Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frances Haha
The delightfully unaffected Greta Gerwig stole the show in writer-director Noah Baumbach's acerbic Greenberg, and now she co-writes and takes centre stage in its very funny follow-up.

Gerwig plays the title character, a drifting 27-year-old dancing understudy, more goofy than quirky, despairing at the life decisions of her friends, whilst making some shockers...
Published 8 months ago by R. J. Harvey

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ahoy Sexy
Greta Garwig is a unique, kooky young actress who oozes so much dedication to her role here, it is more than admirable and there are shades of classic French cinema and the aroma of Woody Allen in the way the film is created. Unfortunately Frances Ha, Noah Baumbach's latest free flowing dramedy is too smart, too quirky and too scatter-shot in it's editing and starts...
Published 6 days ago by Mr. A. J. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frances Haha, 1 Aug 2013
By 
R. J. Harvey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frances Ha [DVD] (DVD)
The delightfully unaffected Greta Gerwig stole the show in writer-director Noah Baumbach's acerbic Greenberg, and now she co-writes and takes centre stage in its very funny follow-up.

Gerwig plays the title character, a drifting 27-year-old dancing understudy, more goofy than quirky, despairing at the life decisions of her friends, whilst making some shockers of her own. This is really a love story between Frances and her BFF Sophie (Mickey Summer): friendship, fights, fun, and reconciliation, all coasting along sweetly on Baumbach's improvisational yet elegant style, this time in delicious monochrome. New York is a black and white city.

The script is predictably well-observed, as are the naturalistic performances. At times the film feels slight; at other times aggravatingly self-aware. But overall it's so effortlessly amusing and relatable that it's hard not to root for our blundering heroine, however hipster her world appears.

This'll make a fraction of what Grown-Ups 2 rakes in, but this will be the movie to stand the test of time. Is Baumbach the new Woody Allen? No, he's just Baumbach - and that's good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A downright joyous experience, 16 Aug 2013
This review is from: Frances Ha [DVD] (DVD)
There's something special about black and white contemporary films that make them feel somehow more unusual, urgent and focused than their colour counterparts. Would `Manhattan' or `Clerks' be as well remembered in Technicolor? `Frances Ha' makes a wonderful use of the medium, stripping out superfluous detail and concentrating on its loveable central character Frances (Greta Gerwig), a 27-year-old New Yorker who is floundering her way into adulthood, moving from apartment to apartment and struggling to pay the bills with her infrequent work as a dancer. When her long time best friend Sophie (Mickey Sumner) moves out to live with her boyfriend, Frances is cast adrift and attempts to find a little direction in her shambolic life.

This is a downright joyous experience, so refreshing and funny it's hard to see where it could be improved. For a start it's uplifting to see a portrayal of genuine female characters that aren't just two-dimensional foils for male leads and who actually look and behave like real people. When Frances and Sophie are slobbing around in the apartment in sweat pants and no make-up, that's what they look like - not a dolled up Hollywood version of it. The most welcome change though is that it isn't about romance or Frances `finding a man' to give her life some meaning: a tired, predictable theme that makes for dull, crowd-pleasing cinema - and bears next to no relation to life. 'Frances Ha' is about Frances, not about her love life or big life-changing moments. Realism is high on the agenda throughout and to its credit it doesn't resort to grit, nudity or sex to convey that - proving that strong characterisation is always what matters most.

Its success predominantly rests on co-writer and star Greta Gerwig who is absolutely fantastic, creating such a naturally enchanting character in Frances that you'd need a cold heart not to come away with a deep affection for her. She's eccentric, awkward and goofy, but in a wholly plausible, endearing way - doing the weird little things we all do when no one's around. Most importantly she's not just a great comedy character, she's a real person; we're laughing both with and at her, but we still intensely care about her.

`Frances Ha' is a small-scale film that may have the aesthetic of a student work, but it's also incredibly technically sound, using structure and pace expertly. A year or so of Frances's life is segmented into the different addresses she has lived at, weaving her ups and downs together with montages and short scenes of all the little incidental things in life. Unconcerned with too much exposition we are dropped into Brooklyn and fly through this confusing transitional year in her life, the film passing by as quickly as the years that are escaping Frances.

Here is a film that deserves to be cherished by everyone - an honest and uplifting journey through friendship and adulthood, as sweetly touching as it is hilarious. Add into that the best use of Bowie's `Modern Love' in cinema and an ambiguous title that reveals itself as another perfect detail and you've got an exceptional film, the memory of which will always put a smile on your face. Ahoy Sexy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern day Three Colours Red film, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Bruce Percy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frances Ha [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I think I fell in love with Frances. She reminds me very much about you 20's.

Whilst watching the film, I felt I was watching a modern version of 'Three Colours Red'; a beautiful young woman trying to figure out her place and who she really is.

What Frances lacks in self-identity, she gives in her love for her friend. She's a very human subject to watch, because she shows how she's really feeling most of the time, and although she's out of step with her friends who are moving towards adulthood easier than she is, it's still very touching to see how she is still herself.

I really enjoyed this. It reminded me very much of 'Three Colours Red', which is a similar story: the search of meaning and belonging from a 20's something perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly sweet low budget comedy/drama from the normally far darker, very talented Baumbach., 2 Dec 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
More a character study than plot driven film, it tells of the lost, screwed up 27 year old Francis, played with lost, screwed up loveable-ness by co-writer Greta Gerwig. She has what seems an amazingly close relationship with her roommate and best friend Sophie (a terrific Mickey Summer), but it all comes crashing down when Sophie decides to move out (and maybe grow up) for a better apartment (not as crazy as that sounds in NYC), leaving Frances suddenly uprooted and alone.

We follow Frances as she pin-balls through places to live and people to connect with (or not), seeming too childlike for her own good, and unable to take control of her life. But she never sinks so low that she loses the spark that makes us want good things for her, in spite of her continually getting in her own way.

While the film has some very touching moments, and generally excellent acting and writing, something in it made me feel held a bit atarms length. For all the joy and sorrow in Frances' life, I felt more like a clinical observer and less like a participant than I wanted to. And while some of Baumbach's nods to French new wave film-making work wonderfully (the high-spirited musical romp Frances takes down New York streets is wildly infectious), some of them, like the constant use of music from those seminal 1960s films as score was, for me,
distracting and too self-conscious. Frances is a good enough character, and Baumbach a talented enough story teller that it the film didn't need such heavy handed style laid over it.

Still, a unique, if flawed film about a unique if flawed character. It's good to see Baumbach stretch, even if he - like Francis - hasn't quite figured out where he's going yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ahoy Sexy, 11 April 2014
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frances Ha [DVD] (DVD)
Greta Garwig is a unique, kooky young actress who oozes so much dedication to her role here, it is more than admirable and there are shades of classic French cinema and the aroma of Woody Allen in the way the film is created. Unfortunately Frances Ha, Noah Baumbach's latest free flowing dramedy is too smart, too quirky and too scatter-shot in it's editing and starts irksome and remains irritating through-out.
It feels like Footloose at times or some kind of 'Miranda' type sketch show at others and although relatable in parts with its flights of fancy conflicting with real world scenarios it feels like a very festival steeped experiment with all the Indie cliches attached.
Sweet and uncynical with a lead performance of some substance and inquisitiveness Frances Ha is an acquired taste which have respect for but ultimately failed to engage with. I can see a niche market for it though and interested to see what Garwig does next.
Perhaps i need to to be more in touch with my feminine side or perhaps I would just recommend something like Garden State or Clerks. Yeah, probably the former.
Just because a film doesn't bow down to genre conventions doesn't mean its infallible. Noah Baumbach take note!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of an artist, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frances Ha [DVD] (DVD)
Art house black and white portrait of a young New York aspiring dancer who lives out of the mainstream: quality reality cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ha ha Francis, 9 April 2014
By 
B. Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frances Ha [DVD] (DVD)
This is a bri
Leant film , if you like scatty brained New York types not laugh out loud , brilliant low key performances black and white and great for that a dancer looking for a flat of her own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars .....brilliant and redemptive, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frances Ha [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was just great! I loved Frances - she was a really endearing character, but more often than not, her insensitive friends 'put on' her and this made you want to shake her and make her stand up for herself and stop being a 'door mat'.

The film is 100% character driven and does not fall under any of the conventional genres. It isn't a romantic comedy, it's not a straight up comedy and neither is it a drama - what it is, is a glimpse into the ordinary life of an ordinary girl trying to make her way in a world that so often dismisses us and makes us feel insignificant. It is about someone who has a dream to be one thing but then finds that dream is never likely to be and so, in accepting this fact, she finds a different way to be and finds happiness in this.

I loved the film for its honesty, for its simplicity and for its intelligently written storyline, which was simple, but brilliant and redemptive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Greta, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Sam Ainsworth "Sam" (london, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frances Ha [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this twice at the cinema, which these days, with these prices, means I must have liked it! I didn't really enjoy the last film I saw her in, Greenberg, which was also directed by Baumbach, as I felt it was too slow and meandering. This however, feels completely different. Maybe it's because I'm in a similar point in my life (although not 27), but I was really drawn to how different this feels to most movies we see nowadays, which to me feel rather formulaic, but also from other dull mumblecore movies (I'm looking at you Tiny Furniture). Gerwig's dreamy and quirky qualities separate her from the frankness of Girls, but also from the gooeyness of Zooey Deschanel. I know this won't be for everyone, but it was most definitely for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frances Ha [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Quite an intellectual slow moving film but with a funny ending - definitely a comedy I would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ce67c00)

This product

Frances Ha [DVD]
Frances Ha [DVD] by Noah Baumbach (DVD - 2014)
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews