Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (77)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Dark Nightmare
If you don't get too distracted by the film's violence which in some parts is extreme but never overdone and always seems to be necessary you'll uncover the film's true heart in which people are flawed, where in the real world there are no good guys and bad guys it's not that simple, everyone has their demons. The film itself looks beautiful bathed in neon pinks and reds...
Published 4 months ago by Jame3 B

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: know what you're getting before you watch this
`Only God Forgives' is one of those `Marmite films.' Basically, you'll either love it or hate it. I daresay there are few with feelings in between those two ends of the scale.

Some will say that it's a beautiful, arty masterpiece. Others will simply label it dull and boring. Basically, it's both and neither. How you perceive it will largely depend on how...
Published 7 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Dark Nightmare, 16 Mar 2014
If you don't get too distracted by the film's violence which in some parts is extreme but never overdone and always seems to be necessary you'll uncover the film's true heart in which people are flawed, where in the real world there are no good guys and bad guys it's not that simple, everyone has their demons. The film itself looks beautiful bathed in neon pinks and reds really suits the film's atmosphere also the music is perfect adding to the beauty of the film (Cliff Martinez) The acting is very good all round Ryan Gosling is a great talent with incredible screen presents. Kristin Scott Thomas is truly terrifying and Vithaya Pansringarm plays the best psychopath since Anton Chigurh (No Country For Old Men) Basically this is a character study of flawed human beings thinking they're doing the right thing. I know a lot of people will hate this film but that just makes me love it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: know what you're getting before you watch this, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Only God Forgives [DVD] (DVD)
`Only God Forgives' is one of those `Marmite films.' Basically, you'll either love it or hate it. I daresay there are few with feelings in between those two ends of the scale.

Some will say that it's a beautiful, arty masterpiece. Others will simply label it dull and boring. Basically, it's both and neither. How you perceive it will largely depend on how much you like these types of films.

It's billed as a `revenge thriller.' That may not sit well with some people as they may feel a bit mislead. If `revenge thriller' makes you think of plenty of action and fast-paced car chases, you are severely far from the mark. Yes, it's about revenge, but it's more of an `art-piece' than an all-out action thriller.

The scenes are slow, filled with painstakingly long shots of characters as the camera pans backwards. Every shot has been crafted to perfection, primarily utilising colours and lighting, over snappy dialogue. Plus, if you're watching it for the film's leading man, Ryan Gosling, you may need to know that in the ninety minutes the film runs for, he only has about twenty-two lines to say.

Basically, don't expect action and thrills (even though it's labelled a `thriller'), expect violent art and understated performances. If you can live with that, you'll love it. If that doesn't sound like your ideal way to spend an hour and a half then it's probably best to steer well clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only God Forgives [DVD] (DVD)
Generally, I do not like Ryan Gosling's acting style or movie subject matter.
This one is different. The script setting is something of a niche location - bordello or whore-house - especially for those of us who have walked the dark-side when abroad on the sea of life in the Orient.
The script, acting, location and human essence of this film I found excellent.
For those who have not travelled or plumbed the depths of despots they may find this film bizarre. The storyline is bizarre with a twisted sense of decency which counterpoints the whole shebang.
I loved it and found it real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars um interesting but tried to hard, 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Only God Forgives (Blu-ray)
The film is interesting to a point. The characters are hard to relate with and their stories hard to follow as there is a lot of flashbacks and slow moving scenes. The story is a bit flat and the script has not got many words. I wouldnt recommend this film to watch unless you have a patient mind and like flat films x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films in recent years, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. A. Nash (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Only God Forgives' seems to have received very mixed reviews since it's release and I believe one of those reasons is how it was marketed.

the original marketing material painted the film as a revenge thriller that revolved around Ryan Gosling's character who ran a gym. It would have been easy to believe that the movie would be a violent action packed thriller with the brutality of the director's previous film 'Drive'.

This way of thinking really does 'Only God Forgives' no justice at all.

What we have is a powerful character study that is as achingly beautiful as it is stunningly emotional. Many have comment that there isn't much dialogue, but this is why the film works on a far greater level then almost all other films made in recent years. It knows when to show and not tell, which is arguably what film is meant to do.

Every shot in the film could be a photograph and every note of music is as perfect as scores can be. The main `fight' in the film is so beautiful that it really feels like a dance between two different generations, both believing that they are doing what is right.

For me this film is as close to perfect as cinema can be and I truly believe that it is a film that should be experienced.

I understand that many will not agree with me, but for all those that don't I'm hoping that an equal number will. This film may not be as action packed as their previous film 'drive' but in my view it is a far more accomplished piece of cinematic genius....

I truly love this film and cannot truly express how stunning an achievement it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 13 Dec 2013
This review is from: Only God Forgives [DVD] (DVD)
I like all of Nicolas Winding Refn's films so far apart from this one. I was expecting something better. But the characters here are all totally unlikable and so I couldn't really give a monkeys what happened to any of them. It is a weak storyline too which is underscored with lots of 'moody' silences and lingering camera shots - all to mask the lack of actual substance and intelligent dialouge, presumably. A little bit of style over substance at work here, I fear, so a generous 2 stars for this film when really I'd like to give it 1.5 stars. Still, lets hope his next one sees a return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not "Drive 2" then?, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Until now, what really interested me about director Nicolas Winding Refn was that there was little or no stylistic similarity between his films at all: Valhalla Rising [DVD] (weird/Scottish), Bronson [DVD] (gritty/heavy going) and Drive [DVD] (Hollywood, glossy). I believe he also once directed an episode of ITV's Miss Marple?

Stylistic differences aside, Refn's movies of course do all have one thing in common: violence (well, perhaps not, in Miss Marple).

"Only God Forgives" seems to draw together the threads of the director's previous films and therefore is, all at once, weird (and, BTW, still with a Scottish character), gritty, heavy going and Hollywood-glossy. That's not to say that he doesn't introduce anything new though. Like its forerunners, OGF too is violent. One might say ground-breakingly violent. Violent. Also, his films are refreshingly European in style. However, there's clunkiness about NWR's movies to date. He's not yet made his masterpiece and "Only God Forgives" (still) isn't it. His work puts me in mind simultaneously of David Lynch, Michael Mann, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Stanley Kubrick and Ken Loach. Refn isn't, yet, as technically proficient as these aforementioned great directors - far from it, he frequently verges on pretentiousness. As other Amazon reviewers have hinted, this DVD is not for everyone. Yet, he is a master cinematographer and his work brings something new to the art of film-making. Having watched this I was excited than ever for his mooted remake of Logan's Run [DVD] [1976], only to read that it has been postponed. Pity - as that at least has the potential to be Nicolas Winding Refn's masterpiece.

Anyway, "Only God Forgives" was, for me, a compelling watch if ultimately slightly unsatisfying. Not "Drive 2", not Miss Marple, either but Refn is one to look out for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
F. Muscroft "Fran" (Derbyshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only God Forgives [DVD] (DVD)
Anything this man does is ok with me. Magnetic as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Only God Forgives (DVD)
Cliche after cliche. Such a good cast and director, very diappointing. But it looked stunning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars As said elsewhere this sucker is misrepresented, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Only God Forgives [DVD] (DVD)
As said elsewhere this sucker is mislabeled
Its attempting to be arty but is over cooked with the long meaningful silences and sudden scene jumps. Not that the plot made much sense anyway. God knows how it was sold to the principal actors to sign up for it. At times the actors were posed like a 'still life' plenty of not speaking. silent over the top 'cool' I thought at one point the plot was hinting that the characters were communicating via telepathy. I found it pretentious. In fact surprised its not in black and white.
Having slagged it off at least it different and worthy of a three+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only God Forgives [DVD]
Only God Forgives [DVD] by Nicolas Winding Refn (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews