Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

DIZZY MISS LIZZYThe Specialty Story
1954 -1962 contains

75 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS
by the original artists.
It is on 3 CDS BUT Amazon have `scrunched' all the tracks and artists together which makes it hard to see which artist is by which track and vice versa.
So I've cleaned it up and spaced it out for you.
Grab these discs while you can because next year the laws on copy write will tighten up and fall in line with the Americans (God Bless `em).
(Now all we need to do is for them to stop putting region 2 on UK DVD releases to compensate?)

If you are cutting and pasting ignore the last track on CD 3?

CD1

1. Dizzy Miss Lizzy - Larry Williams
2. Farmer John - Don & Dewey
3. Tutti Frutti - Little Richard
4. Forgive Me, Clawdy - Lloyd Price
5. That's All I Need to Know - Sam Cooke & The Soul Stirrers
6. Goin' Back Home To Mama - Vicky Lee
7. My Baby Don't Want Me - Sonny Knight
8. I Know - Angel Face
9. Everybody's Blues - John Lee Hooker
10. I've Got My Sights On Someone New - Roddy Jackson
11. Ding Dong Baby - Marvin & Johnny
12. Diggin' The Moonglow - Percy Mayfield
13. Gone - Jesse Belvin
14. Harpers Express - Harper Brinson Band
15. Should I Ever Love Again? - Wynona Carr
16. I Got Sumpin' For You - Guitar Slim
17. You Bug Me Baby - Larry Williams
18. Eternity - Ernest Kador
19. Jungle Hop - Don & Dewey
20. Do You Love Me Pretty Baby? - Joe Liggins & The Honeydrippers
21. Mr. Bumps - Edgar Blanchard
22. No One But Me - Earl King
23. My Confession - David Ford & The Ebbtides
24. Boppin' The Rock - Clifton Chenier
25. Who's Been Fooling You - Big Boy Myles

CD2

1. Long Tall Sally - Little Richard
2. Touch And Go - Wynona Carr
3. Little School Girl - Larry Williams
4. Baby I Need You - Benn Zeppa & The Zephyrs
5. Malinda - Bobby Mandolph
6. Dye Ooh Mambo - Chuck Higgins
7. I Need You Now - Sam Cooke
8. Flip - Marvin & Johnny
9. Baby Please Come Home - Lloyd Price
10. Think It Over - Clifton Chenier
11. Just A Little Lovin' - Don & Dewey
12. Oh Kay - The Dukes
13. Stepping High - Edgar Blanchard
14. Love, Love of My Life - Jesse Belvin
15. Stand By Me - Guitar Slim
16. Arabian Love Call - Art Neville
17. Harper's Return - Harper Brinson Band
18. Irene - The Holidays
19. Whiskey, Women & Loaded Dice - Joe Liggins & The Honeydrippers
20. Keep A Knockin' - Little Richard
21. It's Spring Again - The Pentagons
22. Superman - Johnny Two-Voice
23. You Were Lyin To Me - Percy Mayfield
24. That Mellow Saxophone - Roy Montrell
25. I - Tony Allen & The Champs

CD3

1. Jump Jack, Jump! - Wynona Carr
2. Mamo Mamo - Marvin & Johnny
3. Oooh-Wee Baby - Art Neville
4. Ready Teddy - Little Richard
5. King Cotton - Lloyd Lambert
6. Tears On My Pillow - The Chimes
7. The Sound Of Your Voice - David Ford & The Ebbtides
8. Do Baby Do - Ernest Kador
9. Twenty-Five Lies - Guitar Slim
10. Ay Tete Fee - Clifton Chenier
11. One Little Blessing - Jesse Belvin
12. Oo Ee Baby - Lloyd Price
13. True to You Baby - Neal Johnson
14. Baby, You're Rich - Percy Mayfield
15. What Can I Do? - Roy Milton
16. Just Because - Larry Williams
17. Forever - Sam Cooke
18. Ooh Bop She Bop - The Dukes
19. It's True - The Twilighters
20. Someday, Somewhere, Somehow - Wynona Carr
21. The Letter - Don & Dewey
22. Sweet Breeze - Vernon Green & The Phantoms
23. Broke - Chuck Higgins
24. Send Me Some Lovin' - Little Richard
25. Flippin' - Rene Hall
26. Floppin' Stevie D'Or and his Dockers.
55 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dizzy Miss Lizzy, The Speciality Story, DAY3CD037

CD1: 58.07
CD2: 56.56
CD3: 61.34

This set continues the "label" retrospective collections on One Day Music. The liner notes are by Joseph Adair. The story of Speciality is outlined and the set provides music from many performers. Some of the artistes you will have heard of but others are not so well known today and some I had never heard of at all...

CD3/16 Just Because from Larry Williams in 1957 was a US R&B No 11 chart item. CD1/1 Dizzy Miss Lizzy went to No 69 on the US pop charts in 1958. Larry Williams 1935-1980.

CD1/1/10 Roddy Jackson recorded for Speciality in the 1950s and is here singing I've Got My Sights on Someone New. Recorded in December 1957 the record became a regional hit with Decca attempting to buy out his contract.

CD1/1/12; CD2/23 & CD3/14 are from Percy Mayfield (1920 – 1984) the singer & songwriter who was famous for the songs "Hit the Road Jack" and "Please Send Me Someone to Love", as well as a successful rhythm and blues artist known for his smooth vocal style.

Jesse Belvin 1932-1960. In 1952 he joined Specialty Records. Although his early solo records were unsuccessful, his fourth record, "Dream Girl", credited to Jesse & Marvin and featuring Marvin Phillips on saxophone, reached #2 on the R&B charts in 1953.

Wynona Carr (1924 – 1976) was a gospel, R&B & rock 'n roll singer-songwriter, who also recorded as Sister Wynona Carr when performing gospel material. Can be heard here on CD1:15; CD2/2 & CD3/1.

Sam Cooke (1931-1964) features here with 3 singles CD1/5; CD2/7 & CD3/17 with the track Forever that went to No 60 on the US charts in 1957.

The Little Richard tracks date from 1955 to 1957. Included are 4 chart hits amongst the tracks CD1/3; CD2/1; CD2/20; CD3/4 & CD3/24.

Joe Liggins was a R&B, jazz and blues pianist, who was the frontman in the 1940s and 1950s with the band, Joe Liggins and his Honeydrippers. He is to be heard here on CD1/20 & CD2/19.

The packaging includes small images of artistes featured...Larry Williams; Lloyd Price; Little Richard; Sam Cooke; Marvin & Johnny; Clifton Chenier; Don & Dewey; Jesse Belvin; Ernest Kador; Guitar Slim; Percy Mayfield & Rene Hall.

Excellent sound quality throughout. The set is great value and you can get even better value by checking out the prices on offer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
HISTORY:

Specialty Records was oe of the American record labels that helped shape the course of 20th-century music. It was founded by Art Rupe. He started Specialty Records in 1946. In 1951, Specialty switched format from 78rpm disc to the new 45rpm single. There were many major artists on the label, from Larry Williams, Lloyd Price, Little Richard, Sam Cooke and Don & Dewey. Sonny Bono worked with Specialty as a producer and songwriter. Rupe carried the label on into the Sixties, even recording Little Richard again when he returned to the secular world, but with diminishing success. Refusing to pay for airplay, Art eventually retired from music. The label was finally sold to Fantasy Records in 1990. Art Rupe was given the Ahmet Ertegun Award by the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame in 2010, and his legend lives on.

CONTENT:

This 3 CD set has 60 songs from 1954 to 1960, containing a lot of hits that made those artists famous, plus many rare gems. I have compiled a detailed song listing (with chart position, year and personal comments), which is as follows:

Disc 1:
01 Dizzy Miss Lizzy – Larry Williams (US 69/1958)*rare gem; original version; the Beatles recorded his songs: Slow Down, Dizzy Miss Lizzy and Bad Boy
02 Farmer John – Don & Dewey (uncharted single, 1959)*rare gem; Don “Sugarcane” Harris and Dewey Terry
03 Tutti Frutti – Little Richard (US 17/1956; R&B 2/1956)*Pat Boone sang the white guy’s version
04 Forgive Me, Clawdy – Lloyd Price (R&B 1(7)/1952)*rare gem; his first Number 1 hit; he changed label to ABC-Paramount in 1957, when his other major hits followed: Personality, Stagger Lee and I’m Gonna Get Married
05 That’s All I Need To Know – Sam Cooke & The Soul Stirrers (uncharted single, 1956)*rare gem; just before his first No. 1 hit You Send Me in 1957 on Keen label
06 Goin’ Back Home To Mama – Vicky Lee (uncharted single, 1955)
07 My Baby Don’t Want Me – Sonny Knight (uncharted single, 1955)*rare gem; his biggest hit was Confidential (17/1956) on Dot label; he wrote the book The Day The Music Died
08 I Know – Angel Face (uncharted single, 1959)
09 Everybody’s Blues – John Lee Hooker (uncharted single, 1954)
10 I’ve Got My Sights On Someone New – Roddy Jackson (uncharted single, 1958)*rare gem; song written by Sonny Bono (of Sonny & Cher)
11 Ding Dong Baby – Marvin & Johnny (uncharted single, 1955)*rare gem; Marvin Phillips and Emory”Johnny” Perry; Phillips had been with Jesse Belvin as Jesse and Marvin
12 Diggin’ The Moonglow – Percy Mayfield (uncharted single, 1957)*rare gem; wrote the classic Hit The Road Jack; in 1950, he had No. 1 R&B hit Please Send Me Someone To Love
13 Gone – Jesse Belvin (uncharted single, 1955)*rare gem; his biggest hits: Dream Girl (Jesse and Marvin)(2/1953), Goodnight My Love (Pleasant Dreams)(7/1958), later sung by Paul Anka and Guess Who (7/1959)
14 Harpers Express – Harper Brinson Band (uncharted single, 1957)
15 Should I Ever Love Again? – Wynona Carr (R&B 15/1957)*rare gem
16 I Got Sumpin’ For You – Guitar Slim (uncharted single, 1955)*rare gem; his biggest hit: The Things That I Used To do (R&B 1(14)/1954)
17 You Bug Me Baby – Larry Williams (US 45/1957)(b-side to Bony Moronie)*rare gem; I would have preferred his charted hits, plus Slow Down and Bad Boy
18 Eternity – Ernest Kador (uncharted single, 1955)*rare gem; trivia: he went on to greater fame as Ernie K-Doe but sadly for Art Rupe and Specialty, his 1961 US chart topper Mother In Law was on Minit label.
19 Jungle Hop – Don & Dewey (uncharted single, 1957)*rare gem
20 Do You Love Me Pretty Baby? – Joe Liggins & The Honeydrippers (uncharted single, 1954)*rare gem; their two biggest hits: The Honeydripper (Parts 1 & 2)(R&B 1(18)/1945) and Pink Champagne (R&B 1(13)/1950)
21 Mr. Bumps – Edgar Blanchard (uncharted single, 1956)
22 No One But Me – Earl King (uncharted single, 1955)*his charted hit Don’t Take It So Hard can be found in King Records Story compilation
23 My Confession – David Ford & The Ebbtides (uncharted single, 1958)
24 Boppin’ The Rock – Clifton Chenier (uncharted single, 1955)
25 Who’s Been Fooling You – Big Boy Myles (uncharted single, 1955)

Disc 2:
01 Long Tall Sally – Little Richard (US 6/1956; R&B 1(8)/1956)*Beatles also recorded this song
02 Touch And Go – Wynona Carr (uncharted single, 1958)*rare gem; written by Sonny Bono
03 Little School Girl – Larry Williams (uncharted single, 1958)*rare gem
04 Baby I Need You – Benn Zeppa & The Zephyrs (uncharted single, 1956)
05 Malinda – Bobby Mandolph (uncharted single, 1957)
06 Dye Ooh Mambo – Chuck Higgins (uncharted single, 1954)
07 I Need You Now – Sam Cooke (uncharted single, 1956)*rare gem
08 Flip – Marvin & Johnny (uncharted single, 1954)*rare gems; their charted songs: Baby Doll and Tick Tock
09 Baby Please Come Home – Lloyd Price (uncharted single, 1956)*rare gem
10 Think It Over – Clifton Chener (uncharted single, 1955)
11 Just A Little Lovin’ – Don & Dewey (uncharted single, 1957)*rare gem
12 Ooh Bop She Bop – The Dukes (uncharted single, 1954)
13 Stepping High – Edgar Blanchard (uncharted single, 1956)
14 Love, Love Of My Life – Jesse Belvin (uncharted single, 1955)*rare gem
15 Stand By Me – Guitar Slim (uncharted single, 1954)*rare gem
16 Arabian Love Call – Art Neville (uncharted single, 1958)*rare gem; brother of Aaron Neville; member of the Meters and the Neville Brothers
17 Harper’s Return – Harper Brinson Band (b-side to Harpers Express, 1957)
18 Irene – The Holidays (uncharted single, 1954)
19 Whiskey, Women & Loaded Dice – Joe Liggins & The Honeydrippers
20 Keep A Knockin’ – Little Richard (US 8/1957; R&B 2/1957)*from the movie Mister Rock ‘n’ Roll starring Alan Freed
21 It’s Spring Again – The Pentagons (uncharted single, 1958)
22 Superman – Johnny Two-Voice (uncharted single, 1960)
23 You Were Lyin’ To Me – Percy Mayfield (uncharted single, 1954)*rare gem
24 That Mellow Saxophone – Roy Montrell (uncharted single, 1956)
25 I – Tony Allen & The Champs (uncharted single, 1955)

Disc 3:
01 Jump Jack, Jump! – Wynona Carr (uncharted single, 1956)*rare gem
02 Mamo Mamo – Marvin & Johnny (b-side to Ding Dong Baby, 1955)
03 Ooh-Wee Baby – Art Neville (uncharted single, 1956)*rare gem
04 Ready Teddy – Little Richard (US 44/1956; R&B 8/1956)(b-side to Rip It Up)*Elvis Presley and Sir Cliff Richard also recorded this song
05 King Cotton – Lloyd Lambert (uncharted single, 1955)
06 Tears On My Pillow – The Chimes (uncharted single, 1956)*doo-wop group from Brooklyn
07 The Sound Of Your Voice – David Ford & The Ebbtides (uncharted single, 1956)
08 Do Baby Do – Ernest Kador (b-side to Eternity, 1955)*rare gem
09 Twenty-Five Lies – Guitar Slim (uncharted single, 1954)*rare gem
10 Ay Tete Fee – Clifton Chenier (uncharted single, 1955)
11 One Little Blessing – Jesse Belvin (b-side to Gone, 1955)*rare gem
12 Oo Ee Baby – Lloyd Price (uncharted single, 1952)*rare gem
13 True To You Baby – Neal Johnson (uncharted single, 1960)
14 Baby, You’re Rich – Percy Mayfield (uncharted single, 1954)*rare gem
15 What Can I Do? – Roy Milton (uncharted single, 1954)*rare gem; he has 21 charted hits on the R&B chart from 1946 to 1961; I would prefer any one of his charted hits
16 Just Because – Larry Williams (uncharted single, 1957)*rare gem
17 Forever – Sam Cooke (US 60/1957)(b-side to I’ll Come Running Back To You)*rare gem; trivia: a different version released on Specialty 596 as by Dale Cook
18 Oh Kay – The Dukes (b-side to Ooh Bop She Bop, 1954)
19 It’s True – The Twilighters (uncharted single, 1955)
20 Someday, Somewhere, Somehow – Wynona Carr (uncharted single, 1959)*rare gem
21 The Letter – Don & Dewey (uncharted single, 1957)*rare gem
22 Sweet Breeze – Vernon Green & The Phantoms (uncharted single, 1956)
23 Broke – Chuck Higgins (uncharted single, 1954)
24 Send Me Some Lovin’ – Little Richard (US 54/1957; R&B 3/1957)(b-side to Lucille)
25 Flippin’ – Rene Hall (uncharted single, 1957)*written by Sonny Bono

The sound is very well remastered, vibrant, clean with no hiss. The songs are all original versions.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

One Day Music has released over 100 sets on various labels, and I am glad that I have purchased them all. From this 3 CD set, one can get singles on Larry Williams, Little Richard, Wynona Carr, and Jess Belvin. There are also many rare gems. The sound is also very good. Listening to this set brings me back to the Fifties, when music was raw and pure, with many happy memories. This set is recommended for collectors and music fans of the 50s.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
EXCELLENT CD THIS, HOWEVER THESE TRACKS ARE SPOILT AS THEY HAVE BEEN PUT INTO STEREO! THESE TITLES ARE RUINED BY REMASTERING AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOT TAMPERED WITH, HOWEVER AS THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO OBTAIN THESE TRACKS TODAY, THEN THIS FORCES COLLECTORS TO BUY THESE CDs IN THIS FORM!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
To those of us brought up with the divine Specialty cuts of Larry Williams, Little Richard et al this collection leaves a lot to be desired.
Sure, there are examples of these artists' work-but nowhere near enough. At least half the material is mediocre to awful and should probably have been left in the vaults or expunged from history.

Have we reached the point now where ANYTHING recorded 50 or 60 years ago is considered "important" when in reality so much of it was just as ephemeral and trivial as most of today's pop?

Come on you guys at One Day, Ace etc- exercise some discernment before rushing to re-issue everything you can get your hands on. Even at these admittedly reasonable prices we deserve stuff that is worth more than one listen!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
listenable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
AS the title says Specialty and that is what it is , i found a lot of music that i like to hear as i drive around the country and i with out any doubt recomend to all that like good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
Good CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
A tribute to one of the great independent labels of the 1950s. There's not one track that I don't like. Beats the hell out of today's factory produced crap
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.