Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited cd - but well worth it.
This album has been so long awaited by myself. Obviously with the terrible tragedy that happened to group with the loss of Trevor Grills and Paul their manager, the release date was delayed. But it is such a lasting tribute to the pair.
The songs are a mixture of both old and new, including a wonderful upbeat 'Mary Ann', on which Trevor sings the lead.
Its good...
Published 11 months ago by sally m

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising but slightly misses the mark
We love some of the tunes on this CD but others aren't as good. They are clearly capable of great numbers so we were slightly disappointed by the varying success of some of the song choices.
Published 10 months ago by Lucy Anne Harris


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited cd - but well worth it., 28 Aug 2013
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
This album has been so long awaited by myself. Obviously with the terrible tragedy that happened to group with the loss of Trevor Grills and Paul their manager, the release date was delayed. But it is such a lasting tribute to the pair.
The songs are a mixture of both old and new, including a wonderful upbeat 'Mary Ann', on which Trevor sings the lead.
Its good to hear Jason also take a lead on 'Sally Brown' and a brilliant job he does of it too.
Fishermans Friends have still not decided if and when they will perform again, but this cd will keep us true fans happy until that day. Well done boys. RIP Trevor & Paul x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album (tinged with more than a little sadness), 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
I really have enjoyed this album immensely, but have listened to it with more than a tear in my eye.

What a memorial to Trevor Grills this is - well worth waiting for it to be released, and the sleeve notes make it clear that this had to be issued. I'm so glad it was. I love the sound of this bunch clearly having fun, and the addition of the backings does nothing to detract from the recordings - though I think that purists would prefer to hear them acapella which is the way that they started off in Port Isaac. Personally, I feel that they come over just as well either way, and as such, I would recommend this new release (their second with the more "modern" approach) to anybody interested in music of this genre.

It is difficult to single out one track as being any better than the others, and each track is led by a different member of the group - which is a pretty good indication of the level of teamwork that goes to make the Fishermens' Friends the quality act that they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album!, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
When the Port Isaac guys introduce musical accompaniment to their songs,it adds another dimension to their songs.Although i've got some of the songs in accapella style,and cousin jack by show of hands.The songs on this album really heart warming and make you you feel like sitting,facing the liitle bay of Port Isaac. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great listening., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
This is a terrific CD with super songs and wonderful backing music. Hope they carry on singing despite the terrible tragedy that befell the group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CD to treasure!, 23 Sep 2013
By 
M. Chambers "'ampshire 'arf" (Petersfield Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
As always a very enjoyable CD from these competent singers. It is refreshing to hear people who can SING and annunciate the words correctly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
I absolutely loved their previous cd, but this one is, to me, even better if that is possible.
The tunes are catchy, and even without the printing of the words, the choruses are easy to learn. Mollymawk is beautiful and poignant, and John Kanaka is rousing and jolly. Living in Cornwall makes me proud of the "local lads" I cannot just play it once, but go back again and play it over again, then my favourites again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and varied collection of songs, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
Heartwarming songs in which the lyrics can actually be heard and understood with tunes that can be sung along to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fishermans Friends, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Susan Rushmer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
As usual a brilliant CD from the boys. One day will see them on the hard at Port Issac. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fishermans friends c.d, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
I bought this c.d to go with all the other c.ds the group have bought out before and i'm not dissapointed with it. Great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One and all, 23 Oct 2013
This review is from: One And All (Audio CD)
Well done another great album. Very much looking forward to hearing it live in the future I hope! Good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One And All
One And All by The Fisherman's Friends (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews