Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent projector
I have now had a number of projectors which get a lot of use with our family of 5.
First one was a 1000 lumen old technology (spinning colour wheel type), seemed great at the time because we knew no better but the lamp faded after a couple of years and was 300 to replace so we upgraded to an Acer, the difference was immediately noticeable and the projector was first...
Published 8 months ago by Michael J. Davison

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent apart from one thing.Buzzkill
I have owned this projector for about 4 months and i am on my third one now.Ok,the picture quality is excellent and a definite step up from the brilliant hd700x i had,but all 3 had an awful,annoying buzzing noise.
I think it comes from the colour wheel?
I exchanged the first 2 and i sent the one i have now away to optoma because of the buzzing noise.I got it...
Published 3 months ago by edi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent projector, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
I have now had a number of projectors which get a lot of use with our family of 5.
First one was a 1000 lumen old technology (spinning colour wheel type), seemed great at the time because we knew no better but the lamp faded after a couple of years and was 300 to replace so we upgraded to an Acer, the difference was immediately noticeable and the projector was first class, but it got white spots - one or two at first then more and more until we couldn't watch it. We sent for repair but as it was just over two years old Acer didn't want to know which disappointed me as I expected it to last a lot longer for the price - farewell Acer - customer lost., the cost of replacement lcd screen was close to that of a projector we decided not to bother.
We looked at everything but finally went for this Optoma.. It was a risk as it works off the new Texas instruments, dark crystal system and there were no reviews, but a risk I am glad I took. Set up was a breeze, worked almost straight out the box. The picture quality is exceptional - almost too good, if you link up Sky HD and watch something like x factor in HD you can actually see the dreadful make up on the judges etc, they look a strange colour and you can tell it is actually how they look for TV and not just the projector! I am sure there will be a setting on the projector to counter this but have not bothered to look yet.
If you go for a box office movie or a DVD however this thing really excels, the picture quality is absolutely stunning with no rainbow effect and no loss of definition in the dark, even tiniest details in dark rooms stand out, the colours are vibrant and the light levels are fantastic, we project onto a 3 metre glass bead coated screen and you can watch this in daylight with the blinds open, it is that good.I would go so far as to say it is better than the Odeon, I went to see a movie there with my wife and we both thought the quality was not as good as at home!

Given the choice again but now with the benefit of hindsight I would chose this projector again without hesitation
Highly recommended - 10/10 thank you Optoma,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wanted to add my two pennies worth, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. S. R. Taylor (heathrow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
I actually bought my H180X projector from elsewhere but the price here is the same and i thought i would add a little laymans review as you can get so bogged down in the techie reviews.
I bought this to screen on an 84" 16:9 projector screen in a converted garage now cinema room, although i used it on a white wall and only notice a minimal improvement from the screen it does add to the cinema experience.
The sole use is to play xbox 360 and watch Netflix movies through xbox 360.
The xbox 360 seemingly only displays in 720p so I thought that there was little point in spending significantly more on a 1080p model. I thought that it would be pixely at 720p, I was wrong.
To this lay person the projector is awesome.
I plugged my 20 year old Denon amp with 4 speakers coming off it (1 each corner) into the xbox and an HDMI lead into the projector. 1 hdmi input -so what. I bought a remote 3 way splitter for 7 from Amazon and switch between x.box, PC and Wii.
I bought a screen for 100.
I now have a home cinema/ gaming room that cost less than 500! The picture is so much better than i could have expected. I personally have seen none of the rainbow effect that is talked about on DLP projectors.
In summary the projector is quiet, fantastic picture and really easy to set up -plug and play. The one thing that i did not reckon on is the heat that these things kick out but that's not this projector specifically just all projectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great specifications and perfect picture quality, 6 Jan 2014
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
Optoma H180X 720p 3000 Lumen Full 3D DLP Home Theater Projector with HDMI .
I am very sure this is the best 720p 3D projector until now.
picture quality is amazing
price is perfect
I recommended this projector to anyone looking for home theater entertainment projector for movies and gaming with a nice price and great picture quality.
a great projector to make your family enjoy every weekend without spending a lot of money specially that many families did not notice the difference between 1080p and 720p.
720p 3D projector in this price with 3d is a great deal.720p resolution is very nice to your family and for you.
in my opinion this projector will make you and your family very happy and more happy than watching movies or playing games on any hdtv with any size.
this projector=great price+fun+amazing picture quality for the price and for 720p+ better than many or any HDTV to make you or make your family enjoy movies...
and sorry about my English...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality for the money, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
Easy to set up, more than decent quality for a home setup. Projecting onto a white wall and the image quality is better than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First ever projector, 10 May 2014
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
bought this projector a few days ago and it is our first projector. For an entry level machine I wasn't expecting too much from it. So far we have only used it to display two films one blu ray 2d and one dvd 2d. We are currently redecorating the front room and the walls have fresh undried and unpainted plaster on them and this is the surface we projected the image onto. This gave the image the apperence of if you were watching a tv with a dirty screen but even so the picture quality is amazing considering the situation.

Despite the "brown and salmon" coloured walls the coulours were amazing the whites where brilliant white... how when the wall is brown and pink the projector does this baffles me and the blacks where deep black.... how a projector projects black (an absence of light) is a mystery. The fan is quiet enough sitting right next to the machine to not be bothersome even in quiet parts of the film.

The screen size is a wonderful 118" diagonal and quite impressive and exciting to have in your front room. Especially with the world cup on its way. Ease of use is exceptional. I took it out of its box connected the required leads turned it on focused the image in 2seconds selected my language and sat back to watch the films it really is that easy.

if this thing can produce images like the ones I have witnessed on a freshly plastered unpainted wall i am confident it will blow me away again once the wall is painted. I can tell even as it is now that the picture quality is much better than my Samsung 40" full hd tv. I am sure concert dvds/blu rays will be a fantastic experience especially since my blu ray player converts 2d to 3d.

the machine is two days out of its box the real test will be what its like in 2yrs but first impressions are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent apart from one thing.Buzzkill, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
I have owned this projector for about 4 months and i am on my third one now.Ok,the picture quality is excellent and a definite step up from the brilliant hd700x i had,but all 3 had an awful,annoying buzzing noise.
I think it comes from the colour wheel?
I exchanged the first 2 and i sent the one i have now away to optoma because of the buzzing noise.I got it back without the noise but it still comes and goes and makes me dubious about the longevity of the unit.
I have mine mounted upside down on the ceiling,but they all buzzed the right way up too.
If it wasn't for the buzz and the nagging doubt it causes it would be 5 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Projector of Quality, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
Good quick service product delivered quicker that expected. The item was of good quality and better than expected good service. I would recommend this as a home entertainment system also, projection onto screen is great with surround sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 Jan 2014
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
We love this projector my son has his xbox one and FIFA on a painted wall in his bedroom easy 100 inch and the picture is unbelievable wud recommend it to anyone an very little if any rainbow effect witch is surprising for dlp projector at this price. U will want one in evry room in the house
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porn never looked so good!, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
In all seriousness though. One of my best buys, being born in 1985 I missed out on seeing the cinematic greats on big screen. This baby lets me bring the cinema to my home. Also gaming on it is badass, almost fell off my chair while flying about in Planetside 2. effortless setup, attractive design, great picture quality... all in all its the s***!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Optoma H180X Home Entertainment 3D Ready HD DLP Projector (Electronics)
amazing quality so far, used outside and was HD quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews