Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking the Books
Corinna Chapman is taking a well deserved break from her bakery Earthly Delights when an old school friend begs her to help her with the catering on the film-set of Kiss the Bride. Reluctantly Corinna agrees to help out as it gives her a chance to keep a benevolent eye on Kyle and Goss, her bakery assistants, who have small parts in the soap opera. Corinna's lover...
Published on 4 Nov. 2012 by Damaskcat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
A little disapointing compared to earlier books in the series. The story is not as strong as usual perhaps because Daniel takes a back seat until well into the book.
Published on 11 Dec. 2012 by Philip Jemson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking the Books, 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Corinna Chapman is taking a well deserved break from her bakery Earthly Delights when an old school friend begs her to help her with the catering on the film-set of Kiss the Bride. Reluctantly Corinna agrees to help out as it gives her a chance to keep a benevolent eye on Kyle and Goss, her bakery assistants, who have small parts in the soap opera. Corinna's lover Daniel is involved in trying to track down some missing bearer bonds to save the job of a young woman who is training to be an accountant.

What follows is a fast paced mystery in which many strands are woven expertly together to create a satisfying story. There are some marvellous characters - Molly the diva with very particular requirements, Bernie who is temporarily assisting Corinna and Emily, Molly's downtrodden assistant. The descriptions of food are mouth-watering and the problems facing the homeless in any city are very well done. I found myself compelled to read on to find out how everything fitted together.

I loved the animals - some of whom are series characters such as Horatio and the Mouse Police and the kittens, Lucifer and Nox but the star of this story is Tabitha the tiger. I enjoyed the glimpse behind the scenes of the filming of a television programme and liked the way Kylie and Goss are developing. This is a well written and entertaining series and it makes a pleasant change to have a heroine who is not either stick thin or in her twenties. If you want some light hearted mystery reading with some serious issues and some delicious recipes then give Corinna Chapman a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little disapointing compared to earlier books in the series. The story is not as strong as usual perhaps because Daniel takes a back seat until well into the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner for Greenwood, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. M. Parker "Bluegrasser" (Farnborough, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Kerry Greenwood's writing style and again she has provided a very entertaining detective novel with the odd cookery tip thrown in as a bonus: recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm waiting for the new one, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and all the others in the series.A size 20 baker with a gorgeous boyfriend and an ability to solve mysteries.PERFECT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am addicted to Kerry Greenwood books! Love the plots, style of writing and characters. Love the recipes included at the end of each book, too - bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 27 May 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Cooking the Books is the 6th in Kerry Greenwood's Corinna Chapman series. It's January, and Corinna Chapman, baker and reluctant investigator, is on holidays. Her apprentice, Jason, has gone to the beach to learn to surf. Daniel is busy on a paper chase. Kylie and Goss have secured parts in a soap opera series, "Kiss the Bride", being filmed at a Docklands studio. But Corinna is bored, and when her old school classmate and caterer, Thomasina, convinces her to assist, she finds herself (not quite unwillingly) baking bread for the film cast and crew. Another turn of events and she is also at the studio (but less willingly) in the role of pastry chef. A busman's holiday, as it were. As the story unfolds, Corinna and Daniel find themselves looking for missing bearer bonds, long lost sons and someone playing tricks on the star of the series. The story touches on bullying, weddings, dieting for work, actors (an excellent description), crooked accountants, job security, brides (compared with politicians), sexual orientation and gender reassignment. Somehow woven seamlessly into the plot are Nursery Rhymes and quotes and a tiger named Tabitha. Once again we are treated some interesting characters and a great plot, this time with an ending befitting a soap opera. Many of our favourite Insula residents make an appearance ("...Mrs Pemberthy, who is there to curdle the milk of human kindness"). The feel of Melbourne in summer is well rendered and there are some marvellous feline descriptions that make me want to be owned by another cat. Reading the earlier books in the series is not a prerequisite, but most readers who have not done so will seek them out after reading this one, for a guaranteed delightful read. The dilemma with all of Kerry Greenwood's books is that you are enjoying them so much (from dedication to afterword you will smile, chuckle, laugh out loud) that you can't stop reading, but you don't want the pleasure to end. And the recipe for Gyngerbrede? Yes, I made it: yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent set of books have read them all in order without reading anything else. Funny too, good characters and descriptions. I love the baking, cats and she likes Terry Pratchett too, brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday gift., 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was purchased as a gift for a friend.She was delighted to receive it.I don't know if she has read it yet.Delivery was a bit slow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews