Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carries on from where 'Revelator' left off...
The track "Made up mind" carries on from where their last studio CD 'Revelator' left off - a swinging funky song with Susan belting out the vocals, Derek's wonderful slide guitar and the full band piling in behind them. "Do I look worried" is a more restrained song that slowly builds, with a great hook and some lovely guitar, were as "Idle wind" sounds like early Jethro...
Published 16 months ago by G. E. Harrison

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than the sum of its parts
As much as I love Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi and have listened to both for years, I find this album a bit of a let-down. This is a Susan Tedeschi Album with Derek Trucks playing on it. They are really just re-working the same formulas that they used before and IMHO it could have been a lot more. Would have been great to have some vocals other than Susan's. What about...
Published 16 months ago by J. Stewart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A slight change in direction, 29 Oct 2013
By 
John Callen (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
There's a bit more soul and jazz in this album which made me wonder for a couple of plays ... but a couple more and I just love this album and the band in all their styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Give Mike a chance Susan...., 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Another good album continuing on from Revelator with some really good songs and excellent guitar work as we've come to expect from Derek Trucks. Susan's voice is good for most of their songs but where is the excellent Mike Mattison's vocals? Some of these songs are crying out for his talent. By the end of the album I was beginning to resent Susan's monopoly of the vocals as her voice isn't as strong as someone thinks it is and some of the songs just need a man's tone to get the best out of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite voices!, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Susan Tedeschi has in my opinion one great voice. Ideal for the soul / bluesy sound of the band and compliments the excellent musicianship to perfection. First heard the band at the Clapton Crossroads Fest a couple of years back when they did Midnight in Harlem from the first album released a few months after the show. I think Made Up Mind is a better album than Revelator. Packs a bit more of a punch for me and better highlights Susans voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They managed to improve on brilliant, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
This album has even surpassed their last one. Susan Tedeschi is the best blues singer in town. It's so heavy is a brooding soul song that will have you hooked for more. Whiskey legs will g
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Treat yourself to one of this years stand out albums, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Everything you expect and more from a thoroughly professional group of talented artists. Derek Trucks is pure genius and vastly underrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album I've heard this year, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Just a great album. Real musicians. Real music and good tunes. The production is great as well. Mastering is quite good (not too loud) for a modern Cd. The best 2013 release this year so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Trucks & Tedeschi meet and we have blues meets the big band sound with a little bit of country thrown in for good measure. All the tracks on this album (CD) are exceptional there is some soulful singing 'Idle Wind' and more up-tempo tracks such as 'The Storm' and 'All that I need' but the best is the title track. This cd is very well produced and has been worth the wait. An exceptional cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, outstanding and unbeatable., 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
It's so rare these days to hear music that you know is going to stay relevant and meaningful for a very long time, but this is an album that will do both these things. The band's sound is utterly unique - they draw influences from soul, blues, rock and funk, without being enough to be classified in any one of those genres. Anyone whose heard them already will know what I mean.
This record is less upbeat than their debut, 'Revelator', and takes a much more laid back feel in my view. It makes for stunning listening, because when the band wants to crank it up, the difference is astonishing. Songs like 'Its So Heavy', 'Sweet and Low' and 'Calling Out to You' are so honest and beautiful - real standout tracks for being calm and truthful. In contrast, 'Made Up Mind' and 'All That I Need' are shining examples of TTB's ability to carry a killer groove through with swing and attitude. Every song on this record is notable for something and there are no fillers, just pure, joyful music.
Despite all of the members being hugely able musicians in their own right, no-one's playing is ever self indulgent; the song always comes first. As a result, the songs are memorable and meaningful, but all contain exceptional and controlled performances from all.
We all know that Derek's slide is legendary and Susan's voice is in a league of its own, and this album doesn't disappoint there either.

So, wonderful songs, stunning musicianship and a sound that is unique to this band, without sounding too similar to their earlier work. I can't recommend this enough and I know this music is going to play a large part in my life for a very long time - something that you really can't say often these days.
Do yourself a favour, you may not know it, but you need this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and low, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
The Trucks family keep on rolling, the second studio album by the band find them stretching away. For me the first album was a consolidation of the undoubted talents of the two main players and a bringing together of two extraordinary bands.
The second album find the band have fond their feet, all 11 band members take part in the making of the album, which, in the wrong hand could sound like a car crash of sound however not all 11 members take part in every song, and even when it's a larger band thankfully this band understand the `less is more' ethic, and space is given to develop the music.
The music is blues based with a soulful twist, the choice of singers is crucial to the sound of each song and it's just excellent. Highlights `Sweet and low' and the title track `Made up mind' this is on my short list for album of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth The Wait, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Gordon J. R. Chivers "GORDON J R" (Southampton uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
An album of completely new songs, no covers on "Made Up Mind", unusual because they do them so well.
This offering is up there with their best. if not the best so far.
I have all of the Derek Trucks Band cd's also all of Susan Tedeschi cd's plus The Allman brothers Band cd's.
Now we have the Tedeschi/Trucks Band, the quality and diversity of the music just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made Up Mind [+digital booklet]
Made Up Mind [+digital booklet] by Tedeschi Trucks Band
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews