Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surrounded by Enemies: What if Kennedy Survived Dallas? (Kindle Edition)
How life could have been different best book I've read for a long time. A must for any JFK fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surrounded by Enemies, 13 May 2015
What if JFK had survived the attack on his life in Dallas?

This book was really intriguing and well written. Instead of dying in Dallas in 1963 JFK survived and one get a chance to see how his life and those around him changes with him alive. But it is not a fairy tale with everything ending well. His involvement with women, especially affairs with women of questionable reputations that is something everyone knows about nowaday but something that was not public knowledge during the 60's is the thing that in this "what if story" will come to light during his presidency. And that combined with his ill health that he has been hiding from the general public and orders he has given to alleged assassinations of foreign leaders will in the end lead to his impeachment.

In the end when they could not kill him they tried in every way to kill his political career instead.

I enjoyed this book immensely. A favorite subject, the Kennedys told in on of my favorite ways of telling a story; a what if story. It helped that it was really good and it felt like it could have happened if JFK had lived. Well except one thing in the end, something that has to do with John-John was a bit too much and that made me remove a half star.

4.5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A better world than ours? Maybe not..., 25 July 2014
By 
GordonD (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surrounded by Enemies: What if Kennedy Survived Dallas? (Kindle Edition)
I love alternate history books but I got a surprise with this one. It isn't written as a novel; rather it takes the form of a non-fiction look back at the Kennedy administration from a viewpoint fifty years after Dallas (i.e. now.) In the world of this book Kennedy survived the assassination attempt (though Governor Connally did not) and the White House's angry reaction is where it begins. The family does not believe the official line that Oswald acted alone and are determined to get to the truth, without harming JFK's presidency. When he runs for re-election in 1964 we follow the campaign. And then as he begins his second term - but that would be giving it away.

Most Kennedy-survives books portray a golden age for America in the 1960s - this one takes a more cynical (and possibly realistic) view. Which makes it much more interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just wanted it to keep going and going, 26 Sept. 2014
By 
Adele Mitchell (Swindon, Wiltshire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Surrounded by Enemies: What if Kennedy Survived Dallas? (Kindle Edition)
I utterly loved this book! Firstly, I am a JFK nut & will read anything about him, but this is the first time I have ever read anything that made me forget he had been assassinated.
This book reads like complete fact, not alternative-world fiction, at times I struggled to work out which bits were fact & which bits were fiction.
Extremely well written & researched, only downside was towards the end of the book where it went a tad 'Hollywood' with a relationship between John Jr & Princess Diana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kennedy Lives!, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surrounded by Enemies: What if Kennedy Survived Dallas? (Kindle Edition)
Presented as an anniversary book fifty years after the events at Dallas, this was a good book. More than good, great. It didn't namby-pamby around and look at JFK with rose-tinted glasses on, and the truth and honesty of it was what made it such an enjoyable book. What annoyed me was the ending. Don't get me wrong it was a good enough ending and it wasn't rushed at all, it was just...implausible to the point that I was angry. After everything that happened, there was somehow a nice ending where everyone was nice and happy.
I would highly recommend this book, but I'd also recommend that you don't dwell on the end too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alet history, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surrounded by Enemies: What if Kennedy Survived Dallas? (Kindle Edition)
Great fun & well written - if you like AltHist and American politics I'd recommend it.

(Kindle version) blah blah
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read. Once I started to read it, 16 July 2014
By 
Johnno R (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surrounded by Enemies: What if Kennedy Survived Dallas? (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Once I started to read it, I forgot that this was an alternative history story. It's detailed, the characters are well known and from that era and they come alive in this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that is hard to put down., 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well crafted supposition of what might have been. The fictional events are well crafted;a fine addition to the JFK saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews