Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bananarama + Abba Sound + String Section + Male Soul Singer backing vocals=Please Yourself
One of the best Bananarama Albums with a fine selection of songs.I would describe it as Bananarama meet the sound of Abba.They then pick up a couple of male soul backing singers,walk into the middle of an orchestra and get produced by Stock and Waterman.
'Is she good to you' should have been released as a single.'Let me love you one more time' is a beautiful song...
Published on 25 Mar 2009 by Wallace

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing, Only Half of the Time
Standing by itself, "Please Yourself" is a nice little foray into fun pop music, however if one was to compare it to Bananarama's other 8 or so studio Albums, it is rather weak. Some real pop gems are to be found on this piece, however, so do not dismiss it. Most notably, "Movin' On", The 70's stomper "More, More, More," and the sultry...
Published on 18 Feb 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing, Only Half of the Time, 18 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Yourself (Audio CD)
Standing by itself, "Please Yourself" is a nice little foray into fun pop music, however if one was to compare it to Bananarama's other 8 or so studio Albums, it is rather weak. Some real pop gems are to be found on this piece, however, so do not dismiss it. Most notably, "Movin' On", The 70's stomper "More, More, More," and the sultry "I Could be persuaded" Not bad, but they have done better!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bananarama + Abba Sound + String Section + Male Soul Singer backing vocals=Please Yourself, 25 Mar 2009
One of the best Bananarama Albums with a fine selection of songs.I would describe it as Bananarama meet the sound of Abba.They then pick up a couple of male soul backing singers,walk into the middle of an orchestra and get produced by Stock and Waterman.
'Is she good to you' should have been released as a single.'Let me love you one more time' is a beautiful song with a powerful middle 8 instrumental.
The extra B side tracks 'Another Lover' and 'Treat me right' are good fun.
Listen and Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Yourself (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
when you like the ABBA-sound you could like this also
it's one of my favorite Bananarama albums
this special release is just wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BANANARAMA BACK WITH PWL, 3 May 2011
I love this album, I really do. A couple of issues with the production on a couple tracks sounding a bit flat, but I really do love the songs. I remember hearing "Movin' On" for the first time and I instantly knew they had returned to Stock & Waterman (Matt Aitken had left by this stage). Hearing it gave me the same feeling the 1987 SAW tracks did, and it's one of my faves to this day.
The follow up "Last Thing On My Mind" is really quite a let down, and flopped in the UK. I actually prefer the Steps version, which was a big worldwide hit.
Then when the album was released I was quite happy. I know it's not as slick or fresh as the PWL hey day tracks, it's missing a certain spark really. But I still love the writing.
"Is She Good To You" should have been a single, and probably should have followed "Movin' On". It's the closest thing to their big hits, and it's the one track besides "Movin' On" that stands out with that spark.
"Only Time Will Tell" has a great intro, and reminds me a little of "Better The Devil You Know". "Give It All Up For Love" is another average moment, and I tend to skip it. Then "You'll Never Know What It Means" begins and all is forgiven. Great pop track with alot of energy, and up there with my other 2 favourites. Closing track "I Could Be Persuaded" is just brilliant, very slick production which makes up for a lot of what the album missed out on. A nice ballad and quite a surprise.
There is a 2007 re-issue of this album, AVOID IT. It's badly planned, poorly researched, and so called bonus tracks are the same as one of the album tracks. Whoever put it together should be VERY ashamed.
I would one day love a Cherry Pop re-issue. But until then if you buy it, hunt down the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT UNRELEASED REMIXES, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Bradley S Martell (calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Yourself (Bonus DVD) (Audio CD)
I LOVE THIS REMASTER WITH NEW, UNRELEASED REMIXES. THE GIRLS WERE NOT HAPPY ABOUT THIS REMASTER SERIES BUT I LOVE HAVING REMIXES THAT HAVE NEVER BEEN RELEASED EVER!!!!! MY FAV IS - IS SHE GOOD TO YOU? GREAT REMIX & EXCELLENT REMASTER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Movin' On..., 31 May 2009
By 
Jimmy Lovesey (Cardiff, South Wales) - See all my reviews
Please Yourself saw the first release for the band as a duo, and their last release for London Records.

The album opens with Movin On, which immediately strikes you as the campest and glitziest song the girls have done to date. Gone is the darker and heavier mood from Pop Life, instead with this album we seemingly have all out glittering disco. Not that this is bad per se, but Movin On is not a particularly strong number. Last Thing On My Mind is better, its still glitzy and camp, but played out at a slightly slower tempo, with a tinge of melancholy. It is impossible to listen to nowadayas without thinking of the infamous Steps version, but the 'rams original is subtler and superior. Let Me Love You One More Time is another poor track, unfortunately, a rather dull and uninspiring ballad reminiscent of Once in A Lifetime (from Wow) but no where near as good. Thankfully, the album has its first true belter of a track next, with the 'rams take on Andrea True's More More More. Andrea's original is a sexy and entertaining number, but for me, the girsl own this song. With re-jigged lyrics and a truly dazzling hi-NRG disco sound, this is how the 'rams should do cover versions (after the dissapointing Long Train Running). Luckily, Is She Good To You is another belter of a track, much much stronger than the opener, a really feal good pop song. Only Time Will Tell and Give it All Up For Love are both strong, yet slightler more serious numbers, still firmly in the disco genre however. They don't set the stereo alight, but they're listenable enough little tracks, and both conjure up images of po-faced drag queens vogue-ing. You'll Never Know what it means is a serious contender for best song on the album, a belting and powerful dance floor-filler that is littered with cries of "set yourself free", truly marvellous! You're Never Satisfied may give you the impression initially that you've hit the back button on the stereo, as although its OK, it is very reminiscent of Give it All Up for Love. The album ends with I Could be Persuaded, which is another ballad, not brilliant but a vast improvement on Let Me Love You One More Time.

Please Yourself is a nice enough album - OK to have on in the background when you have friends over for drinks, but isn't one you'll want to sit and listen to over and over - bar a few stand-out-tracks. Not a bad album by any means, but very dissapoiting, especially after their last two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return Of The Dancefloor Duo, 8 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. N. F. Barnes "nigel792" (Bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please (Audio CD)
Bananarama are back with Stock and Aitken again for another album of dance floor standards. A classy cover of Andrea True Connection's "More More More" would have graced the clubs once again, but by this time the "Rave" phenomenon would have taken over with SAW's influence on the dance charts considerably on the wane since 1987. This album is every bit as good as"WoW" from 1987 and Dallin and Woodward's own composition's stand out. One of the most mellow ones is "Love Me One More Time" the third track on the album and a classic SAW track at that, too. "Your're Never Satisfied" is a classic dance track from this C.D. and "I Could Be Persuaded" a slushy ballad. "Movin' On" is very Abba-esque as is "The Last Thing On My Mind". Plenty of other tracks are reminiscent of songs from "Wow" like "I Can't Help It" and "I Want You Back" and this album puts the sing-along-factor back into dance music again. As I write this, their new album "Drama" has just come into preview with recent single "Move In My Direction", with decent remixes on CD1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sugary pop, 5 July 2007
By 
R. Fischer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The two women never sang so sweet before as on this album :o) I really like to listen to their voices and there are a few very good tracks on this album (movin'on, last thing on my mind, is she good to you, give it all up for love, only time will tell).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Return to Pop!, 11 April 2011
Following the departure of Jacqui O Sullivan the girls were reduced to a duo consisting of founder members Sara Dallin and Keren Woodward but proove they are more then capable of delivering pop which still resonates with their fans and the dancefloor.Sadly the edge of previous album Pop Life and the mixed variety of styles and tempos from their 80s heyday is not to be found here rather a set of europop style songs mostly upbeat and catchy but not the girls at their absoloute best.Still their first record as a duo was a compitant one and it reunites them with the also reduced to a duo Stock and Waterman who create the concept Abba Banana which maybe explains the euro feel of the album and why some of the songs are tinged with a sense of melancholy.Movin On is the strongest song here and is the lead of release perhaps embodying what the album is about.Last Thing On My Mind follows and is the original version of an Abba esque song that Steps would cover,similar in feel to Movin On but with more sadness within the lyrics.Let Me Love You One More Time is a commercial pop ballad whilst the Andrea True Connection cover More More More is a return to the dancefloor vibe of WOW for the group,though the single mix is more inferior.Only Time Will Tell and Is She Good To You are similar sounding Pop/dance tracks whilst Give It Up For Love is interesting in its lyrical output as the girls sing maybe about pausing their high voltage pop careers for love and sounds quite personal.You Never Know What It Means and You Are Never Satisfied sees the duo asserting themselves over clubbish pop songs with the attitude driven approach they were known for.Glossy ballad I Could Be Persuaded is a decadent sounding slow jam laden with romance,a world a way from say Hey Young London or Boy Trouble from their debut some 10 or so years previously.This was their last record with London Records.The 2007 reissue includes the moody dance driven Treat Me Right the b side to Movin which really should have made the album and sounds like the missing link between Pop Life and Please Yourself.Another Lover a classy sounding dance pop number which again should have made the album,instead the b side to Last Thing On My Mind,single versions of Movin On and Last Thing On My Mind and the popular single mix of More More More.This although not Bananarama at their best is amongst their more fun albums even if the lyrics are quite sad,they still proove they can create perfect pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing backward step, 21 Mar 2007
Following the departure of Jacquie O'Sullivan, Bananrama decided to plough onwards as a duo; a line-up incarnation which, though at odds with public perception of the group, is nonetheless the one that has lasted the longest (1992 to date). "Please Yourself" is their first album as a duo, and the group's sixth studio long player.

These reissues afford Bananarama enthusiasts the opportunity to pick up the majority of the group's back catalogue for a relatively low price, so if you've come this far, chances are you're going to pick this one up for the sake of completism. But it's worth knowing in advance that it really is a mixed bag.

The positives? Well, despite having lost one third of their vocal sound, the group still sounds decidedly like Bananarama. "Movin' On" was an enjoyable lead-off single, and the soulfulness of the original album closer "I Could Be Persuaded" almost catches the listener off guard in context. The album also spawned "Last Thing On My Mind", later to become a moster hit for the love-em-or-hate-em Steps (be warned however, that Bananarama's version sounds retrospectively apologetic when compared).

The negatives? Well, all of the album's major problems stem from one creative decision; the return to the outdated - even then - production sound of Stock & Waterman (Aitken had "left the building" by this point) was decidedly misjudged.

It's easy to see the logic in hindsight; fifth album "Pop Life" was a commercial flop, so no wonder the group returned to the production team responsible for their most recent commercial successes. Alas, hearing this album as part of the reissue series, and as a follow up to the innovative production heft of "Pop Life", it plays as a disappointing backward step. And there's no mistaking the fact that it sounds woefully thin and slight.

It's still listenable, and probably essential for completists, but click 'add to cart' with lowered expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Please Yourself (Bonus DVD)
Please Yourself (Bonus DVD) by Bananarama (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews