Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TOUR DE FORCE!, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The perfect companion to this excellent series is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beaker Calix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

To date, I have read all the Marching with Caesar episodes, and I am proud to have them in my Roman library, albeit fiction, the author's historical research is impressive, his narrative in the first person sucks you into the world of Titus Pullus to such a degree, that the reader is transported back in time.

In this the 5th sequel, apart from being a gripping and sometimes emotional read, the author highlights the Titus inner man, knowing the mind-set of the Roman patrician order, in respect to awarding positions of high command on the basis of class, with the premise that they are more fit to lead.

Titus has to adapt to more subtle ways to usurp command when confronted by inept patrician officers. He wistfully harks back to Caesar, his fairness and his bid to infiltrate the republican (patrician) system by promoting men of worth, both political and military, from diverse backgrounds to the higher echelons. Thus he abrogated the power of the patricians, this being the main reason for his assassination.

There are few authors of historical fiction that actually devote time, or indeed have any idea of military leadership qualities. Ron Peake has done so, with an in-depth knowledge. Highly recommended.

The perfect companion to this excellent series is the ROMA VICTRIX wine beakerCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

Ron Peake is the proud owner of one, in his review he says:
The workmanship is outstanding, and while I am certainly no expert on pieces of this type, it has a substantial feel to it; when I pick it up there's nothing flimsy about it and one can feel and see the craftsmanship that went into it. The engraved figures are extraordinarily detailed; All in all I couldn't be happier with the Calix and what it represents. Truly Rome is eternal if even now people around the world are still interested in the Legions, and this Calix is a worthy representative of that time and place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Rise of Augustus (Kindle Edition)
Well written, creative but undoubtedly allied to the truth of life at that time. History goes in cycles and the opinions and experiences well express those of the now in relation to those who are our forebears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As I said before, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Rise of Augustus (Kindle Edition)
I found the book as the ones before. , great . I had to get into it as soon as it arrived, and a must read for anyone who is in anyway into roman fiction look forward to the next one well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invincible Titus Pullus continues his epic life story, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Rise of Augustus (Kindle Edition)
It's just impossible to put this book down. The hero just gets out of one pickle or another and the next piece of the the plot is just over the next page. I've stuck with all the 5 (I think) books so far and whilst they are long, I just got addicted to the adventure of this guys life. In my opinion a great read and will be sad when the story finishes. For a new reader it's worth going right back to the first book in the series and seeing how the characters fit in but don't be surprised when a character you become attached to suddenly gets bumped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star book with 4.5 star writing., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Rise of Augustus (Kindle Edition)
Please see my review of Marching With Caesar - Civil War. My comments apply to all of the books read so far (vols 1 to 7)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous series, 15 Aug. 2013
OK, listen up troops.

This - sadly - is the penultimate book in an absolutely superb series.

By the power invested in me by the Divine Julius, I hereby award ex-Marine Peake a Triumph. I also decree all the books are mandatory reading for every aspiring military man - West Point, Sandhurst - and even Annapolis, Dartmouth, Cranwell and Colorado Springs. And last - but not least - Parris Island/Quantico etc. They are also good stuff for CEOs and the like. Politicians should also study them to learn how vital loyalty, trust and comradeship are in the world.

(Semi) tongue-in-cheek aside, the "character studies" continue to be as good as ever. The action is gripping. The research is tops. The prose flows.

My last decree is that all of you buy the entire series, go on a hol to say Hawaii or a Mediterranean beach (or stay at home even!) and get reading - with a few gin & tonics nearby for added enjoyment.

I loved every book in the series and Mr. Peake's final command from (Legate) me is to get cracking with lots more yarns in the same vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marching with R W Peake, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Rise of Augustus (Kindle Edition)
The other 5 star reviews say it all. I could not put this book down. From the first epic volume through to this one I have enjoyed every page and followed the development of Titus Pullis with interest. OK .. it's an old story in as much as a young man joins the Forces and works his way up to become top dog ( actually Titus reminds me a lot of the Hornblower ) but the telling of the tale is first class. It's all the more surpising coming from an American ( sorry RWP !) and I've had to revise my opinion that the USA forces do not comprise of Sgt Bilko's -now that's giving my age away ! If anyone out there is going to read this series of books make sure you read them in sequence and put the effort into wading through the first volume and getting to know how things worked back then. It seems to me that as Titus has become a better soldier so RWP has become a better story teller. A great series of books ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, just the job when you are on ..., 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Rise of Augustus (Kindle Edition)
Very good read, just the job when you are on a long distance flight and find it hard to sleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marching with Caesar - Rise of Augustus, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. James A. Kane "j A Kane" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Rise of Augustus (Kindle Edition)
R.W. Peake does it yet again, the already high standards in story telling, intrigue and fast paced action of his earlier "Marching With Caesar" works are eclipsed in "Rise of Augustus"
Titus Pullus the newly appointed Camp Prefect and there for 2nd in command of the army faces battles both on and off the battlefield.
R.W. Peake has written the storyline and characters in such a way that you are swept along in all that befalls them.
A great read and well deserving of its 5 STARS
I am already getting impatient for the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far the greatest book so far! Worth every second of reading it, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marching With Caesar-Rise of Augustus (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant peake another book to the set I just couldn't put down!! Titus has become so much more vivid and so much more information and intrigue in the rise of Augustus compared to the others! Even had a tear for his best friends death and reminiscing about the vinegar! and poor albums!!

I thank you for keeping the series coming and cannot wait until the next book is out.

Peake your already a legend in my book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews