Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars13
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2013
If you didn't grow up in London listening to the pirates the history of this music is pretty much lost. So books like this are essential. Reading the first chapter made me want to read one about Wiley. Later chapters made me want to read one about Ruff Sqwad. What's most interesting are the conflicts/ paradoxes - the ambivalent attitude towards Canary Wharf, reflected by similarly dual attitudes to getting out of E3.

One thing - as much as I like the sino grime sounds, I always thought the significance of Chinese sounds was coincidental and overplayed. So I liked the endnote about how these chinese melodies were what you get if you only play the black keys on a keyboard...

So yeah this is good and you should read it. As to the comment that any grime fan could write this - go ahead. There's nothing stopping you. Do one on Wiley, please.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Well researched and a wholly believable insight into Grime without getting bogged down in either overly academic language or populist rhetoric.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Beautifully brings alive the raw energy in an East London tower block studio somewhere. IMHO grime stepped in to replace traditional hip hop. Yes we know you got 2 benz's Mr Carter. We can't relate to that.
It's depressing to think that 10 years later Dizzee finally feels more at home, due to increased personal wealth.
Grime history needs to be told, it's real and may give an insight in to the way real Londoners and those in inner city estates feel.
Only issue I have is that the book makes me feel old, 10 years ago! Where did the time go?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
A great book that gets to the heart of the birth of Grime, a very accurate account and it really highlights the cultural significance of te genre as well.

Unlike other books that lazily lump Grime in with UK hip hop or other genres, this frames the movements that created it and shows how it could have only occurred in the UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
Only four stars because it lacks input from Mr. Mills himself, so theories of influence are sated untested and unproven but the writing is clear, entertaining well-informed and somewhat 'embedded' in the host culture of grime. It has an aura of urgency and necessity but also feels considered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
The passion and knowledge for the music and the time was clearly one lived and not merely researched. Took you straight back to the time. Canary Wharf as an allegory was fascinating and spot on. Absolutely well worth the read for anyone interested in the music, the 'characters' or the area.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
I did not really think about this book before I bought it but found it both interesting and educational. It is great that youngsters get together to make music and sometimes find themselves to be know to a much wider audience. Great they follow their dreams
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
If you like Grime music and dizzee rascal this book is worth a read, I found it very interesting as there's not another book around that goes through hip hop or dance music history. Kept me interested right through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Having enjoyed Utopia so much I was looking forward to this ebook. Less than a chapter in and one cliche made an appearance three times, a lack of attention to detail that summed up the next couple of chapters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
A succinct recollection of the Grime era from a fellow fanatic of Dizzee. Written like an epic album review it offers a good adult reminiscence of something I lived thru as a teenager. Thanks Dan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)