Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Excellent
Very impressed with this realistically priced smartphone. Simple to set up (I did make sure that it took a standard SIM card first so that I could just swap over from my old "brick") and if any additional help was warranted a very detailed and free manual is available on the web.

The only minor niggle I have is with the "unnecesary"...
Published 3 months ago by poached27

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this item !!
This is not Genuine uk stock as advertised , comes direct from china ! Took over 3 weeks to arrive ....All instructions are in Chinese so no use unless you understand the language .
Mine came as a dual sim model , which was a bonus .....if you could actually manage to set up more than one sim!
When anybody rings in the phone shuts down ???
Unable to...
Published 12 months ago by DAVID JAMES


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy this item !!, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is not Genuine uk stock as advertised , comes direct from china ! Took over 3 weeks to arrive ....All instructions are in Chinese so no use unless you understand the language .
Mine came as a dual sim model , which was a bonus .....if you could actually manage to set up more than one sim!
When anybody rings in the phone shuts down ???
Unable to download picture messages or apps .....would not connect to internet .

Was I just unlucky , or is there a problem with this phone ?

Returned for a full refund .....will see if they oblige and how long it takes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good phone let down by bugs, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Out of the box had nothing but trouble. Refused to charge. Briefly it would recognise the charger being connected, boot up, and then straight away shut down. After much searching on Google, it appeared to be an issue with the phone recognising the battery. I fixed it following the below:

Remove battery from phone > Plugin the charger (with back cover removed from phone) > Power up your phone > After intial boot screen insert the battery (3-5 seconds worked for me) > After boot it should show up red/amber indicator (not blinking - blinking light indicates charging issue) > Phone should be now charging again with solid light

Annoying in the extreme. Less patient people would have ended up smashing it to bits. Why should I have to "fix" an item that is brand new?

Now the phone seems to be working, I will keep it as I have a user who needs a phone urgently. Having managed to get it working, it seems to be a fairly decent Android handset let down perhaps by buggy software/shoddy quality control hence three stars instead of one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy this chinese rubbish, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
The phone is rubbish , i keep getting updates for chinese websites and chinese apps, it is complicated to sort out the phone contacts list and you cant give personal ring tones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not usable, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Cannot configure it to get emails so no internet either. Half of the writing is in Chinese, not a lot of help. Can only use it to make phone calls. I would not recommend this to anybody, even though it was rated highly on the gadget show because of the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Excellent, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Very impressed with this realistically priced smartphone. Simple to set up (I did make sure that it took a standard SIM card first so that I could just swap over from my old "brick") and if any additional help was warranted a very detailed and free manual is available on the web.

The only minor niggle I have is with the "unnecesary" pre-installed apps but I have moved these into folders well away from the screens I use most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars To begin with I was very pleased. However it has lasted less than 12 months ..., 30 Sept. 2014
By 
S C NEWCOMBE (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
To begin with I was very pleased. However it has lasted less than 12 months and is now well and truly Kaput. It has stopped charging and for weeks I was forced to hold the charger in at a certain angle to gain any juice. The best feature is the excellent camera. Apps ran reasonably well although it often took ages to get it to make a call. Overall a waste of money as I anticipated at least an 18 month time span.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
the one from hongkong was no good for the uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars learn Chinese before buying, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Huawei Ascend G510 SIM Free Smartphone - Black (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
When phone arrived well packed could not wait to use phone guess what all the instructions was in Chinese had to down load instructions in English still dont all of symbols dont buy from amazon if it comes from china
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews