Customer Reviews


206 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic Dance Music that crosses genre boundaries
Apart from an unofficial remix of Lady Antebellum's Need You Now, I have never heard country music and electronic dance music in the same song before, but Avicii - famous already for dance tracks such as Levels (Original Version), Silhouettes (Original Radio Edit) and Fade Into Darkness (Vocal Edit) - seems to have successfully found the formula.

Whilst it can...
Published 12 months ago by Andromeda Descendent

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Major let down.
I work in a kitchen and had heard a number of Avicii tracks being played on the radio. Taking a liking to them I thought I'd check the album out before making a purchase, so I had a listen through the first few tracks on youtube (making sure I liked more than the tracks I'd heard) and thought it would be an ideal buy. Having given the album a listen through, it was what I...
Published 10 months ago by Kjazzw


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electronic Dance Music that crosses genre boundaries, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True (Audio CD)
Apart from an unofficial remix of Lady Antebellum's Need You Now, I have never heard country music and electronic dance music in the same song before, but Avicii - famous already for dance tracks such as Levels (Original Version), Silhouettes (Original Radio Edit) and Fade Into Darkness (Vocal Edit) - seems to have successfully found the formula.

Whilst it can be debated whether or not the number one single Wake Me Up is really country music, there can be no doubt with the third track on this album, Hey Brother. You just know with some songs if they are one genre or the other, and Hey Brother is country music without question. Even though it has a beat to it and all the other EDM effects, it's more country than many country artists are now, even fused - and fused incredibly successfully - with Avicii's refreshingly diverse dance music ingredients.

It's not all country though, and the second track, You Make Me, is more in the vein of the music we've come to expect from Avicii - who is one of those rare DJ / artists who actually makes a real attempt for every track he puts out to sound unique and different from the others. Funk-tinged, infectious and offbeat, it's the second single for a very good reason.

The soul/pop of Addicted To You is an excellent gateway into what was already a fan favourite before this album even had a title - Dance In The Water, often wrongly accredited as featuring Lana Del Ray - appears here under the name Dear Boy. It's the longest track on the album, and it deserves to be, as it is possibly the best creatively and appears at that point on the album where many people listening for the first time will suddenly make the realisation that they already really love this album.

The second half of the album continues to play about with the genres, bringing funk, rock, swing and pop into the mix to various degrees on Liar Liar, Shame On You and Lay Me Down before tricking you into thinking you're entering chillout territory on the Antony and the Johnsons cover Hope There's Someone, which builds up and pulls back the beats at just the right times. The album closes with an instrumental featuring piano and strings, but if you're got the digital special edition it keeps going with Always On The Run, which is a more poppy track than any before it.

Perhaps because 10 tracks is seen as the correct amount for a "proper album", one of the other special edition tracks - once you have heard it - is conspicuous by its absence, especially because it would have also brought jazz to the album. That track is Long Road to Hell, and although you can't get it through Amazon, I'm sure Amazon wouldn't mind me recommending that you go over to i-somethingorother (am I allowed to mention it?) and download that track too.

If the type of case you get for the physical release matters to you, as it does to me, then you may be pleased to know it's not a cardboard sleeve but one of those new round-edged jewel cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing All Round!, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Bex (West Lothian, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True (Audio CD)
I love dance music and have thus far loved all Aviici's releases, when I first heard Wake Me Up I absolutely loved it, and how it perfectly blended dance and country music to come up with a unique sound.

Hey Brother is an outstanding track, cant stop listening to it.

Would recommend this album to anyone, its energetic and relaxing all at once if thats possible and manages to cater to a broader market than just the dance/club scene Aviici was previously known for.

I dont think theres a bad track on it, and thats rare for any album to achieve. I think most people will recognise at least two tracks off the album even if they think theyve never heard any before as theyre everywhere - and with good reason!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Avicii, have listened to the album constantly since buying it. Beautiful mix of dance and country-esque music. Something different, but still every good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - never heard anything like it, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Paul Clayton "tech numptie" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True (Audio CD)
OK it might be close to my sixth decade on this planet but as a result I have had a wide ranging interest in music and have never been afraid to try something new. Sometimes it works others it doesn,t but this is great music from a guy I have never heard of ( read up about him since though) and it works as relaxing, driving, bopping music and the production is first class.
I thought that DJs just played records but this guy writes his own and collaborative stuff and uses real artists not just samples to create addictive music.
Many different vocal and musical styles.
Deserves to be played LOUD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't found a track I don't like. Good mix of songs not all dance tracks - would definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 16 Sep 2013
amazing album by aviccii recommend anyone who loves house music or electronic music to buy this album it doesn't disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True (Audio CD)
I really like Avicii's songs so when I bought the album I was very surprised as every song was made to perfection. Definitely worth buying if you like Avicii and his country & house songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avicii, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True (Audio CD)
great album from avicii and it also includes all the recent hits and some fututre ones i think we really like his sound and mixes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Catchy & varied, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not deep or particularly clever, verging on cheesy, predictable euro-dance music but it's varied enough in not to be a monotonous thump and has got some great catchy tunes to it that will appeal to pretty much everyone. Good mix of instruments and guest singers to stop it all sounding the same, having said that not really an album you will really get "lost" in. Great to listen to in the car. If you're bit of a music snob look at it as a "guilty pleasure" but still worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING! <3, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True (Audio CD)
I have always loved AVICII and this album has exceeded expectations! I love his work and this music has so much depth and variety and is one I can't stop dancing to, I definitely recommend it to anyone who has a taste for amazing music that will keep you dancing all night! <3 ◢◤
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True
True by Avicii (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews