson Horror
Nightmare in Silver
The Name of the Doctor

Also included are the Christmas specials, and a host of special features such as several features on the mysterious and rather yummy Clara (played by Jenna-Louise Coleman). There are plenty of features on the discs to keep even the hard core fans happy.

Generally the quality of episodes throughout the season are very high and an improvement on the previous series. Highlights for me were the first episode "Asylum of the Daleks" which had a great twist at the end, the heart breaking "The Angels Take Manhattan" and the brilliant "The Name of the Doctor" which paves the way for the up and coming "Day of The Doctor". There were a few episodes that I didn't enjoy for various reasons. Journey to the Centre of the Tardis for example disappointed me (mainly because of the ending), as did "The Power of Three" which I felt had so much more to offer, especially with the introduction of Kate Stewart (daughter of the Brigadier Lethbridge Stewart.)

Nevertheless most content is very enjoyable, entertaining and watchable. The series also introduces a new foe in the way of the sinister Whispermen, while the Daleks (both new style and old) make a reappearance.

Matt Smith plays the Doctor very well with brilliant acting (backed up by good scripts) and makes this season his own. Matt will be missed by Doctor Who fans and myself alike and this series offers the best examples to why.

The series was a bit disjointed during broadcast as there was a break after "The Angels Take Manhattan." While there were various reasons for this, it was a bit disappointing to have to wait so long for Doctor Who to return to TV, as I was really getting into the series come the time of Angels.

If you a fan of Doctor Who you will enjoy watching and or rewatching the episodes in this series. I'm sure you'll be counting down the days to the Day of The Doctor (I know that I am) until that day comes - enjoy this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Great price, cheaper than bbc!, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I love doctor who and this series is amazing! Very happy with my order! Matt smith is an amazing doctor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, 12 Feb 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
May contain spoilers
After the very disappointing Series 6, this is a great (though in some cases mixed) series to lead up to the 50th Anniversary special. I'll give a rating out of 10 for each episode and a brief review

The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe (6/10):
It's not the best episode ever, but it's a Christmas special, and is very "Christmassy". Good performance by guest stars and Matt Smith as always. It won't win any awards but is a very solid episode to bridge the gap between Series 6 and 7

Asylum of the Daleks (8/10):
I've never seen a Dalek episode I didn't enjoy, and this is no exception. Also good to see some cameos from classic Dalek models, and a return to the RTD Dalek model after the terrible ones from Series 5. Surprise appearance of Jenna-Louise Coleman also good to see

Dinosaurs on a Spaceship (6/10):
Generally a bit of a comic-relief episode (as seen from the Mitchell and Webb robots), but is still very enjoyable to watch. Anyone who likes Harry Potter will be happy (me included) with two actors, Mark Williams and David Bradley, who were in it. Williams played Rory's dad, showing a bit of Rory's life apart from Amy.

A Town Called Mercy (7/10):
Interesting episode, one where we (and the Doctor) aren't 100% sure about who the real villain is. A bit more seen about the Doctor and the impact of everything on him, who is of course well-acted by Matt Smith.

The Power of Three (5/10):
Probably the weakest episode of the whole series. It's a good idea of a 'slow invasion', and it's good to see the Brigadier's daughter for the first time, but it's hard to get past the fact that the first half an hour is pretty much just everyone looking at cubes.

The Angels Take Manhattan (7/10):
Emotional end to Amy and Rory, who had been part of Doctor Who as long as Matt Smith had. Weeping Angels another enemy that rarely have a bad episode (though they've never come close to Blink). River Song is annoying as always, but she is made up for by the rest of the episode.

The Snowmen (9/10):
Where Christmas episodes have traditionally been among the weakest episodes of Doctor Who, this completely changes that. Richard E Grant/Ian McKellen are a good combination as the villain, and it's a good (and surprising) intro for Clara Oswald. I'm still not sure why the Doctor has a Silurian, Sontaran and random woman as friends though

The Bells of Saint-John (8/10):
Clara's third and final intro story. A lot is spent on that over the threat, which is another example of contemporary things being turned into problems in Doctor Who. Very good episode, with the "main enemy of the series" having a cameo at the end

The Rings of Akhaten (6/10):
One of the episodes that would have been more typical of Series 6, where a bad episode is turned into an OK episode by Matt Smith's incredible performance (I rate only Tom Baker as a better Doctor)

Cold War (9/10):
This was the first I'd seen of the Ice Warriors (though I've seen the classic stories since) and they seem to be a monster pretty close to the heights of Daleks/Cybermen etc. It's surprising the Cold War (where everything was already so close to ending) has never been used before, but it's used very well here

Hide (7/10):
A "ghost story meets Sci-Fi" kind of episode that works very well, with good performances from the guest stars. Interesting end to the episode too

Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS (6/10):
If the guest stars had been better, this could have easily been an 8. However, they weren't, and the performance part ended up being carried by Matt Smith/Jenna-Louise Coleman. The "getting lost in the TARDIS" story isn't exactly original though, and has elements from 'The Doctor's Wife'

The Crimson Horror (7/10):
One of those interesting stories, that lived up to its potential. Again, not the best episode in the series, but neither is it the worst. Pretty much an average episode, though the Silurian/Sontaran/random woman combination reappears

Nightmare in Silver (9/10):
Possibly the best appearance of the Cybermen since The Five Doctors back in 1983. The idea that they can upgrade themselves quickly gives them an extra dimension, and makes them a much bigger threat. Also, Harry Potter/Star Wars (or even An Idiot Abroad) fans, Warwick Davis appears

The Name of the Doctor (10/10):
Perfect way to set up The Day of the Doctor. Silurian/Sontaran/random woman combination returns but are possibly at their best, as is River Song (not that that's difficult). Finally discover how Clara is "the Impossible Girl", with a return of the Great Intelligence (only Richard E Grant, though, not Ian McKellen anymore). This is a spoiler, but I'm guessing everyone knows about John Hurt, and his sudden appearance at the end made the wait for Day of the Doctor seem even longer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who -  The Complete Series 7 [DVD]
Doctor Who - The Complete Series 7 [DVD] by Matt Smith (DVD - 2013)
16.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews