Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A realistic and moving tale of the men of Bomber Command
This is a deeply impressive novel. There is no "war is hell" angst; there are no wacky characters doing improbable things; there are no dollops of modern political correctness; instead there is the story of ordinary men - men made extraordinary by their having being pitched into the most terrible and prolonged aerial campaign in history, and simply getting on with the...
Published 9 months ago by D. Eadsforth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK book
Yes its OK, if you like WW2 bomber books. But there are too many mistakes not least is the spelling of BAWTREY HALL. Sloppy.
Published 3 months ago by Paul S


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A realistic and moving tale of the men of Bomber Command, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
This is a deeply impressive novel. There is no "war is hell" angst; there are no wacky characters doing improbable things; there are no dollops of modern political correctness; instead there is the story of ordinary men - men made extraordinary by their having being pitched into the most terrible and prolonged aerial campaign in history, and simply getting on with the job. The author succeeds brilliantly in depicting the thoughts and feelings of his cast of characters, both men and women, and throughout the narrative the research he has carried out shines through. There is a high level of historical and technical accuracy, with the reader being placed firmly in the crew positions of "647 Squadron's" Lancaster bombers throughout the operational period recounted; the Battle of Berlin that took place between the autumn of 1943 and the winter of 1944. The balance between philosophy and action is well-maintained throughout, and I cannot see anyone who has an interest in the experiences of the men of Bomber Command being disappointed in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHOCKS AWAY, 8 Jan 2014
By 
A. Taylor (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
A good read. Story is about a bomber command pilot, the raids, the airfield, the love lives 3 or 4 of the people based in and around the airfield as well as glimpses of the life of the village near the airfield. It's also a story about how pressure can affect people and the day to day decisions they make.

I don't know if it's in any way accurate, I once knew a bomb aimer who'd been to the Big City several times and although he would cheerfully show me raid photo's and talk a little about the people he had flown with I rather got the impression that no matter how a bomber raid was talked about I'd never really know what it was like. There is one scene in the book told around a dead rear gunner getting taken out of his turret, that rang true because one of my uncles was a rear gunner on Lancasters during the war and that was about the only "story' I ever got out of him, the use of hose pipes.

The book is an enjoyable read and I was sorry when I turned the last page, in part it reads a bit like Nevil Shute's Pastoral and in parts is similar to Dirk Bogarde's 1953 film "Appointment in London". I'm not for one minute suggesting that the author has `pinched' anything from either but that this book is about the same subject and has the same style. If you enjoyed either, or both, of those I'd be really surprised if you didn't enjoy this.

Some 12110 `pages' on my iPad, in the main it's very well formatted, I only came upon half a dozen or so occasions where a word had been left out or repeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Until the night, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
An excellent and enlightening insight to life on a front line bomber squadron
During ww2 and the effects it has on the family and friends.
A thoroughly enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
I found this very easy reading, as I always say when reading these types of book , the bravery of all involved is beyond belief. It's interesting to see how the horrors of war are entwined with everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 7 Dec 2013
By 
G. S. Dover (Devon . England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
This is a truly great book, I was most impressed one or two typing eras but still excellent, as good as that great book by Len Daighton 'Bomber' I think this writer will become a top seller.
Cannot wait for another book in the same vain.
Thanks Gary Dover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
I found this book a bit of a slog for the first few chapters but when the characters started to develop and the story began to unfold I found it very hard to put down. Brilliant book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A. Totally brilliant novel of life in Bomber Command, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the finest, if not the finest, book of fiction I have ever read about life, and death, in RAF Bomber Command. It follows the fictional characters through the whole gambit of the bomber war from the early days of 1939 through to 1945. The author has a very clear understanding of his subject and he mixes the technical aspects of flying a Lancaster very skilfully into the story. The author also paints a very vivid picture of routine on a bomber station; the preparations prior to each operation, the operational briefings and the thousand and one other sundry details required to mount an operation.
This is an outstanding read and very highly recommended for all who have a fascination with bomber command. The characters are all well drawn and believable. All in all , I could not put the book down. Well done to the author and thank you for giving me such enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant book, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
Well researched. Humane. Sad but brave. Thoroughly enjoyed a book which showed so dramatically and realistically life on a WW2 bomber squadron. There is a little memorial at Fiskerton next to the old runway that has a little more meaning to me now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and accurate, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Until the Night (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, which deals not only with the stresses and losses of the battle for Berlin, but also the effects on the personnel and their loved ones. The flying scenes are really good, the pace excellent and the dialogue has a wonderfully authentic ring. The only (then) very common phrase Phillip doesn't use is "Now look here, old chap, I really..."
The plot is good and it doesn't work out for everyone in the end, so true-to-life as well.
One minor quibble is a number of typo's which should have been spotted, e.g. Snowden for SnowdOn (as in the mountain). If this kind of thing distracts or irritates you, then be warned. It is a great read though. I'll be looking for more of his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Until the Night
Until the Night by James Philip
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews