Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (113)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films in recent years
'Only God Forgives' seems to have received very mixed reviews since it's release and I believe one of those reasons is how it was marketed.

the original marketing material painted the film as a revenge thriller that revolved around Ryan Gosling's character who ran a gym. It would have been easy to believe that the movie would be a violent action packed thriller...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. A. Nash

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'D LIKE YOU TO MEET MY MOTHER
There is nothing like an oddball Thai noir film with Ryan Gosling. Ryan runs a fight club in Thailand. His older brother Billy kills a prostitute. Billy in turn is kill by the father of the dead girl, assisted by a vigilante cop (Vithaya Pansringarm). Ryan realizes his brother was no saint and doesn't enact revenge and then the over the top drug dealing potty mouthed mom...
Published 20 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'D LIKE YOU TO MEET MY MOTHER, 31 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
There is nothing like an oddball Thai noir film with Ryan Gosling. Ryan runs a fight club in Thailand. His older brother Billy kills a prostitute. Billy in turn is kill by the father of the dead girl, assisted by a vigilante cop (Vithaya Pansringarm). Ryan realizes his brother was no saint and doesn't enact revenge and then the over the top drug dealing potty mouthed mom (Kristin Scott Thomas) shows up to makes things worse.

The main problem with this film is that Ryan's character was never developed, or developed to the point you cared about him. It was a bad role. The drug dealing, while discussed wasn't really part of the plot other than background material. The background of Billy, was told to us as was many plot points that didn't mesh well into an enjoyable tale. Kristin Scott Thomas' character carried the film for what it was worth.

This film is clearly not for everyone and I give three stars for its uniqueness and potential, not the entertainment value.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, N-word. No nudity (unless you count art). No sex. Adult themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films in recent years, 1 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. A. Nash (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Only God Forgives' seems to have received very mixed reviews since it's release and I believe one of those reasons is how it was marketed.

the original marketing material painted the film as a revenge thriller that revolved around Ryan Gosling's character who ran a gym. It would have been easy to believe that the movie would be a violent action packed thriller with the brutality of the director's previous film 'Drive'.

This way of thinking really does 'Only God Forgives' no justice at all.

What we have is a powerful character study that is as achingly beautiful as it is stunningly emotional. Many have comment that there isn't much dialogue, but this is why the film works on a far greater level then almost all other films made in recent years. It knows when to show and not tell, which is arguably what film is meant to do.

Every shot in the film could be a photograph and every note of music is as perfect as scores can be. The main `fight' in the film is so beautiful that it really feels like a dance between two different generations, both believing that they are doing what is right.

For me this film is as close to perfect as cinema can be and I truly believe that it is a film that should be experienced.

I understand that many will not agree with me, but for all those that don't I'm hoping that an equal number will. This film may not be as action packed as their previous film 'drive' but in my view it is a far more accomplished piece of cinematic genius....

I truly love this film and cannot truly express how stunning an achievement it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning: know what you're getting before you watch this, 4 Dec. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Only God Forgives [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
`Only God Forgives' is one of those `Marmite films.' Basically, you'll either love it or hate it. I daresay there are few with feelings in between those two ends of the scale.

Some will say that it's a beautiful, arty masterpiece. Others will simply label it dull and boring. Basically, it's both and neither. How you perceive it will largely depend on how much you like these types of films.

It's billed as a `revenge thriller.' That may not sit well with some people as they may feel a bit mislead. If `revenge thriller' makes you think of plenty of action and fast-paced car chases, you are severely far from the mark. Yes, it's about revenge, but it's more of an `art-piece' than an all-out action thriller.

The scenes are slow, filled with painstakingly long shots of characters as the camera pans backwards. Every shot has been crafted to perfection, primarily utilising colours and lighting, over snappy dialogue. Plus, if you're watching it for the film's leading man, Ryan Gosling, you may need to know that in the ninety minutes the film runs for, he only has about twenty-two lines to say.

Basically, don't expect action and thrills (even though it's labelled a `thriller'), expect violent art and understated performances. If you can live with that, you'll love it. If that doesn't sound like your ideal way to spend an hour and a half then it's probably best to steer well clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Only God Forgives (DVD)
Cliche after cliche. Such a good cast and director, very diappointing. But it looked stunning
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm all for diversity in film making, every film doesnt have to be a straight forward, blood guts and action fest.

But this is just poor, I'm a fan of Ryan Gosling but don't rate this film at all. The storyline/setting has so much potential, but this film is forgetful.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Sub-Lynchian bore fest, 26 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only God Forgives [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Why didn't I take notice of the other reviews!!
It's not that I don't like films like Santa Sangre or Eraserhead, but this is slow, pretentious and just indredibly dull.
One for the car boot sale I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 13 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Only God Forgives [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I like all of Nicolas Winding Refn's films so far apart from this one. I was expecting something better. But the characters here are all totally unlikable and so I couldn't really give a monkeys what happened to any of them. It is a weak storyline too which is underscored with lots of 'moody' silences and lingering camera shots - all to mask the lack of actual substance and intelligent dialouge, presumably. A little bit of style over substance at work here, I fear, so a generous 2 stars for this film when really I'd like to give it 1.5 stars. Still, lets hope his next one sees a return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Film about stuff and karaoke, 24 Mar. 2015
By 
D. Richards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first i wasn't sure how to rate this film but it has an older asian gentleman singing karaoke and some other things happen or something. Also Kristen Scott Thomas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "If Drive was a gram of coke, Only God Forgives is being on acid"., 13 Jan. 2014
Unfortunately the quality if this spiritual successor is no way near that of Drive. The violence feels gratuitous, Gosling is wooden and has lost his psychotic charm and no characters have any depth. On the plus side Only God Forgives looks gorgeous with its colourful lighting and camera work and this is the closest good similarity with Drive. Overall disappointing but I'm sure some people will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ...Yes, but film critics don't!, 14 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Only God Forgives (DVD)
Absolute Garbage!
This film was a total let down. Weak plot, bad script, a complete waste of 90 mins which i'll never get back. I really wanted to enjoy this film but it was so disappointing. Gosling was fantastic in 'Drive' and gained acclaim in ' The Notebook' but after watching this film, i just felt bad for the guy. Not that I think this horrendous attempt at film will have any real impact on his future career, but it's put a real dampener on it.

**possible spoiler.. (if you're bothered to watch it)**

Lt. Chang/"The Angel of Vengeance" (the bad guy) attempts, on various occasions, to sing at the local Karaoke bar - this, the first time it happened, put a weird artsy type of interval into the building action of the film. But after the 2nd,.. 3rd.. time it just became really annoying and pointless.

Later in the film Julian (Ryan Gosling), who runs a Muay Thai club, calls Chang out (i was hoping for some kind of redemption to a dying/terrible film here - i wanted to, at least, see Gosling dealing out some damage to the bad guy) only to get absolutely pasted all over - his face ends up looking like a catchers mitt! - his poised stance on the DVD cover is totally misleading.

There are far too many other flaws to list..

Avoid this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only God Forgives [DVD] [2013]
Only God Forgives [DVD] [2013] by Nicolas Winding Refn (DVD - 2013)
£2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews