Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing Baby You're Rich? What Can I do?
DIZZY MISS LIZZYThe Specialty Story
1954 -1962 contains

75 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS
by the original artists.
It is on 3 CDS BUT Amazon have `scrunched' all the tracks and artists together which makes it hard to see which artist is by which track and vice versa.
So I've cleaned it up and spaced it out for you.
Grab these discs while you can...
Published 11 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING!
To those of us brought up with the divine Specialty cuts of Larry Williams, Little Richard et al this collection leaves a lot to be desired.
Sure, there are examples of these artists' work-but nowhere near enough. At least half the material is mediocre to awful and should probably have been left in the vaults or expunged from history.

Have we reached the...
Published 6 months ago by B. M. Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing Baby You're Rich? What Can I do?, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
DIZZY MISS LIZZYThe Specialty Story
1954 -1962 contains

75 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS
by the original artists.
It is on 3 CDS BUT Amazon have `scrunched' all the tracks and artists together which makes it hard to see which artist is by which track and vice versa.
So I've cleaned it up and spaced it out for you.
Grab these discs while you can because next year the laws on copy write will tighten up and fall in line with the Americans (God Bless `em).
(Now all we need to do is for them to stop putting region 2 on UK DVD releases to compensate?)

If you are cutting and pasting ignore the last track on CD 3?

CD1

1. Dizzy Miss Lizzy - Larry Williams
2. Farmer John - Don & Dewey
3. Tutti Frutti - Little Richard
4. Forgive Me, Clawdy - Lloyd Price
5. That's All I Need to Know - Sam Cooke & The Soul Stirrers
6. Goin' Back Home To Mama - Vicky Lee
7. My Baby Don't Want Me - Sonny Knight
8. I Know - Angel Face
9. Everybody's Blues - John Lee Hooker
10. I've Got My Sights On Someone New - Roddy Jackson
11. Ding Dong Baby - Marvin & Johnny
12. Diggin' The Moonglow - Percy Mayfield
13. Gone - Jesse Belvin
14. Harpers Express - Harper Brinson Band
15. Should I Ever Love Again? - Wynona Carr
16. I Got Sumpin' For You - Guitar Slim
17. You Bug Me Baby - Larry Williams
18. Eternity - Ernest Kador
19. Jungle Hop - Don & Dewey
20. Do You Love Me Pretty Baby? - Joe Liggins & The Honeydrippers
21. Mr. Bumps - Edgar Blanchard
22. No One But Me - Earl King
23. My Confession - David Ford & The Ebbtides
24. Boppin' The Rock - Clifton Chenier
25. Who's Been Fooling You - Big Boy Myles

CD2

1. Long Tall Sally - Little Richard
2. Touch And Go - Wynona Carr
3. Little School Girl - Larry Williams
4. Baby I Need You - Benn Zeppa & The Zephyrs
5. Malinda - Bobby Mandolph
6. Dye Ooh Mambo - Chuck Higgins
7. I Need You Now - Sam Cooke
8. Flip - Marvin & Johnny
9. Baby Please Come Home - Lloyd Price
10. Think It Over - Clifton Chenier
11. Just A Little Lovin' - Don & Dewey
12. Oh Kay - The Dukes
13. Stepping High - Edgar Blanchard
14. Love, Love of My Life - Jesse Belvin
15. Stand By Me - Guitar Slim
16. Arabian Love Call - Art Neville
17. Harper's Return - Harper Brinson Band
18. Irene - The Holidays
19. Whiskey, Women & Loaded Dice - Joe Liggins & The Honeydrippers
20. Keep A Knockin' - Little Richard
21. It's Spring Again - The Pentagons
22. Superman - Johnny Two-Voice
23. You Were Lyin To Me - Percy Mayfield
24. That Mellow Saxophone - Roy Montrell
25. I - Tony Allen & The Champs

CD3

1. Jump Jack, Jump! - Wynona Carr
2. Mamo Mamo - Marvin & Johnny
3. Oooh-Wee Baby - Art Neville
4. Ready Teddy - Little Richard
5. King Cotton - Lloyd Lambert
6. Tears On My Pillow - The Chimes
7. The Sound Of Your Voice - David Ford & The Ebbtides
8. Do Baby Do - Ernest Kador
9. Twenty-Five Lies - Guitar Slim
10. Ay Tete Fee - Clifton Chenier
11. One Little Blessing - Jesse Belvin
12. Oo Ee Baby - Lloyd Price
13. True to You Baby - Neal Johnson
14. Baby, You're Rich - Percy Mayfield
15. What Can I Do? - Roy Milton
16. Just Because - Larry Williams
17. Forever - Sam Cooke
18. Ooh Bop She Bop - The Dukes
19. It's True - The Twilighters
20. Someday, Somewhere, Somehow - Wynona Carr
21. The Letter - Don & Dewey
22. Sweet Breeze - Vernon Green & The Phantoms
23. Broke - Chuck Higgins
24. Send Me Some Lovin' - Little Richard
25. Flippin' - Rene Hall
26. Floppin' Stevie D'Or and his Dockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIZZY MISS LIZZY CD - THE SPECIALTY STORY - 1954-1960, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Moira May (Hull, East yorshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
EXCELLENT CD THIS, HOWEVER THESE TRACKS ARE SPOILT AS THEY HAVE BEEN PUT INTO STEREO! THESE TITLES ARE RUINED BY REMASTERING AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN NOT TAMPERED WITH, HOWEVER AS THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO OBTAIN THESE TRACKS TODAY, THEN THIS FORCES COLLECTORS TO BUY THESE CDs IN THIS FORM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTING!, 8 Jan 2014
By 
B. M. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
To those of us brought up with the divine Specialty cuts of Larry Williams, Little Richard et al this collection leaves a lot to be desired.
Sure, there are examples of these artists' work-but nowhere near enough. At least half the material is mediocre to awful and should probably have been left in the vaults or expunged from history.

Have we reached the point now where ANYTHING recorded 50 or 60 years ago is considered "important" when in reality so much of it was just as ephemeral and trivial as most of today's pop?

Come on you guys at One Day, Ace etc- exercise some discernment before rushing to re-issue everything you can get your hands on. Even at these admittedly reasonable prices we deserve stuff that is worth more than one listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can one say?, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
A tribute to one of the great independent labels of the 1950s. There's not one track that I don't like. Beats the hell out of today's factory produced crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the good, the bad and the mediocre, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
the first cd is sublime, peppered with wonderful orchesrations and beautifully played by the most gifed players of their day also some sentimental songs, I know where I`m going, the rest was a woeful tale of why british pop went so badly wrong in the early 60`s and worth a listen if just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CD Review, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Ron Hills (Havant, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
it's ok the music is good on the cd's it is ideal for playing in the car, instead of the rubbish you get on most of todays radio stations. It plays well with out any skipping or jumping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dizzy Miss Lizzy, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 (Audio CD)
AS the title says Specialty and that is what it is , i found a lot of music that i like to hear as i drive around the country and i with out any doubt recomend to all that like good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960
Dizzy Miss Lizzy: The Specialty Story - 1954-1960 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews