Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Original, and very Human Canadian Film
Margarita is a Nanny to a high flying couple with a fourteen year old daughter. She has been with them a number of years and seems to do everything for them as well as being the daughter's best friend, teacher and confidante. She is also a lesbian and has a girlfriend who seems to want to keep her at arms length outside of their physical relationship. Well the couple Ben...
Published 11 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
pleasant.
Published 4 months ago by Antigone


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Original, and very Human Canadian Film, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Margarita [DVD] (DVD)
Margarita is a Nanny to a high flying couple with a fourteen year old daughter. She has been with them a number of years and seems to do everything for them as well as being the daughter's best friend, teacher and confidante. She is also a lesbian and has a girlfriend who seems to want to keep her at arms length outside of their physical relationship. Well the couple Ben and Gail have had a run of bad luck in the cash flow department. A string of bad investments and bad career choices has left them financially embarrassed.

Well they have to make cutbacks and so they have to think the unthinkable and `let Margarita go'. Margarita, meanwhile, has spotted the slide in their fortunes and has been doing economy measures for some time, as well as fixing computers, mending the gutter, clearing the drive and servicing the hot tub - she is also drop dead gorgeous. Well once they have told her that she has to go the consequences for everyone become very apparent, very quick - and that's when they find out she is also an illegal immigrant.

This is just a wonderful film, Nicola Correia Damude ('Havana 57') as Margarita is sensational but a special word has to be said for Patrick McKenna as Ben who is marvellous, funny, and an all round entertainer who you can't help feeling sorry for him even when he is trying to fire Margarita. Everyone is great in this and the direction is excellent from Dominique Cardona and Laurie Colbert they worked together before on `Finn's Girl' so they knew they could deliver and deliver they have in absolute spades. One of the best films I have seen for ages and I can not recommend highly enough - a comedy with social comment and a bucket of human emotion and it's Canadian - what is not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll watch it again, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margarita [DVD] (DVD)
A very enjoyable film, good acting for a change unlike many LGBT films. Storyline was realistic and portrayed well by 'Margarita', not overly sexed up which would have ruined the seriousness of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margarita [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked this film it has a rather simple but very heart warming story, with a nice vein of comedy running throughout - not a Hollywood production but a little Canadian gem that has a great cast of characters that really seem to jell on screen. While the image quality of the DVD is also of a high standard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Margarita gets a happy ending., 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margarita [DVD] (DVD)
It is a sweet film, and i was rooting for her to get her happy end. She did so i am happy. My problem was that my enjoyment was spoiled by the dvd sticking in the last minute of the film, aaarrggh. I returned the dvd and got a replacement, only for the new one to do the same thing. So to watch quite a nice film you have to fiddle about re-setting, messing with the chapters and rewinding from the credits, just to be able to watch the last minute. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margarita [DVD] (DVD)
pleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Margareta, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Margarita [DVD] (DVD)
so so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Margarita [DVD]
Margarita [DVD] by Laurie Colbert (DVD - 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews