Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way better than expected.
I got into TATE as most people did, on the back of their first album which had some absolute classic songs intertwined with slower ballads.

All at once was a initially bit of a let down, BUT that was only because i expected it to be a replica of the first. Its not. And on its own terms it turned out to be a grower.

Now onto Such Hot Blood. This album...
Published 9 months ago by MICHAEL MCLAREN

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step backwards
Since I first heard the song "Innocence" some years ago I've been a fan of this band, praising them to friends and those who would listen, collecting their albums and loving their live shows. From their self-titled debut they've improved with each release, and their second "proper" album (not counting their superb "All I Ever Wanted" live album) "All At Once" was...
Published 9 months ago by Peter Lee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way better than expected., 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Such Hot Blood (MP3 Download)
I got into TATE as most people did, on the back of their first album which had some absolute classic songs intertwined with slower ballads.

All at once was a initially bit of a let down, BUT that was only because i expected it to be a replica of the first. Its not. And on its own terms it turned out to be a grower.

Now onto Such Hot Blood. This album is definitely worth a few listens before you make a judgement. It has a very mature sound and reminds me a lot of Interpol which is no bad thing. Lyrically i would give it 5 stars, the melodies are worked seamlessly into the rest of the music and it works very very well.

I saw them live a couple of nights ago in the garage in Glasgow, now i have been to a lot of gigs and i can say in all honestly this one was in my top 3, so much energy from everyone. Mikel Jollett put so much into it, he is an amazing frontman. Anna was so good on the violin and keyboard along with performing a lot lyrically. Noah playing bass along with turns on the guitar, infact everyone played a different instrument at times. So much talent all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw them perform some of the tracks live before purchasing which was an amazing gig. Immediately likeable album which also grows on one. If you like the first two albums you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab as always, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Essex Girl (Essex (yes, really)) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Such Hot Blood (Audio CD)
Another excellent album from TATE. I suppose my only gripe would be that there are too many love songs (of various kinds) but the overall sound is wonderful. Since I am not very musical, I can't analyse the album as some reviewers do but, for what it's worth, I love listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long wait here in Europe but well worth it., 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have seen this band about 6 times now and have listened to their first two albums over and over. This album didn't disappoint either. The second half is thoughtful and melodic, with Mikel's distinctive voice and Anna's violin leaving a lasting impression. The first half is vintage TATE. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step backwards, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since I first heard the song "Innocence" some years ago I've been a fan of this band, praising them to friends and those who would listen, collecting their albums and loving their live shows. From their self-titled debut they've improved with each release, and their second "proper" album (not counting their superb "All I Ever Wanted" live album) "All At Once" was excellent from start to finish, a fantastic collection of songs that I feel compelled to replay as soon as it has finished.

"Such Hot Blood" appeared in the US some months ago, but for some reason we've had to wait to hear it over here. I avoided online preview clips and live performances on YouTube, wanting to listen to the album as a whole, booklet in hand, reading Mikel Jollett's lyrics as the record played. When the album finally arrived I could scarcely wait to play it.

Regrettably, the album is lacking something - a fire in its belly, a certain drive, a spark... something. It's a perfectly fine collection of songs but none of them really stand out, and when I've played the album from start to finish (several times now) it becomes a little boring part way through, the tracks all sounding quite samey, lacking the variation in style of their previous albums, some tracks outstaying their welcome a little.

Unlike the other records I can't point to any tracks as being favourites. "Elizabeth" is OK, "Safe" is quite good, but none of them really kicked me in the guts and made me want to jump around like "Innocence", "All I Ever Wanted", "All At Once", "Half Of Something Else", and the remarkable "Sometime Around Midnight" did in the past. It's not a bad album, but the band can do so much better than this. A disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
By 
I. Elliott (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent album. Favourite track has to be Elizabeth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Slice of Brilliance, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Such Hot Blood (Audio CD)
Whilst its doubtful TATE will ever reach the majestic heights of their debut album, this third album is arguably as good as if not better than their last offering All At Once. Stand out tracks include the wonderfully melodic Timeless, True Love, Safe, This is London & the pure epic bliss of The Fifth Day. TATE are quite possibly the most innovative and creative band on the planet right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TATE, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent CD and worth the wait, a great follow up to their last release. Great live too. an awesome band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT CD BY THE AIRBORNE TOXIC EVENT, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT CD 11 GREAT TRACKS BY THE GREAT BAND THE AIRBORNE TOXIC EVENT CATCH THEM LIVE !!! YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPPOINTED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such AGood Band, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album from a great band, deserve to be as big as The Killers but kind of glad they're not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Such Hot Blood
Such Hot Blood by The Airborne Toxic Event
Buy MP3 Album6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews