Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good intelligent filmmaking
Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij follow up their previous collaboration, Sound of my Voice (very good film with similar themes to this one) with this politically charged thriller.

Marling co writes and stars as Sarah, an undercover operative attempting to infiltrate a group of eco terrorists led by a charismatic front men Benji (Alexander Skarsgard). The group,...
Published 6 months ago by Richard Morton

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth spying on
We are watching you, Zal Batmanglij. His first film as writer-director, Sound of My Voice, was a beautifully concise, thought-provoking dive into the psychology of the cult. While not quite up to the standard of that film, The East covers similar socially-conscious ground with similarly intriguing results.

Brit Marling returns, this time as the undercover...
Published 17 months ago by R. J. Lister


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good intelligent filmmaking, 15 May 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The East [DVD] (DVD)
Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij follow up their previous collaboration, Sound of my Voice (very good film with similar themes to this one) with this politically charged thriller.

Marling co writes and stars as Sarah, an undercover operative attempting to infiltrate a group of eco terrorists led by a charismatic front men Benji (Alexander Skarsgard). The group, known as The East, are taking revenge on people and corporations they feel have wronged them or society. This revenge takes the form of what they call "jams", a specific act of retribution against the culprits. The opening credits show The East breaking into a house and coating it with oil, this being revenge for a previous oil spill in the sea. The jams however escalate from here, becoming more violent and morally ambiguous.

Can Sarah stop them from happening? Does she even want to? The more time she spends with The East the more conflicted she becomes. They have a point of course but do the ends justify the means? Marling plays her role well, Skarsgard is as good as ever, Patricia Clarkson is excellent as a ruthless executive, in fact there's no weak link in the acting ensemble (Ellen Page and Toby Kebell are also on good form).

Batmanglij's direction is assured and this is a really good, thoughtful, tension filled thriller. Highly recommended from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freeganism & being a Hiller Brood operative, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The East [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS

I caught this rather interesting thriller late one evening cable. There is no point in regurgitating the whole plot here. However, the premise is as follows -Our main protagonist Jane is an operative for a private intelligence firm Hiller Brood, and is assigned by her boss Sharon to infiltrate `The East' an underground anarchist co -operative who plan and carry out covert actions against corporations in an effort to bare/reveal their corruption and negligence. In her undercover role, and in-line with the ethos of the anarchist cell, she practices Freeganism. This entails the eating of recovered/eating food that has been thrown away. As Jane gets to know the group, her views are shown to change, as she is not immune to the cells message as well as the individual narratives of the group members. As the plot progresses there some rather interesting twists and turns to the story.

For me there lots of symbolism in this film, some of which is quasi-religious such as the set up involving straight-jackets, where by, each member feeding each other as they are unable to feed themselves. It is interesting to note that Brit Marling - who plays Jane in the film, experienced first-hand how to hop trains and learned to sleep rough as well as practicing Freeganism. The East, is no espionage film as we know it and Jane uses the same field craft - disguise, tools of spy craft and a legend that holds up to the scrutiny of the cell. This is film whether you like it or not it raises many questions. The cell's attack on a pharmaceutical company that sells flawed and dangerous medicine - is part based on a drug company that touted medication that lead to a number of suicides amongst patients that used it. This an unusual thriller it is not the state but rather big business are the culprits, a film worthy of a good four stars in my estimation - it's not perfect by an means but it is very thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth spying on, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: The East [DVD] (DVD)
We are watching you, Zal Batmanglij. His first film as writer-director, Sound of My Voice, was a beautifully concise, thought-provoking dive into the psychology of the cult. While not quite up to the standard of that film, The East covers similar socially-conscious ground with similarly intriguing results.

Brit Marling returns, this time as the undercover operative entering the group, here an anarchist-freeganist party calling themselves The East, who punish the CEOs of unethical megacorporations in the manner of the companies' crimes. What could have been an arrow-straight case of the ultra-conservative corporate agent revealing her nice lefty side is made complicated by the fact that Sarah uncovers dubious motives and behaviour on both sides. The East is most successful when it is smearing the black and white and making it grey.

It is least successful when it wears its polemics on its sleeve. The straight-up ethical debate scenes, while laudable in their content, can come across as preachy. Although it doesn't outright demonise anyone, it's pretty clear where the filmmakers' sympathies lie, and at times an air of sanctimony undermines the drama.

But this shouldn't detract from what the film does really well. When the script is focused and flowing, it's absolutely gripping, and exquisitely detailed - a throwaway line often paints a detailed picture, without recourse to plodding backstory. There are no dud performances from the cast. And, aesthetically, the film has the same dusky atmosphere that made its predecessor so seductive.

This is recommended for those looking for an evocative, twisting, dense, and serious thriller. Just be ready for the arguments afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: The East [DVD] (DVD)
A group of eco terrorists called "The East" is attacking executes from companies harming the environment. Sarah Moss (Brit Marling) is sent to undercover to infiltrate in the group and learn their next moves.

Sarah manages to become one of the group's members but she begins developing feelings for the members and she has a romantic relationship with the leader.

She has to decide if she will betray the company she works for or the people from The East group.

In conclusion: the film is worth seeing because it is a good thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WE ARE NOT HIDING FROM YOU. WE ARE YOU., 3 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The East [DVD] (DVD)
Sarah (Brit Marling) is an FBI agent tasked with infiltrating an anarchist group targeting corporate CEOs. This isn't the typical FBI which stops groups from performing terrorists acts before they happen, or arrests them when they can, but that Hollywood FBI which allows terrorists to hurt people and then maybe arrest them after they hurt some more. The anarchists are personal victims of the companies they go after. Sarah begins to sympathize with the group which leads to an anti-climatic ending which I could have written better myself.

I had really enjoyed the film up until the ending. Ellen Page turned in a good performance, but for the most part, I thought the tale was a tad on the lackluster side. Seriously, who is shocked that drugs are unsafe (Tylenol) or poisons are dumped into water? We did see "Rude Awakening."

Parental Guide: No F-bombs. Brief sex, male rear nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film!, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The East [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films of recent years. I don't think it quite received the publicity it deserved. A great cast, some emotive acting, and an excellent script. It really shows different viewpoints to the notion of eco-terrorism and, thanks to a dark and disturbing storyline, doesn't turn into just another environmental-anxiety type film. Would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and underrated movie!, 6 Oct 2014
By 
Valse (Rome, Italy Italy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The East [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie and an interesting one too! Well directed and with a very good and nailed cast. I imagine the subject wasn't very much "welcomed", that's why it disappeared quite soon from the movie theaters, at least in my country ...... same old, same old, when someone speaks the truth it always uncomfortable ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual but fascinating, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: The East (DVD)
A well written screenplay and brilliantly understated acting by Brit Marling . A most unusual plot but one that was riveting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 18 Jan 2014
This review is from: The East [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting to like this movie, and was admittedly watching it because I think Shiloh Fernandez is brilliant, but it really surprised me. I rally loved it. There were sweet parts, sad, angry...everything. Seriously worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indie at it's best - smart and thought provoking, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The East [DVD] (DVD)
Like Another Earth, and The Sound of my Voice this is another thought provoking and smart story from the very talented Brit Marling and her collaborators.

Riveting and very well acted from beginning to end this story is very relevant to today and yet remains small and very human

Highly recommended for people with a brain and a soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The East [DVD]
The East [DVD] by Zal Batmanglij (DVD - 2013)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews