Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beats the USA price by a mile but
Great 3 movies on blu-ray but could not play the supplemental material on DVD in the USA. Please be more specific as to playback compatability on your site. Also the outer package was flimsy. Very Very flimsy and cheap looking.
Published 3 months ago by ALAN BERK

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish Packaging.
Just received this DVD set and I never saw such appalling packaging.
Believe it or not I can't get the disks out of their packaging in fear of breaking them. They must be welded to the disk protection cover. Why couldn't they have put the disks into three regular DVD blu-ray covers grouped together or better still, sell them separately.
If anybody out there can...
Published 5 months ago by Des Grant.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish Packaging., 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just received this DVD set and I never saw such appalling packaging.
Believe it or not I can't get the disks out of their packaging in fear of breaking them. They must be welded to the disk protection cover. Why couldn't they have put the disks into three regular DVD blu-ray covers grouped together or better still, sell them separately.
If anybody out there can solve the mystery of removing the disks from their packaging without using a tin opener feel free to instruct me.
After over a decade of DVDs they just can't get it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor packaging, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The movies actually turned out pretty well on Blu and the extras were okay. The packaging on the other hand is terrible. This is not a set that you will be proud to show and will not hold up over time.

1) Very cheap cardboard outer box, already bent on arrival.
2) Very poor digipack design where the discs overlap and were flopping around on arrival.
3) Discs are hard to put back in place and tabs will break eventually.

If you want the movies I would buy individually. This is not the ultimate collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars blu ray and dvd comparison, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
only received the box set this morning, packaging very nice but a little on the cheap side. only managed to compare one of the films so far "giant" 1956. first watched the warner brothers special edition of giant dvd from warner brothers 2001. the blu ray of the film is only slightly better than the dvd release, very dark and murky scenes, especially the balcony scene at the 8.30min mark. some scenes are a little clearer but not that much, I think its mostly the brightness that looks much different. audio quality is better than the dvd release. but all in all I was expecting much more from this blu ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beats the USA price by a mile but, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great 3 movies on blu-ray but could not play the supplemental material on DVD in the USA. Please be more specific as to playback compatability on your site. Also the outer package was flimsy. Very Very flimsy and cheap looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very nice collection but dodgy packing, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I received my box set today of six discs, as a fan, i am sure people looking into this set for the extras and quality of the transfer, as I am sure we all know about each of the films, so I will try and emplane what is in this set which makes it such good value. Starting with East Of Eden, for me my Favourite of Dean's three films. The transfer is good and very clear,for a film of this age and some of the outside scenes look fantastic, the sound is 5.1 DTS-HD and it appears a good remastering has been done on the picture. On this disc you also get the documentary forever James Dean, a good documentary although not as good as the Last American Teenager which is probably the essential documentary. No remastering was done here and the picture quality is quite poor on this extra.
Rebel Without a cause is also very good picture quality and also is presented in 5.1 DTS-HD, again this has been transferred very well, and is still a joy to watch.
Giant the final film is for me where the quality appears to have dropped I don't know if that was because of the negative, this was not a cinema-scope film, and is presented in the correct ratio and in stereo as per the original release. The picture just is a bit grainy in many places, but it is still better than the DVD which was released a few years ago. You then get a second disc with Giant with all the extras that were on the DVD with the George Stevens story, the making of Giant.
There are then two other discs of extras including a new documentary with Dennis Hoopper, out takes from Eden and Rebel and another documentary the Essential James Dean.
The other bonus material is very nice, copies of letters from Warner's to Elia Kazan, Nicholas Ray and George Stevens about the commission of each of the films, a lovely booklet about all the films, and replica original posters for each of the films.
This would have been a five star package as the content is good and the little extras are a nice touch. However the discs are contained in a very thin cardboard case which was creased on arrival, the housing for the discs, has two discs stored together, and they are so difficult to get out of the case. Considering the cost is negligible to manufacture, Warners should be ashamed at this, cheap Blu-ray covers. Any dean Fan will love the content of the discs, but I am sure will be disappointed with the package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No all disks are region free, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Misleading advertisement as only the 3 films on blu ray play on my OPPO BD-93 but the 2 docs are standard DVD which do not play on my universial player. The films look great and of course are classics, just disappointed I can't watch everything this package contains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN OUTSTANDING COLLECTION AT AN OUTSTANDING PRICE!, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Finally some of Dean's best on Blu-ray! Even here in the States this collection played with no problem on my PS3, and for half the price, at that. I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people say, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Mine arrived in Australia today, people have been complaining a lot about the packaging but mine arrived with only a minor bend(I was most likely just lucky) on the box for bonus features(turn it around and viola, any aesthetic damages have been fixed) the picture quality is nice and the bonus features are great(the DVD's are region 2 but most new DVD players/laptops are region free anyway) but the blu-ray's are region free(a bonus, the BBFC sticker on the box can be easily peeled off). The disc's do say FOR RENTAL OR RESALE in a yellow box on them(maybe this is normal in the UK but I've never seen it in AUS. If anyone is wondering about the disc holder things(I don't know what they're called) they aren't normal, to remove the disc push it up and it should just fall out(it is a little annoying with the bottom disc's because you can't push from bellow you have to do it from the side) and to put back in place simply push it up then down until it clicks(may not always click but it is easy to check if it is in, just turn it upside down and see if it falls out), sounds complicated but isn't once you actually have one to do it on. The item itself is well worth the money, the bonus memo's are really nice as well as the pictures and the booklet is a nice collectible to have. The posters measure in at 10" by 14" and are also nice and the pictures are the size of a normal blue-ray cover, the memos are the size of an opened one(so double the width(although in this case width would be height)). I recommend to anyone who is considering buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The BD's have a better picture quality than the DVD's when you compare several scenes, but it's no crystal clear BD quality!
The box is shoddy, thin carton, easily damaged (mine arrived with several folds on the spine and top)
Picture postcards and booklet photographs are only so so
But: the price is cheap, so you can't expect top quality.
Overall verdict: satisfied with my purchase, but only just.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
What can I say. My fav actor of all time on bluray in an awesome box set. Amazon were perfect in this transaction and the box set is what every collector would want with all the goodies that come with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

James Dean - Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1955] [Region Free]
28.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews