Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A step up from the last album
I loved the first WL album and having seen their brilliant support slot for Muse at Wembley I was a little disappointed with the last album. It wasn't a bad album by any means but didn't quite have the hooks ever-present on To Lose My Life. However this album represents a return to the song-writing quality of the first album and the songs feel less forced than on Ritual...
Published 7 months ago by M. Brown

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult 3rd album
I awaited the release of BIG TV with great trepidation having loved the superb (5 star) releases of 'To Lose My Life...' and 'Ritual', but this is a disappointment. It's not bad, just average and a bit samey. It needed a bit more of a kick. Admittedly they have set the bar high, but nonetheless, disappointing.
Published 7 months ago by B. J. Farmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult 3rd album, 15 Sep 2013
By 
B. J. Farmer (Rugby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BIG TV (MP3 Download)
I awaited the release of BIG TV with great trepidation having loved the superb (5 star) releases of 'To Lose My Life...' and 'Ritual', but this is a disappointment. It's not bad, just average and a bit samey. It needed a bit more of a kick. Admittedly they have set the bar high, but nonetheless, disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A step up from the last album, 3 Sep 2013
By 
M. Brown "The Deceiver" (Felixstowe, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BIG TV (Audio CD)
I loved the first WL album and having seen their brilliant support slot for Muse at Wembley I was a little disappointed with the last album. It wasn't a bad album by any means but didn't quite have the hooks ever-present on To Lose My Life. However this album represents a return to the song-writing quality of the first album and the songs feel less forced than on Ritual. Hopefully WL will be around for some time to come as there a very few bands around at present writing songs of such stadium-filling quality and with three very good albums in their canon they should have built up the sort of fan-base they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BIG Sound - no surprises, 12 Aug 2013
By 
Adam Finn (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BIG TV (Audio CD)
'BIG TV' is the third studio album by indie-Rock band White Lies.

'BIG TV' follows the story of two young lovers as they make an aspirational move to a big city. Whilst this consistently strong album could be their best record yet, there remains nothing particularly different about 'BIG TV' - if anything it may flirt with the more melodious side but it is unquestionably White Lies.

You can hear the collective sigh of relief on the opening track 'Big TV' that towers above the rest of the album - taking nothing away from the balance of the record, this epic title track reaches heights that none of the other tracks quite approach; this is perhaps made even sweeter following the resounding failure of a rival post-punk revivalists recent love-infused offering. Singles 'There Goes Our Love Again' and 'Getting Even' are equally epic and although the album is filled up with a couple of needless 'space' interludes the majority of the record oozes class. There is a direct simplicity to this album that remains simultaneously epic and harmonious. Harry McVeigh's baritone voice cascades high above.

This will not disappoint their followers. Comparisons to Echo & The Bunnymen, Joy Division and Interpol pleasingly persist.

Listen to: 'Big TV', 'Be Your Man', 'Goldmine'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably their most consistent album, 12 Aug 2013
By 
D. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BIG TV (Audio CD)
Had a few listens to Big TV, the third album from White Lies and can gladly report its up to the same standard as the first 2 in fact I would say its an improvement as there is little filler unlike the first 2 albums as good as they were. Dont expect a change of direction as this really is more of the same but hey i am happy with that and I can safely say if you are already a fan you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best album yet, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BIG TV (Audio CD)
ths is one of my favourite albums ever. White Lies albums keep getting better with every new one. similar style to the two previous albums, but they have evolved to have more going on in the songs, many layers of musical styles and arrangement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BIG TV (Audio CD)
Distinctly White Lies. Hangs together as an album with good progression through the tracks. Tracks 4 and 6 stand out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very White Lies Sounding, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BIG TV (MP3 Download)
another great album from these guy's. Loved the songs more after hearing them live. An extra song or two would have been nice thoughto make it last a little bit longer. great cd for in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best White Lies album, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BIG TV (Audio CD)
After their really good debut and a decent, but slightly underwhelming follow-up, White Lies release their third album which turns out to be their most melodic and atmospheric creation. Yes, these songs really are so huge there is no stadium that could hold them. But it's hard not to like them. They don't sound fake, at least to me. And moreover, the whole album maintains a good, if not very good, overall level. But it's definitely not for the die-hard fans of innovation, breaking of genre boundaries, experimentation and so on. It's very nostalgic, both in terms of its mood and its essence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars sounds the same as the last one., 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BIG TV (Audio CD)
This sounds the same as the last one there are some good tracks on here when you have heard one you have heard them all.
i am disappointed in this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all good sounds, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: BIG TV (Audio CD)
White lies seem to get better and better delivering more great songs I love this album . Im a big white lies and to all the other fans u need to have this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

BIG TV
BIG TV by White Lies
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews