Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaron Fixes it Again
Another great addition to Aaron Shepard's family of essential guides to epublishing. As a director of a small publishing company, I would never find the time to discover the information Aaron dispenses to keep up to date with the twists and turns of the industry.
Aaron does the heavy lifting and we get the benefit!
Written in his usual clear style, Aaron...
Published 16 months ago by Barry Tighe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok if it covers what you need to fix
Useful if it covers things you need fixing. The Table Of Contents (see below) could be prettied up. The book is a bit short on content and did not offer help to fix problems I have with my TOC and the Beginning page.

1 ~ WORKING WITH HTML HTML and Kindle | HTML Export | HTML Editing | HTML Processing | HTML Basics | HTML Checking | HTML Cleanup | HTML...
Published 2 months ago by Rich


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaron Fixes it Again, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Barry Tighe "Author Sir Thomas 'British Tomm... (Spawater, Britannicca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
Another great addition to Aaron Shepard's family of essential guides to epublishing. As a director of a small publishing company, I would never find the time to discover the information Aaron dispenses to keep up to date with the twists and turns of the industry.
Aaron does the heavy lifting and we get the benefit!
Written in his usual clear style, Aaron explains exactly how to format ebooks for all ereaders in order to give our customers the best possible reading experience. Annoyed by split hyphens, badly indented paragraphs, unnecessary spaces, different sized texts, changing fonts, bad text justification or just the generally amateurish look of so many ebooks? Then HTML Fixes for Kindle is the book for you.
Keep 'em coming, Aaron!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really easy to understand, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
I found this book really useful and straight forward. I would highly recommend buying it if you are currently looking at self publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 13 Aug 2014
By 
Johnny Walker (Battersea, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
Very useful book! It does attempt to bring novices up to speed, but really this is a book for people with HTML and CSS experience. It's a shame it largely focuses on people who have written their books in Word, but it still takes the time to explain the logic behind Kindle's HTML requirements, meaning it's useful for anybody.

I was skeptical when I saw the bizarre book cover and price, but I can tell you that this is filled with lots of useful information and gotchas for those with HTML/CSS knowledge, but without Kindle eBook knowledge. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A usual book for more technical self-publishers, 23 Aug 2014
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those odd titles that not every writer will appreciate or need. It is fairly technical but if you invest the time it will help you tune your HTML before sending it to Kindle. Why is this important? Two reasons:

1) If your content is complex (most people's won't be) this can help make sure it works
2) You can trim your content down and reduce the size of the file. This will then (ideally) make the kindle title smaller which will help maximise your royalties if you are on the higher rate Kindle Direct scheme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok if it covers what you need to fix, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
Useful if it covers things you need fixing. The Table Of Contents (see below) could be prettied up. The book is a bit short on content and did not offer help to fix problems I have with my TOC and the Beginning page.

1 ~ WORKING WITH HTML HTML and Kindle | HTML Export | HTML Editing | HTML Processing | HTML Basics | HTML Checking | HTML Cleanup | HTML Testing
2 ~ HTML FIXES Fixes for Fonts | Fixes for Paragraphs | Fixes for Headings | Fixes for Line Breaking | Fixes for Pictures | Fixes for Navigation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book arrived promptly and in perfect condition.

Not a book for the HTML/IT novice - very much something for someone with considerable
web and HTML expertise: although this was indicated it was not emphasised enough in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, well written, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Yun Salisberry (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
Great tips on getting your HTML in shape for your Kindle books. I particularly liked his organization that breaks down fixes for paragraphs, headings, pictures, etc. The discussion of how to get curly quotes in your Kindle book is worth the book price alone! Great resource Kindle authors, if a little technical at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, as one can expect from all Aaron Shepherd's guides., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
Another very informative guide from Aaron Shepherd, who leaves no stone unturned! He explains everything in a way that is very easy to understand, from his own experience, in terms that anyone can understand. Excellent! Very helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for all author / publishers, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
It's cheap as chips and a great tool for any and all author publishers. If you want perfectly formatted Kindle files, this is all you need.​
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML Fixes for Kindle: Advanced Self Publishing for Kindle Books, or Tips on Tinkering with HTML from Microsoft Word or Anything Else So Your Ebook Looks as Good as It Possibly Can (Kindle Edition)
Really useful information for those that want to did deeper into the html code which is then processed by the kindle converter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews