Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fantastic pop
like many i discovered the fantastic miss vickers on the brilliant single once however her debut album did not cut it apart from some truly amazing pop songs (Chasing You,You'll Never Get To Hevan & Remake Me & You) and after the slighly bonkers but amazing girls aloud meets 60s girl band on a sugar rush "My Wicked Heart" she left her label for a more...
Published 11 months ago by Ms. Isobel M. Mackenzie

versus
13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Curse of Lengthy Gaps Between Albums- Overall a decent album but not that special sadly
I Loved Diana's debut album. It was a really solid album that sold a healthy 500+ k in the UK. But after ONCE , she struggled to find a single that captured the public / radio which was a shame as the album had stellar tracks.
Her career has been frustrating to watch over the last few years. Like a lot of artists these days, she has suffered an unhealthily long gap...
Published 18 months ago by Fjireland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fantastic pop, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
like many i discovered the fantastic miss vickers on the brilliant single once however her debut album did not cut it apart from some truly amazing pop songs (Chasing You,You'll Never Get To Hevan & Remake Me & You) and after the slighly bonkers but amazing girls aloud meets 60s girl band on a sugar rush "My Wicked Heart" she left her label for a more "Indie" sound i was worried however this album is pure pop brilliance with a twist opening track "Music To Make Boys Cry" is a fanastic glittery electro-pop gem with amazing songwriting and a hint of sadness is brillant and next track "Cinderella" is pure dreamy electro-pop amazing-ness and "Lighting Strikes" also follows in the footsteps of those tracks with a fanatstic "Hey-na-na-na" hook! "Dead Heat" is a blippy addictive electro pop number next "Boy in Paris" is catcy quirky pure electro pop song however the orignal production wich was relased along time ago is much better than this the one feels slighly over produced however "Mad at Me" is a fansatic fizzing slighly bonkers electro pop number with amazing whizzie bits and as amazing sexy vocols from diania! "Smoke" is a generic dubstep song wich isnt very good however "Mr Postman" makes up for it with its fantastic 60's production "Better in French" is a fanastic disco style pop song with flirty lirycs and a brillaint vocol perfomance then closing track "Blame Game" is amazing and steels the show! with its amazing production wizzie bits and lyrics it is euphoric yet tinged with sadness and makes you want to cry and dance at the smae time. all in all "MTMTBC" is a perfect sparkley,euporic,energetic cutting edge pop album that will make you cry and dance at the same time and one not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars diana vickers, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
really enjoyable, cd songs great. If you enjoyed watching her on x factor you will enjoy her music. very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
Great pop album which didn't get the success it deserved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Curse of Lengthy Gaps Between Albums- Overall a decent album but not that special sadly, 17 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
I Loved Diana's debut album. It was a really solid album that sold a healthy 500+ k in the UK. But after ONCE , she struggled to find a single that captured the public / radio which was a shame as the album had stellar tracks.
Her career has been frustrating to watch over the last few years. Like a lot of artists these days, she has suffered an unhealthily long gap between this and her last album. But the music industry overall is really struggling to adapt to the constant changes. Diana would obviously have benefited from having her album out sooner. Labels just seem to be so nervy and reluctant to truly invest in artists now. Look at heavyweights like Celine Dion and Mariah Carey who both have delayed and delayed their albums. Rush releasing stuff that isn't right isn't good either but surely there is a happy medium.

A gap like this isn't good for many reasons. Diana initially said she wanted to get a second album out quickly. Her differences with RCA that led to her parting with them and the delay hasn't been good as she has spent so long shopping a new deal. Her profile has slipped hugely and she is now long forgotten by the public at large.

But the real problem here is that Diana hasn't delivered the amazingly good album that I would have hoped. Sure, it has its moments and it's good in places but it all feels very half heartedly put together.

Cinderella never was a lead single. It is catchy in parts but it just doesn't grab you like Once did.
The fact that she titled the album Music to Make Boys Cry and chose a track she gave away free nearly two years ago as her second single and the lead-in single to the album launch is very telling. The goods aren't totally here. I don't hear much difference between this version and the demo that was given free in 2011 and I don't think it is strong enough for single potential either.

I don't think the album works as a body of work . Diana described it as all 80's and stuff. Yes the first two tracks and tracks like Boy In Paris and Mad at Me sound very 80's-like but tracks like Dead Heat and Lightning Strikes sound very contemporary and have no 80's-esque elements in my opinion. It just doesn't all work. None of the tracks are seriously stand out to warrant single material. The stand out moment is the great Mad at Me. It is such a great song but I can't see radio taking to it. It actually sounds too 80's if that makes sense at all to work on radio right now.
Mr. Postman is god awful and wouldn't have made her debut album. Cheese personified me thinks.
The rest are fine and are fun but they kinda float over you.

I love Diana and her voice but I just think this album was a bit of a messed up project. It doesn't work or flow well. Single material is sorely absent . I also think her unique voice shines more away from the electronic dance music stuff. I'd love to see more live instrument based music from her to be honest. I heard she was working with John Shanks and some of the early material from this album's making (Colours etc) kinda suggested she was going in that direction. She left RCA because they were pushing her to make poppy music and she didn't want to but it kinda feels she left them, then made the sort of album they were looking for . Perplexing

I don't mean to be scathing but I am disappointed. Her voice shines through on the acoustic tracks on the deluxe edition. This pseudo 80's dance stuff just hasn't come off as well as I would have hoped and I feel she kind of is struggling to find her niche and identity. Still a decent enough album - just nothing really special to me sadly and I cant see it getting much public attention. The material is fine but nothing to get excited about and that is sad because I feel she should be far more successful than she has been .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana with a very unmistakeable voice, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
I just loved he on x factor and wanted her to win she has that unmistakeable voice you know it is her singing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
Excellent second album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all the girls, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
I like this artist,she looks good and sings with a freshly different voice.Theres a few tracks on here i,m nuts on but there all good. Glad i,ve got this album one for all the girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 6 April 2014
By 
S. Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
"It's okay" is the Amazon description of 3 stars, and accurate for this.

Frankly, you should just read Fjireland's "The Curse of Lengthy Gaps..." review which pretty much captures it, particularly the closing comment

"...fine but nothing to get excited about and that is sad because I feel she should be far more successful than she has been"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars But not this boy!, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
Yes, loved Diana's debut, saw her perform live and saw her in the West End in 'Little Voice'. It looks like here acting career is taking off.....and this might be the way forward for her. Have listened to this CD 3 or 4 times and will come back to it but....perhaps it's too far removed from me? Don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music To Make Boys Cry (Audio CD)
Love it I only hope a
L vouchers fans buy it, it's a really good cd good songs and vickers incredible voice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music To Make Boys Cry
Music To Make Boys Cry by Diana Vickers (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews