Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars All flesh is as grass - a human requiem
I have pondered five stars or four stars. I have listened often to this CD. I have passed through 'This is not right', to 'Is this right?' to 'This is right!' It certainly is one of the quickest performances of this work. It is not ponderous in any way. It is fleet-footed, nimble, lively and exciting. The MDR Leipzig Radio Choir are on familiar territory and acquit...
Published 10 days ago by Andrew C. Mitchell

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor recording of good performance
Marin Alsop opines that the German Requiem is not a dirge, and creates a lively and enjoyable interpretation.

The recording level on this production is unusually low, so that one has to turn the volume up quite a lot to hear it. Unfortunately, the sound quality is very poor, sounding extremely muffled. It is just about tolerable when played over loudspeakers,...
Published 7 months ago by DR D J Thomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars All flesh is as grass - a human requiem, 12 Dec 2014
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have pondered five stars or four stars. I have listened often to this CD. I have passed through 'This is not right', to 'Is this right?' to 'This is right!' It certainly is one of the quickest performances of this work. It is not ponderous in any way. It is fleet-footed, nimble, lively and exciting. The MDR Leipzig Radio Choir are on familiar territory and acquit themselves very well. The sopranos certainly have some lovely moments and there is excellent work among the tenors in their leads. Stephen Genz(baritone) does good work in the 3rd and 6th sections and Anna Lucia Richter (soprano) has astonishingly lovely tone in her singing of ' And ye now therefore have sorrow.' One of the tremendous advantages of the pace of this performance is that the lines and sense are preserved and the structure can be taken in. Moments in the initial and final sections can be referred to each other. To my mind, this very human kind of a requiem is what Brahms may have had in mind rather than somewhat weightier 'church type' pronouncements. One thing- I find myself singing over and meditating on the second section 'For all flesh is as grass.' Brahms wrote a fine work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor recording of good performance, 24 May 2014
By 
DR D J Thomas "Occhi di falco" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marin Alsop opines that the German Requiem is not a dirge, and creates a lively and enjoyable interpretation.

The recording level on this production is unusually low, so that one has to turn the volume up quite a lot to hear it. Unfortunately, the sound quality is very poor, sounding extremely muffled. It is just about tolerable when played over loudspeakers, but over headphones the technical problems really get in the way.

This is the first time I have bought a recording from Naxos, and I think it will be the last too. Not to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brahms made a wonderful selection from the bible to set to music, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspiring music. Brahms made a wonderful selection from the bible to set to music. He must be a believer in god
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent clear recording. Marin Alsop superb. CD arrived swiftly through the post . N o complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Marin Allsop [and have been conducted by her]. Musically this is a good interpretation. But unfortunately it is a very poor recording. I don't know the technical terms - it just seems very distant and I have to have the volume turned very high which just seems to make it flat. Not a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sublime music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A German Requiem, by Brahms. Conductor: Marin Alsop, 7 Aug 2013
By 
B. Cooper "barbara13153" (Seaton, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A superb performance of this Requiem - I loved it. It was also a very good price for such a new recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of 'A german Requiem', 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliantly conducted by Marin Alsop. This is a magnificent recording. I have played it repeatedly..I have already recommended it to a number of friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews