Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Story and Characters
The Imposter is a sequel to Mark Dawson's "Gaslight" and is the second in his "Soho Noir" series, I really liked "Gaslight", but this one takes storytelling to another level. It is not really necessary to read "Gaslight" first as this book stands alone and all the characters are fully explained.
The story is set in post-war London and revolves around Edward...
Published 25 days ago by Godiva 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Promised more than it delivered
I've enjoyed many of Mark Dawson's books, but this one missed the mark for me. It started well but I lost empathy with the lead character early on and then, quite frankly, stopped caring about him and the book was as good as over for me.
Published 6 months ago by Ian McGuire


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Story and Characters, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
The Imposter is a sequel to Mark Dawson's "Gaslight" and is the second in his "Soho Noir" series, I really liked "Gaslight", but this one takes storytelling to another level. It is not really necessary to read "Gaslight" first as this book stands alone and all the characters are fully explained.
The story is set in post-war London and revolves around Edward Fabian, who returns from the war, apparently a hero, and then struggles to make a living, this sets him up as a sympathetic character, and his getting the VC only makes him more of a hero to us. However in a very clever piece of writing his real character is revealed and we find out that he is really a totally amoral, narcissistic, manipulative psychopath. What is even cleverer is that despite these character flaws being revealed the reader still roots for him and wants him to succeed.

What makes this book so special is that the other characters are as well developed as Edward's, there is Joseph Costello and the rest of his family (first introduced in "Gaslight") who used to run the whole of the London Underworld and also the betting on the Southern racetracks, but they are under attack from a new gang run by Jack Spot. Another great character is Billy Stavropolous, who sees through Edward and is drawn in a suitably creepy and weasely manner, this creates a brilliant struggle.

There are plenty of twists and turn to the story, including a neat twist in the last couple of pages, which very neatly sets Joseph up for another book if Mark Dawson decides (Yes please!)

I heartily recommend this book and have awarded it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class period thriller., 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
A great follow up to The Black Mile. Hopefully more to come. Mark Dawson creates a very convincing atmosphere of post war London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal sequel, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
Mr Dawson has carried on almost seamlessly from " The Black Mile" the first of the Soho Noir series even though they are set a few years apart. The main characters Edward Fabian (Doc) and Joe Costello make for a super team, one with the brains and one with the muscle. Joe had a slight, (very), mention in The Black Mile, though his actions in that book led to a very sorrowful sub plot. Edward you just have to try and figure out who he really is and what he hopes to gain. Mr Dawson again incorporates some real characters from the time ie. Jack "The Hat" McVitie' who gained more notoriety later on in life with the help of The Krays and Jack Spot who "Mad" Frankie Fraser served seven years in prison for, for "cutting him up a bit" and they are not out of place or described in any way more than they were here. The end has a good twist that I never saw coming because I had Edward figured out wrongly, on a few times to be truthful, and leaves the author scope to carry the series on if he so wishes. There were a few mistakes ie. a corporal calling another corporal sir as in the demob scene, the V.C. getting mixed up with the Military Cross, which he couldn't be awarded because it is for officers only and part five having the wrong year at the beginning 1946 instead of 1947. Two other curiosities which someone may clear up. Would someone with a university education join the enlisted ranks and was King George VI ever called King Albert especially so long into his reign? Any way this is a cracking read and I would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good light reading material, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
Once I was into it I couldn't put it down. Good light reading material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. W. J. Sharpe (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
Very much enjoyed this book and have now ordered Black Mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Promised more than it delivered, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Ian McGuire (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
I've enjoyed many of Mark Dawson's books, but this one missed the mark for me. It started well but I lost empathy with the lead character early on and then, quite frankly, stopped caring about him and the book was as good as over for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an astonishing read..., 28 Mar 2014
By 
Chris Orrick "Chris" (Newcastle Upon Tyne, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
It is not very often that I rate a book 5 stars - however, I can't think of a single reason not to do so for this book.

Mark Dawson demonstrates his skill as an author in the way he masterfully crafts the characters of the book - which stand alone in their own right for this story, but for those of you that have read the prequel to this book (Gaslight - another excellent book) you can see how the author has really considered the complex change in characterisation given the additional years that have passed since the first book, especially for George - for without his brother now, he's a bit lost.

We are introduced to many new family members and see how the crime family actually hangs together through the quick thinking Violet and the brawn of George - but the family have other gangs interested in their 'businesses'.

The story hinges around a new entrant to the Costello family - Edward Fabien who was befriended by Jospeh Costello during the war. Fabien is not everything he seems to be, but the family don't know this and how he sets to work on them!! A real gem of a relationship comes in the form of Billy Stavropoulos and Edward Fabien. Stavropoulos, clearly less intelligent than Fabien, knows that something is not right - the author carefully creates a very contentious relationship between these two characters. Into the mix comes Joseph Costello, whose life long friend, Stavropoulos, is causing him some issues when Fabien comes onto the scene.

Overall I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this book - even though it took me a little longer than usual to read, the pace was such that I found myself right back in the thick of it quickly enough.

I would definitely recommend this book and of course the prequel (Gaslight).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, hard to put down., 20 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
I've just finished this book and it's up there with some of the best psychological thrillers that I have read. There's a gentle beginning as we get to know the characters - or at least the version that narrator lets us see - before we find that we have been misled and that there is plenty of misdirection going on. After a certain point, the suspense builds so much that you can't put the book down. Despite being morally dubious (to say the least) Dawson manages to elicit sympathy for the striving and grasping Edward Fabian, moving the novel on at a lightning pace and always tightening the tension. Fabian really is superbly drawn. The main supporting characters, Joseph Costello and his family, should be frightening in themselves but it is a mark of Fabian's brilliance that we quickly start to fear for them; they have bitten off much more than they can chew with him although they do not realise it. Seeing Fabian's scheme implemented and executed is a real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Imposter, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
Once again Dawson has told a gripping story, it has all the suspense and intreeg I have come to expect from his novels. I was held in suspence from beginning to end hardly being able to put it down and am looking forward to his next.
Grumpy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling read, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Imposter (Soho Noir Thrillers, #2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great novel. It focuses on the mind of one particular character and then really burrows inside it – that might not work for some novels but this one has such an interesting main character that it completely does. Edward Fabian is an insecure and demanding individual, prone to jealousy and envy, and blindingly smart. His journey towards the goal he has set for himself is a great read: the reader sees his gradual change from low-level crook to scheming murderer. He hides it beneath a veneer of respectability but it is clear that Edward is a psychopath. The people around him are just there to advance his wishes and, when they have done that, they can be thrown aside; everything must proceed to his plan, in the order he sets out; if he wants something, he takes it.

The other characters are very well drawn, from the dim but loyal Joseph to the Machiavellian Violet and the cunning Billy, but this is Edward’s show. It is a really fine book and the introduction to a superb character who I can’t wait to meet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews