Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBUM OF THE YEAR...ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT !
Derek Trucks is almost certainly the greatest living slide guitarist, after producing some amazingly good albums with his own band he two years ago brought his wife Susan Tedeschi in and oh boy this is by far the best soul blues band there is. The first album Revelator won several awards and rave reviews. Following this with 2012's live double, again an incredible set...
Published 14 months ago by pete clack

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than the sum of its parts
As much as I love Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi and have listened to both for years, I find this album a bit of a let-down. This is a Susan Tedeschi Album with Derek Trucks playing on it. They are really just re-working the same formulas that they used before and IMHO it could have been a lot more. Would have been great to have some vocals other than Susan's. What about...
Published 13 months ago by J. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALBUM OF THE YEAR...ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT !, 19 Aug 2013
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Derek Trucks is almost certainly the greatest living slide guitarist, after producing some amazingly good albums with his own band he two years ago brought his wife Susan Tedeschi in and oh boy this is by far the best soul blues band there is. The first album Revelator won several awards and rave reviews. Following this with 2012's live double, again an incredible set with the band delivering an albuim that was diverse, some awesome playing and ST's superb soul based voice. Come 2013 and this new one and what a release it is. The quality of the songs is superb, the band hitting great grooves throughout, Derek Trucks just continues to up the anti as a player, just listen to the opening track the guitar cuts the rhythm gets into the groove before the vocals come in. Whether rockin' or pure soul songs, this album has it all. The band of eleven,yes eleven great musicians not only guitar and keys but a horn section as well. This is a band of real class, but one that's exiting and equally progressive at the same time. Tracks like 'Make Up Mind' and 'whiskey Legs' are rock blues and reaaly lift the rafters (get the next door neighbours to go out and turn it up )' 'Part Of Me' will be in the songs of the year come the fall. The closing 'Calling Out To You' is just Derek and Susan together with another cracker of a ballad song his guitar is so tasty here and her voice which I feel gets better with every release, is now one of the best around. All I will say is just don't miss tyhis wonderfully enjoyable set by a band that deserves success because they have vastly more true talent than many filling the airwaves these days, and this truly is an outstanding release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's So Heavy, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Leonardo27 (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Solid and exuberant follow-up to the Grammy-winning "Revelator" finds the TTB in fine form. It's the usual winning blend of soul, blues, gospel, Stax and southern rock all immaculately performed and produced, but at the same time perhaps an opportunity or two has been missed along the way.

With a number of highly talented vocalists on board, once again it's a shame that the likes of Saunders Sermons and Mike Mattison haven't been allowed more of a front-line role. Sermons has a brief cameo vocal on "Part Of Me" but, frustratingly, Mattison's most noticeable contribution seems to have been writing the sleevenotes for the CD booklet. Splendid though Susan Tedeschi's vocals are (yet again), one can't help but feel that the album would have benefited from having a track or two led by a male vocalist (viz. the stunning contrast of "Wade In The Water" on last year's live release). It seems such an obvious waste of talent.

On the plus side, it's a strong and exciting set although at times one still longs for a bit of the avant garde touch-of-the-unexpected that made The Derek Trucks band such an exciting listen. Still, "Part Of Me" sounds worthy of being an old classic from the motor city and may well be destined to become one. The title track is one of those infectious songs that you find yourself humming at odd times of the day and can't get out of your head, while "It's So Heavy" is Tedeschi's real power ballad on this album, a vocal tour de force.

At certain times there's a nagging feeling that Derek Trucks' playing might just be a little too carefully practised and restrained but all such thoughts are firmly blown away by a rip-roaring and incendiary performance on "The Storm" in which he pulls out all the stops. It's without question his personal highlight on this particular record.

Elsewhere, only "Sweet And Low" misses the mark for me and is likely to tempt the skip button in future. But there won't be many better albums than this in 2013, and I can't wait to see them at the Royal Albert Hall in October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carries on from where 'Revelator' left off..., 19 Aug 2013
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
The track "Made up mind" carries on from where their last studio CD 'Revelator' left off - a swinging funky song with Susan belting out the vocals, Derek's wonderful slide guitar and the full band piling in behind them. "Do I look worried" is a more restrained song that slowly builds, with a great hook and some lovely guitar, were as "Idle wind" sounds like early Jethro Tull with its acoustic guitar and flute intro but that too builds with the brass joining the flute for some really nice lyrical ensemble playing. "Misunderstood" and "Part of me" are more mid-tempo funk tracks with riffing brass and wah-wah guitar, while "It's so heavy" and "Sweet and low" are slow-burning soul ballads and "All that I need" is a melodic song that is half way between a ballad and one of the mid-tempo funk work outs. "The storm" begins with powerful guitar from Derek and the track finishes with an extended solo where he mixes blues slide with Indian raga. The album finishes with the beautiful "Calling out to you" a duet with Derek's fabulous acoustic slide guitar and Susan delivering bucolic hippy lyrics.

There is some wonderful playing on this record and once again Susan's voice is absolutely sublime throughout but for me the record doesn't completely deliver on the promise of their debut CD. It must be really hard to come up with material that combines all 11 members of the band and even though they write songs with outside help from Doyle Bramhall, Sonja Kitchell, Oliver Wood and John Leventhal amongst others I did feel that some of the songs were a bit average and stuck in a 'Mad Dogs and Englishmen tribute band' mode. Despite Susan's wonderful vocals throughout I did really enjoy trombonist Saunders Sermons sharing the vocals on "Part Of Me" and I still feel that Mike Mattinson is wasted just as a backing singer and could be given at least one song to sing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less than the sum of its parts, 29 Aug 2013
By 
J. Stewart (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
As much as I love Derek Trucks and Susan Tedeschi and have listened to both for years, I find this album a bit of a let-down. This is a Susan Tedeschi Album with Derek Trucks playing on it. They are really just re-working the same formulas that they used before and IMHO it could have been a lot more. Would have been great to have some vocals other than Susan's. What about the amazing Mike Mattinson? His name is on the album but you can't hear him.

And I have to say the flute in Idle Wind is not good, the song sounds like 'TTB plays the Carpenters' or something.

There are however lots of good bits on the album and the band is as talented as ever, I just find myself fast-forwarding through several songs. Hence only 3 stars.

Perhaps getting in bed with Sony wasn't a good idea...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Parts of it are excellent., 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind [+digital booklet] (MP3 Download)
It might seem a bit strange for me to say that this album contains some of the best guitar playing I have EVER heard, yet I have only given it 3 stars.

Having grown up listening to Duane, Dickey, Lowell George, Bonnie Raitt and persons of that ilk I am ready to concede that Derek Trucks is among the all-time greats. He "carries the torch" so to speak and it's probable that the best of his career is still in front of him. Some of the guitar breaks on this album are astonishing.

But then this isn't a Derek trucks album, it's a Tedeschi/Trucks album and here the difficulty lies. I respect Trucks too much to say anything negative at this point but what I WILL say, is that these are HUGE songs, and really need a singer with the projection and soul of an Otis Redding, Janis Joplin, or Joe Cocker. It would take a really great singer to "put these songs across".

Unfortunately what we have here is a very "straight" "middle of the road" type of American album. Hardly surprising, I suppose. But I guarantee that you will tire of this album very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Blues voice !, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Susan Tedeschi has a beautiful & strong blues voice - sometimes compared to Bonnie Raitt, but sorry Bonnie, I think Susan has the better voice ! The band, lead by her husband, are excellent - but the only criticism of the CD is that it travels too wide a boundary of music. Covering the blues / rock / funk - and then some jazzy overtones. All in all a great CD - and a definite recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blowing up a storm, 6 Sep 2014
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
The Tedeschi Trucks band was merely a name to me, often cited favourable in reviews, prior to hearing them preform live this summer. I'd have to say that even before they had completed their first number I was instantly converted and irrespective of whatever oeuvre you want to place their music in whether it is blues, jazz, rock, soul or even C&W, the results are extremely impressive.

I've now snapped up all three of their albums. The live double-CD may be a bit flabby in parts yet it is the album which truly captures the full potential on this band as well as given the musicians more room to stretch out and solo. In the studio the results are more concise and this second studio offering doesn't quite have the immediate impact of the original "Revelator" disc which was choc-a-block with great tunes. The opening title track was initially demonstrative of the rest of the album in that it was good but didn't quite back the punch of the other two albums. Ploughing my way through the CD for the first time nothing really stuck out until the penultimate "The Storm" which is a punchy blues with Truck letting rip on his guitar to that his allegiance to the music of the great John Coltrane is immediately apparent.
That said, this album is a real grower. It does get better with repeated listening and ultimately you realise that it isn't too far from hitting the highs of the previous recordings. The second track "Do I look worried" is terrific and I love the funkiness of "misunderstood." "Part of me" is a very good pop song which could have easily have strayed from some 1960's Soul review. Tedeschi's vocal's are a bit draw in the work of these recordings, but on this track she shares the duties with another singer who sounds a bit like Curtis Mayfield.

This disc probably sides more towards the soul and rock fields with the solos largely taken by Trucks amazing guitar. I suppose fans will have their particular favourites amongst the three records that have been released to date. However, there isn't really a great deal between them all and I am just pleased that there is a band as tight as this which can cover so many basses in a highly effective manner without compromising their own identity. All three discs are recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Together Tedeschi and Trucks make an awesome team, with their superb band providing the foundations the songs on this album just go from strength to strength. A fantastic follow up to their first studio album and the even better live album. Buy it and if you have not already bought their other albums give yourself a real treat and buy those as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great piece of music, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Not quite as good as the first album, but that's a big ask, gets better with every play though. The guitar playing is something else, they should be a big selling band in the UK soon, hopefully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb., 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made Up Mind (Audio CD)
Excellent. . . .brilliant band, brilliant musicians and Derek Trucks is superb on the guitar and Mrs Trucks is very good on the vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made Up Mind [+digital booklet]
Made Up Mind [+digital booklet] by Tedeschi Trucks Band
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews