Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The crew of Europa One changed the core context in which all of humanity understands itself. They couldn't have achieved more",
This is a good SF film, one of best amongst those I saw recently. Not exactly a great masterpiece, but certainly a very honest, very intelligent and surprisingly original film. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

IMPORTANT PRECISION: this is the review of the Region 1 NTSC version, which will NOT PLAY on Region 2 European equipment. There...
Published 9 months ago by Darth Maciek

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Also sprach Zarathustra
The film immediately reminds one of "2001: A Space Odyssey." A crew of people head out to one of Jupiter's moon to search for life and communications is lost giving a new meaning to the phrase "The Jupiter Effect." Like "2001" the film doesn't spend a lot of time building character, but admittedly this production does a better job, but then what film didn't. In "2001" the...
Published 18 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The crew of Europa One changed the core context in which all of humanity understands itself. They couldn't have achieved more",, 15 July 2014
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a good SF film, one of best amongst those I saw recently. Not exactly a great masterpiece, but certainly a very honest, very intelligent and surprisingly original film. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

IMPORTANT PRECISION: this is the review of the Region 1 NTSC version, which will NOT PLAY on Region 2 European equipment. There is also a Region 2 version available, released in Germany, with original soundtrack but it has no English subtitles.

Europa One is the name of the spacecraft which, in a near future, attempts the first manned space mission to another celestial body since the last Moon landing in 1972. Its destination is Jupiter's moon Europa. It carries a crew of six (four men and two women). This is an international mission, coordinated by a joint body called Europa Ventures, funded by USA, EU and Russia - and therefore the crew, if I understood correctly is composed of two Americans, two Europeans and two Russians.

The scheduled time of flight to Europa is 22 months. Once there the crew is supposed to divide, with some of them boarding the lander and some staying in the orbiter. Those who are expected to land are supposed to gather and analyse samples from the surface and then drill through the ice and explore the subglacial ocean with an unmanned robot probe. There are great hopes that life can be discovered in the ocean, because of heat signatures observed under the ice by previous unmanned missions (fictional ones as there were no probes send specifically to Europa in real life). All of this is just the introduction and covers like first five minutes - and about the rest I will say nothing more.

This is a SF film so of course it takes some liberties with reality and in fact we still don't know with certitude if there really is an ocean under Europa's ice crust... But still, this film tries to stick to real science and real reality as much as possible and therefore offers us a very, very pleasant experience for all amateurs of "nuts and bolts" SF. I must admit that I always liked this sub-genre, ever since I started to read SF as a kid in the 70s - and in the veritable deluge of super-hero film, horrors, space opera, alien invasions, time travels, alternate reality, post-apocalyptics, etc, etc. (which by the way I enjoy a lot too) this category of films seemed to disappear a little. It was therefore with great pleasure that I discovered recently two very good "nuts and bolts" SF films - the grandiose, spectacular "Gravity" and then this film, less flamboyant but nevertheless excellent.

It is fair to warn here that this is a slow film, which accelerates only towards the end - but still, I wasn't bored even for one minute. The story is also no-linear, so I would advise to watch it integrally because you may miss important bits, even in slower parts - if you want to leave the room to get more beer or popcorn, my sincere advice is to pause the film...

With the exception of Christian Camargo ("Dexter", "Twilight") actors who played crew members were unknown to me, but they did really an excellent job. It is worth to mention them here:

- Daniel Wu plays William Xu, an American who is the captain of the mission (after all this is an American film)
- Anamaria Marinca plays Rosa Dasque, the pilot of the ship (she is European and may or may not be French)
- Christian Camargo plays Daniel Luxembourg, chief science officer (another European who may or may not be French)
- Michael Nyqvist plays Andrei Blok, chief engineer, a Russian veteran who is also the oldest crew member
- Karolina Wydra plays Katya Petrovna, a Russian science officer (marine biologist)
- Sharlto Copley plays James Corrigan, an American who is the junior engineer

The story is also partly narrated by people from Europa Ventures who remained on Earth - amongst them one is played by Isiah Whitlock Jr., who made such a lasting impression as State Senator Clay Davis in "The Wire"...))) Another one is played by Dan Fogler ("Fanboys", Good luck Chuck"), who for once looks like a human being, wears some nice clothes and speaks without using obscenities in every sentence...)))

This film, albeit slow, builds up quite a tension from the beginning and as we learn to know better the crew members a heavy sense of foreboding develops. The great finale and the ending are very strong, unexpected and surprisingly moving.

"Europa Report" being in large part about ice crust covered with cracks and craters you can expect some plot holes - and of course there are some, but they don't really harm this film.

Bottom line, I found this film a very, very successful thing and I enjoyed watching it A LOT! A really, good, solid, classical "nuts and bolts" SF movie. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle and slow-paced but enjoyable chunk of hard sci-fi, 17 Sept. 2014
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Report 3D (Blu-ray)
Europa Report employs the well-trodden found-footage technique in a space exploration scenario. I was reminded immediately of the Canadian sci-fi/horror Apollo 18 from a few years back (and perhaps to a lesser degree Last Days on Mars), but Europa Report, in my opinion, is a far superior film that provides a genuine sense of wonder about the search for extraterrestrial life and the perils inherent in space travel.

The budget clearly wasn't huge, but the hardware all looks reasonably convincing, as do the (few) zero G effects. It's competently acted and the story builds in measured manner from the initial jovial camaraderie and expectation of our intrepid crew, through some tense, creepy, poignant and quite thrilling scenes in the denouement. The (German) 12 rating is about right with regard to mild use of language and sense of threat in the later stages.

On this German branded 3D Blu-Ray (which took 7 days to arrive), the start-up menu offers choice of language, subtitles on/off and 3D or 2D versions of the movie. I opted for 3D, which was pretty underwhelming. There is a reasonable sense of depth to the interior of the spacecraft, but no projection effects whatsoever, so any of you expecting the 3D wow factor you got with Gravity are likely to be disappointed. 5.1 surround sound, on the other hand, is extremely good and immerses you fully in the creaking ice scenes. I did find the theme and incidental music a bit intrusive though.

Parts of the plot are non-linear and do require you to pay close attention to make sense of every temporal twist and turn.

So, whilst certainly not the best sci-fi since 2001 or the masterpiece some have claimed, overall, Europa Report is a subtle but intelligent and satisfying movie and well worth adding to any sci-fi fan's collection. Nice lenticular 3D effect on the Blu-Ray sleeve too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Also sprach Zarathustra, 12 Oct. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The film immediately reminds one of "2001: A Space Odyssey." A crew of people head out to one of Jupiter's moon to search for life and communications is lost giving a new meaning to the phrase "The Jupiter Effect." Like "2001" the film doesn't spend a lot of time building character, but admittedly this production does a better job, but then what film didn't. In "2001" the sell was special effects. The crew of this feature are the best no accent English speaking white/Asian scientists and engineers from around the globe.

Science fiction wise, the movie addresses some of the issues of a Europa mission such as the deadly radiation that comes from Jupiter. Radiation destroys cell structure making the existence of large complex organisms questionable. People are sent to Europa because an "unmanned probe wasn't going to do it." Personally I would have sent maybe one or two just to be sure.

The movie utilizes camera logs and installed video cameras on board to give the film a modern hand held low budget "Paranormal" feel to it. Indeed, like so many films in this genre, one must wait for nearly the last scene to see a glimpse of "it." For me the introduction of multiple installed cameras as a substitute for a film cheapened the production.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Report (Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
"Europa Report" (2013)

Pilots aren't great thinkers. At least not Rosa Dasque.

Rosa apparently has a saying that goes a little something like this:

"Compared to the breadth of knowledge yet to be known... what does your life actually matter?"

Well Rosa, I'll tell you what it matters; it matters everything!
If you're not alive you can't know any of your knowledge.
Knowledge can only exist if someone knows it.
Knowledge without life... is an oxymoron.
So Rosa, my advice to you; stop thinking and just concentrate on the piloting!

Ok, stepping out of the movie's universe; Anamaria Marinca is well cast as Rosa Dasque. I was very impressed with her performance and character-vividness. She's clearly a competent and skilled actor. In fact all the actors do a wonderful job in this movie (or maybe the director is just really good)

Actually it's much easier to simply jump straight to the conclusion, which is that "Europa Report" is really one of the most impressive space-themed movies around.
There is so much to like about it that it easily qualifies as one of the best scifi movies you can find as of the year 2014. I think you have to go all the way back to the 1960s to find movies that attempt to keep it real as much as "Europa Report" does. And that is truly refreshing!

Tech-stuff first:

The image-quality (I watched it on blu-ray, which is sadly not available in all countries. In Denmark it's only officially released on DVD so to get a blu-ray version you have to import it. That's so sad) is top-notch. Clearly worth watching on blu-ray for the finer details and the visual candy (and there's plenty in "Europa Report" to feast the eyes). It's shot on digital, but that works in favor of this movie actually (since it's styled to appear in part as a documentary. Incidentally, if that turns you off, don't worry about it, its style does actually feel like a regular movie and not like a gimmick). There was a single thing I might have done differently if I was the maker of this movie, and that is that I think I would've opted for a higher frame-rate, to avoid the typical movie-judder, and rather go for the traditional smooth look of video (but I'm biased since I prefer judder-free images in all movies I watch, and it's not really an issue since modern TVs can mostly smooth the images for you anyway)

And I have to mention the color-grading to, at pet peeve of mine, THANK YOU for grading this movie in such a beautiful way! None of that crazy duo-color tone that so many modern block-busters is haunted by. The color-grading of "Europa Report" is spot-on! That's how you do it! Perfect!

The audio and soundtrack is top-notch. Dialog is easy to hear (this movie is not plagued by the annoying trend of lowering speech to levels that are foolishly low and raising effects to levels that are foolishly loud. Good balance which still retains impressive sound-effects) and sound-track does an excellent job of setting the mood without becoming obtrusive or taking attention away from the story. Great work.

Style-stuff:

It appears we're watching a special documentary about this space-mission (supposedly presented to us as something that has already happened) to Jupiter's moon Europa. That's the premise, it seems.
While this may sound like it couldn't possibly carry a whole movie, it is actually not very intrusive. I didn't feel much different than I do when watching a 'normal' movie (with the usual type of linear storyline progression). The suspense and immersion, for me anyway, was just as good as with 'normal' movies. I wasn't thrown off by this style-choice. In fact I think it was a good choice, the way they did it, for the story of this movie.

There's a good balance between personal stuff (the typical 'getting to know the people', whatever the main story is) and the actual story (the events that our little band of likable protagonists are thrust through)
The movie never resorts to pointless clichés, unless you consider launch countdowns a cliché (there are a couple, but this is a space-movie afterall, launch-countdowns are mandatory.), or tons of geeky stuff like foolish techie-talk without real meaning that is just there to sound cool and smart (the movie never takes any cheap-shots like that)

The storyline (the space-mission events), when considered linearly (in the movie its presented non-linearly), is rather fluid in the sense that you never have any definite character-leads but rather a team-effort (there's no good-guy vs bad-guy stereotyping, but a sense of allroundness/completeness to all the characters. They appear more real, more human, than characters often do in most movies. I liked that a lot)

The movie-set, both inside and outside the space-ship, is actually quite impressively made. Again they hit the perfect balance between coolness and meaningfulness. For example, there is no flashing lights that flash just to have something flashy flashing.
The outfits aren't parodies either. Too many space-themed movies have space-suits that make you cry, but thankfully "Europa Report" is not one of these movies. And they're not wearing gadgets that are just there for the fluff-effect. Everything really seems to have been given thought rather than being left to randomness (an effort you have to respect given that this movie, as most space-themed movies, aren't likely to appeal to the same broad mainstream audience as more traditional movies)

There's a lot of good to say about this movie.
It may not be a chick-flick as such, although that obviously depends on the chick, but is likely more appealing to those who already have an interest in the theme of space.

All in all I can easily recommend getting and watching this movie.
It's easily one of the best scifi movies you can find as of the year 2014.
It is really brilliant and well done in all aspects of the production.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbw9hlBnG74
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Putting the science back in science fiction, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
They just don't make many realistic hard science fiction movies these days - not without some kind of monster or alien virus running amuck or a secret agent embedded into the crew intent on sabotaging the mission, but Europa Report gets high marks for its focus on the science of a deep space mission. Yes, there are a few inaccuracies along the way (such as the fact the crew is able to converse with Mission Control with no time lag from the vicinity of Jupiter), but the special effects and attention to detail are really impressive given the fact that is an indie film (NASA reportedly assisted in the project development). There is also a refreshing absence of space opera to the storyline; heck, there's not even a romantic subplot to be found among this crew of men and women. No one breaks down emotionally or descends into madness, either, when serious problems arise. The entire crew works together to fulfill the mission, embodying the words of one of the crew members: "Compared to the breadth of knowledge yet to be known . . . what does your life actually matter?"

For those unfamiliar with Europa, it is the smallest of the four Jovian satellites first discovered by Galileo - and the sixth largest moon in the Solar System. One can easily make the case that it is also the most fascinating orbital body in the Solar System: its atmosphere contains oxygen, its surface is covered in ice, and many scientists believe that a water ocean is to be found below the surface. Such an internally heated ocean holds out the prospect that some type of life - most likely unicellular - exists on Europa. After we put men on Mars, Europa is the next place we should be sending our astronauts. Sadly, that obviously won't happen, given the lack of funding and increasing irrelevance of NASA; even in this movie, Project Europa is funded by private rather than public investment.

A hell of a lot of things can go wrong on a mission to Europa, but this crew does not face a serious problem until it nears Jupiter, when a solar storm knocks out their communication with Earth. It's unrealistic to believe such a mission would not have a back-up communications system, but it adds a little bit of tension to the plot of the movie. Determined to fulfill the mission, the crew members have the added pressure of making sure whatever discoveries they make on Europa make their way back to Earth somehow. It's not like they're just launching a probe down to the surface, by the way. Their mission is to land on Europa, drill down beneath the ice layer, and see what lies beneath. I'm not going to give away any spoilers of what happens down there, though.

The one problematic aspect about this otherwise great film is the fact that it tells some of the story in the form of flashbacks. This can lead to some confusion early on, especially when everyone keeps talking about what happened to one crew member when I didn't even know who they were talking about. That should not deter anyone from watching Europa Report, though. This film truly does put the science back in science fiction, posing and answering realistic questions as to how such a dangerous deep space mission could play out - and how the individual astronauts would react and function in the face of unforeseen and potentially catastrophic occurrences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but not great, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
S. L. Wilkinson (Shropshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was ok, just nothing huge to write home about. the special effects were minimal but the story was gripping enough to stay with right to the end. Some of the acting was pretty good and some of it was dire.. so it'll never be in anyone's top ten. It's a shame because Sharlto Copley, who starred in district 9, in which he was brilliant, only appears for half of the film and is by far the best character. There isn't really anything in this to get your teeth into, and where there was plenty of opportunities to make it a visual feast, they seem to have not bothered, or run out of money. Annoyingly, the best view of Jupiters moon appears on the front cover of the DVD but doesn't appear in the actual film. Anyway, all that aside, it entertained me enough :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little gem of a movie., 27 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Europa Report (DVD) (DVD)
It is a pity that I saw this movie a month or so after I watched "Gravity" and wrote a review about it.
A review which,I must say, generated several "negative"remarks by other viewers.
Had I seen them in reverse order,I would have merely pointed out that a comparison of these movies would do more than I could ever have done in explaining why I found Gravity to be a mediocre movie,at best.A demonstration of exceptional "special effects",nothing more.No 'serious"acting(a very mediocre S.Bullock and a forgettable G.Clooney.Plus a series of grave scientific" innacuracies ",introduced on purpose in order to facilitate the "spectacular " aspect of the production.
No such things exist in "Europa report".This excellent movie falls a bit short of being a " masterpiece",but it is as honest and interesting science fiction ,as they come.
Everything is in place .The core issue is most important.Seeking other forms of life in the cosmos.The science is impeccable.The acting is low key,yet excellent.The characters are quite interesting.The whole adventure,and the conclusion of the drama,is a hymn to the human spirit and to the fact that in this quest it is humanity that must,and wiil,benefit,not the individual.And it has the characteristic of most great movies of the genre. The ending is quite unexpected,so I will only say that the crew's quest for knowledge in service to the human species is succesful.
I thoroughly enjoyed this "little gem of a movie".And I will choose it over "Gravity"type special-effects based movies ,any day,any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap price as its all german text on packaging., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Europa Report (Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Cheap price as its all German text on packaging .

Film did have English language though, so was all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget Gravity, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Europa Report (DVD) (DVD)
I was a bit mystified by the hype over Gravity and not sure why it was so critically acclaimed. Yes it was beautiful and jammed with expensive effects - but it left me a bit bored. Europa Report is ten times better in spite of having cost much less to make. Excellent actors, good science, gripping story - and it's proper Sci Fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars there are better ways to spend your time, 3 May 2015
I like sci fi and I am sometimes over generous towards sci fi films (e.g. Cargo I scored 4 stars I like it). However I feel this film fails on too many levels. It felt like I was watching a student project, where they were never going to get the budget the plot needed but they were desperate to make a feature length film. Particularly the use of cameras on faces rather than on scenery was so intrusively obvious as a budget saving measure. The documentary style, interviews, also came across as money saving, whereas if they had been used more sparingly they would have been an interesting feature. The plot itself was rather derivative, something we forgive in films that are really well made, but in combination with the limitations of this film, just make it forgettable. I hope this is a vehicle that enables the people behind it to go on and make better stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Europa Report (DVD)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews