Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big performance, huge concert sound, articulate camera work and editing
I was privileged to be among the 20 or so true few at the only Brisbane screening of "Morrissey 25:Live". Anyone else who was also at the December 2012 show at the Brisbane Convention Centre would know that they will love this - having the best seat for all angles of the band, stage and house, with perfect huge concert sound, intensely detailed and articulate camera work...
Published 11 months ago by John Frame

versus
5 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bellend
I wouldn't watch this pretentious pontificating bellend even if I was paid to. The sycophantic acolytes of this misanthropic gobshite seem to think he is some sort of genius. All hot air I'm afraid guys. Get it out of your mind by flushing your own head down the toilet. I can't give zero so 1 star it is.
Published 7 months ago by Doc Savage


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big performance, huge concert sound, articulate camera work and editing, 26 Aug 2013
By 
John Frame "There Is No Substitute For Equality" (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was privileged to be among the 20 or so true few at the only Brisbane screening of "Morrissey 25:Live". Anyone else who was also at the December 2012 show at the Brisbane Convention Centre would know that they will love this - having the best seat for all angles of the band, stage and house, with perfect huge concert sound, intensely detailed and articulate camera work and award winning editing. We get up close and personal with Morrissey and his band - and feel welcomed to join in with his enthusiastic diehard fans (of all ages, genders, and cultures).

In the closing credits a punter predicts that in 20 years time people will say "I saw Morrissey" with the same intense reverence as those who can say that they saw Elvis Presley. The trailer doesn't do the film justice really - but the big screen certainly did (the quality of this film is superb). I was happy to order the Blu-ray before seeing the film, and I'm looking forward to seeing it again, along with all the extras - which are: "Studio In Session: (1) The Kid's A Looker (2) Scandinavia (3) Action Is My Middle Name (4) People Are The Same Everywhere / Behind The Scenes At Hollywood High / Grissle Bandage Present Lord Mudslide"

My sincere praise and gratitude to all the artisans and producers involved in realising such a state of the art recording of the phenomenon which is Morrissey. There's a highly emotional moment in the encore worth the shedding of tears.

BTW: The initial June 2013 word on this film was that it was recorded in 3D, and was likely to be screened in 3D at some iMax cinemas - but there's been no mention of a 3D release since then. The 2D version is perfect, but if a Blu-ray 3D edition ever happened to be released I'd still buy it - however I could easily believe that an executive decision may have been made that the 2D version was superior anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stars smile shyly down, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This concert works really well because it is an intimate gig, undiluted by casual passerbys or oversized venue. Morrissey's voice, form, and mood are in pristine condition as he powerhouses through a diverse and eclectic set list that rummages through tracks from Arsenal, Meat, Quarry, Drag, Malady Just, Hate, Vauxhall, Tormentors, among others. He presents the old familiars in a new light, slight changes making some old songs sound newly born. His cover of 'to give is the reason I live' is a high point, but really the whole concert is gripping from start to finish.
The only low points are the ghouls who pour out their inanities when Moz presents them with a mike. Julia sounds vacant. The running time is the usual just under 90 mins, so it is a pity Moz didn't staple on three or four more songs at the end to round out. The bonus features are ok but only a revelation to those bereft of the Internet. The Russell Bland cling-on isn't a bonus. These low points are blasted into insignificance by the sheer quality of the main feature.
The visual quality is spot on although I do wish the director had directed the camera operators to focus more on Morrissey. After all it is him we want to see. Everything and everyone else is background scenery.
This concert reminded me of Moz at Glasgow Barrowlands during his 'wilderness' years, where he pulled out all the stops to give us a truly memorable night. I think he sings best at smaller venues like Barrowlands and Hollywood High.
I loved this blu ray. It arrived in the same package as his autobiography came in, and neither disappoint. P.s. keep an ear open for 'asleep' which is not mentioned in the track listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love It, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Excellent blu-ray. A must have purchase for any fan of the Smiths/Morrissey. The sound & picture exceptional. as is the concert itself. Mozza is a legend, & has been part of my life since since the early Smiths days. Its really nice to see a modern concert in all its blu-ray glory. long live Morrissey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revealing insight into Morrissey's Latino fanbase, 1 Feb 2014
By 
JOHN GREEN (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent set, where Morrissey and the band give it everything, and which improves as it goes on. This is exactly what I would have expected from this highly professional artist. However, what I hadn't bargained for was the strength of Morrissey's Latino fanbase around Los Angeles, and so it was a bit disconcerting to see Latino kids old enough to be Morrissey's children, or even grandchildren in some cases, hurling themselves at the stage. Morrissey, while seeming somewhat outwardly embarrassed by these shows of devotion, nevertheless encourages them by shaking hands regularly with the front row, giving a few of them the microphone so that they can "thank him for being alive", etc. (really cringe-inducing), and even hoisting one youngster onto the stage and into his arms during the encore "The Boy with the Thorn in his Side" (there is no sense of impropriety though).

So where does this devotion to the middle-aged Mancunian come from? Apparently, according to the 'Mad about Morrissey' article in 'The Guardian' from several years ago, "Mexican-American culture is imbued with a devotion to "oldies" from the stage, screen and stereogram, and it would seem that Morrissey's similarity in stage persona to some Mexican pop stars means that he fits right in. His age and status as a Brit in exile also add weight to his popularity." I also think that the Latino youngsters identify with his 'outsider' lyrics, and they certainly seem to know all the lyrics to all the songs, even going back to The Smiths. Truly bizarre and fascinating.

I should add that there are also some fine extras on the DVD of Morrissey and the band with a highly impressed Tony Visconti (although the Russell Brand hero-worship snippet does not add anything, and is just annoying).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
good sound and quality and i enjoyed watching it been a while since i have seen him live must have for any morrissey fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey's back, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Good concert and a good choice of songs. I especially like the extra's allowing you to see Moz in the studio. All we need now is a new record deal so he can keep going and entertaining us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant concert., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
picture is so sharp.director did a great job on this.mozz and the band were on top form that night.excellent.crowd were very lively as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Excellent picture and sound quality. Product delivery was made on time. Thank you for the constant and up-to-date recommendation on relevant artist releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Morrissey is great!, 22 Jan 2014
By 
A. Soares (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I really enjoy Morrissey concerts. He can put on a great show and is very charismatic. The only problem with this dvs (and many concert dvds today) is that they camera doesn't stay on the subject long enough, I would prefer if there was a steady shot for 1 minute or so to capture his singing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mozz reste Le Mozz !, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As he said during the show : "i'm still alive" .
He confirmed that he is still the greatest singer of his generation. Who can compares ?
The tracklist is interesting, different that the previous dvd with some new material and old stuff rarely played (Alma matter)
The video is good and the sound fantactic, the balance between the instruments is successfull.
You can buy it without a doubt, this is not his Swan song !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
25 Live [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Morrissey (Blu-ray - 2013)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews