Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic instalment!
Fans of horror and gore won't be disappointed with this.

I saw this film at Frightfest last year and as a big fan of the first two, I thought it might be hard to top them. I was delighted to be proved wrong! I love my zombie films, and horror in general, so anyone with a like mind, I would strongly recommend to.

Be prepared for a lot of blood and...
Published 5 months ago by Elle48

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEEN THERE, DONE THAT - SERVING US EXACTLY THE SAME STORY CAN'T ELEVATE OUTPOST III OUT OF MEDIOCRITY.
THE MOVIE

1944 - the Eastern front: A Russian commando has just launched a successful raid on a Nazi convoy as they discover the Nazi's research project in an underground bunker: the Germans are creating an army of immortal zombie soldiers.
The Russian team is captured by Germans and taken inside the bunker where the Nazis also attempt some experiments on...
Published 25 days ago by Caligula II.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic instalment!, 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD] (DVD)
Fans of horror and gore won't be disappointed with this.

I saw this film at Frightfest last year and as a big fan of the first two, I thought it might be hard to top them. I was delighted to be proved wrong! I love my zombie films, and horror in general, so anyone with a like mind, I would strongly recommend to.

Be prepared for a lot of blood and gore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BEEN THERE, DONE THAT - SERVING US EXACTLY THE SAME STORY CAN'T ELEVATE OUTPOST III OUT OF MEDIOCRITY., 27 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD] (DVD)
THE MOVIE

1944 - the Eastern front: A Russian commando has just launched a successful raid on a Nazi convoy as they discover the Nazi's research project in an underground bunker: the Germans are creating an army of immortal zombie soldiers.
The Russian team is captured by Germans and taken inside the bunker where the Nazis also attempt some experiments on them. They manage to escape from holding, but must fight their way through German Wehrmacht soldiers AND zombies.

The third movie in the Outpost series is a prequel rather than a sequel, this time centering on Soviet soldiers.
The story was written by Rae Brunton who also wrote the stories to OUTPOST and OUTPOST 2 : BLACK SUN, which basically is only one story told three times with a different cast - kind of like the FRIDAY THE 13TH series - instead of an international group of mercenaries or a NATO taskforce it's a team of Russian Spetsnaz and instead of playing in the present, the story takes place in the past, but it remains exactly the same, which was a major disappointment to me, especially since he had nearly 7 years between the original and this 2 sequel. Brunton should have realized that he needed to come up with something new for part III.
The cover reads "sensationally gory", which I can't verify at all. While OUTPOST III: RISE OF THE SEPETSNAZ is a rather violent film, I cannot say it is as violent as most zombie movies out there. Hardcore gorehounds will be very disappointed.
The colors are incredibly washed out, especially inside the bunker the picture almost appears to be balck and white. This is no faulty disc, this is the way the movie was meant to be. As a result you are pretty much left in the dark and some of the gore effects are somewhat "dimmed".
The acting ranged from average and slightly annoying (Michael McKell as Strasser) to good (Bryan Larkin as Dolokhov and Ivan Kamaras as Fyodor) but overalls nothing to get overly excited about.
Given the fact that OUTPOST III has pretty much the same story as OUTPOST I & II, I cannot say that first time director Kieran Parker did a great here - average at best. Compared to Steve Barker's first OUTPOST part III just seems unoriginal and uninspired.

Better than the second entry in the series but still far away from the first. I suggest getting only OUTPOST 1 and ignoring the sequels completely. If you must, OUTPOST III is OK to watch and doesn't require you to see parts 1 or 2.
3.0 OUT OF 5.0 STARS

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2014 EOne UK DVD
Feature running time: 84 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1 / 16:9
Audio: English 5.1, English 2.0
Subtitles: English
Extras: Making of
Region: 2 (locked)

Picture: C-
Audio: B
Extras: F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of trilogy., 1 April 2014
This review is from: Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD] (DVD)
I awaited this release having been a huge fan of the original. Part 2 was less my thing but Rise of the Spetsnaz is the best in the series if for no other reason than the all out action. It's the kind of movie that knows exactly what it is and delivers on the guts, gore and guns. Very atmospheric and it never lags. The Russian lead character, Dolokhov, Bryan Larkin was a tank of a soldier and you get behind his fight till the end. It also fills in some gaps in the trilogy as this is a sequel. Mostly like a war movie with a few Zombies and twisted bad guy. Highly recommend .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 90 minutes of nazi zombie carnage!, 26 April 2014
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps the most reviled villain in modern history and cinema’s go-to bad guys, the Nazis, have enjoyed something of a renaissance in the horror genre recently. Hitler’s henchmen and their forays into horror don’t always yield the greatest of results, varying from the fantastic Dead Snow to The Asylum’s frustratingly comedic Bloodstorm. Naturally, this review is concerned with the third entry in the Outpost series, Outpost 3: Rise of the Spetsnaz.

Given that the first film and its follow up (Black Sun) were wildly different, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from OP3. What I got was effectively an action horror film that acts as a prequel to the events of the preceding movies. From the outset, the film doesn’t skimp on explosions, gore, death and horror, both of the war/action type and the zombie variety. Thankfully, the majority, if not all of the effects here are practical in nature, adding to the overall feel of the film and leading me to wince at some moments (I never have been able to sit passively during a throat-cutting scene!)

As can be seen from the front cover, Kieran Parker and his Outpost crew brought in a mountain of a man to assist with this film: the 6’5”, 300+lb MMA fighter James Thompson. Given the man’s pedigree, the fight scenes in OP3 are particularly well done and expertly choreographed by Carter Ferguson and at no point felt contrived or overly theatrical; lending a brutal and realistic aspect to the combat absent from many movies.

Ultimately, Rise of the Spetsnaz focuses on Dolokhov: a Russian special forces commander played by Bryan Larkin. For this role, Larkin apparently piled on 30-40lbs of muscle and seems to be channelling his inner Hugh Jackman here, complete with vest and gruff voice as he runs about the nazi bunker, despatching the enemy in fits of brutality.

As a counterpoint to the physicality of both Thompson and Larkin, Michael McKell plays Colonel Strasser, the man in charge of the experiments and an altogether more cerebral and sinister character than both actors named.

The film is not without its flaws. As with the second film, the zombies here are not the stealthy, sinister, supernatural creatures of the first. The zombies here are creations and seem to be the early stages of the experiment prior to its “success”. Again, OP3 differs from the first and lacks the suspense of the original. Also, there may be a degree of Larkin being too successful in his role, since I never particularly felt that he was ever in any real danger, since he despatched nearly all before him, whether it be Waffen-SS or unholy creation, with brutal ease. However, it’s nice to see a degree of continuity with the series in that Johnny Meres (The Breather/ Gotz) turns up!

Taking into account the film’s fight scenes and liberal amounts of gore, death and destruction, its 18 certificate here in the UK is well deserved and is refreshing to see, given that many genre movies these days will curtail their more graphic scenes in order to secure a lower rating and potentially bring in a greater audience.

It’s quite clear that there was a great degree of passion involved in this production from Kieran Parker in particular... and I’d be very surprised to find out that the Captain America reference is accidental! For me, Outpost 3: Rise of the Spetsnaz is a straight up, very much testosterone-driven action horror flick that is perfect entertainment for those looking for a blood-soaked and brutal hour and a half of nazi zombie carnage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looking Forward To The Release, 20 Mar 2014
This review is from: Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this at FrightFest and very liked it. Can't wait for the UK release, hope it is a good at home as it was on the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the first ambush scence is the amazing, 25 Dec 2013
By 
P. WRAY "sofghost" (Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved the action from start to finish, my favourite bits were right at the start, so wanted to see more halftrack action!, I was that hooked on all three I imported this one, and its the full gore version, uncut and English, a cult classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU ARE AFRAID OF WOLVES. DON'T GO INTO THE WOODS, 10 Nov 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD] (DVD)
In this episode the Red Guard encounter the remote location for the Nazi "Lazarus Project" where they create Nazi zombie soldiers. I have seen so many Nazi Zombie films, at one point I started to pull for them. The first half of the film is the capture and experimentation with the Russian (and one American) soldiers as victims for the Nazi body building zombies. The second half consists of the formulaic escape attempt.

The Nazi commander smokes his cigarette in a annoying cliche manner.

There are "humor" attempts. "Some call it a blasphemous type of alchemy. I call it messy work with lots of mistakes." The color during the prison segment was pretty well washed out apparently by design to give the film a dark and gloomy feel. I felt it just looked cheap.

While there are worse Nazi zombie films out there, this one didn't make the grade. Will work as a rental if you are a fan of the series.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outpost 3 another great film, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good film possible the best of the three so far. a prequill to the fist two you need to watch these first. I hope they make more. One zombie film with a story you want to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars crazy nazi's at it again, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another outpost outing, but set in WW2 with Russian Commandos taking on the zombie/monsters.
I enjoyed this film, if you like the past 2 and pulp nazi fiction (feels a bit like the castle wolfenstein games made into a film) you enjoy it too, so sit back with a beer and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie - though wait for the UK release before you buy it., 28 Jan 2014
This review is from: Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie though this is a heavily cut version of the film so do not buy it if you want to see the action and gore as intended - the 'black' edition in Germany is un-cut. If not hold out for the UK version in March 2014
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD]
Outpost III: Rise of the Spetsnaz [DVD] by Kieran Parker (DVD - 2014)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews