Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing My Foolish Heart I'm So Unhappy.
WAR PAINT
THE GONE RECORDS STORY
1957 -1962 contains

75 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS by the original artists.

It is on 3 CDS BUT Amazon have `scrunched' all the tracks and artists together which makes it hard to see which artist is by which track and vice versa.
So I've cleaned it up and spaced it out for you.
Grab these discs while you...
Published 11 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War Paint
Nothing wrong with the price or quality of the product, but I find the content poor. I have a vast collection of early music and some of these titles I had never heard before. Now I think I know why. However there are some good tracks on it, but they are rather outnumbered
Published 8 months ago by Robert Theobald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing My Foolish Heart I'm So Unhappy., 7 Aug 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
WAR PAINT
THE GONE RECORDS STORY
1957 -1962 contains

75 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS by the original artists.

It is on 3 CDS BUT Amazon have `scrunched' all the tracks and artists together which makes it hard to see which artist is by which track and vice versa.
So I've cleaned it up and spaced it out for you.
Grab these discs while you can because next year the laws on copy write will tighten up and fall in line with the Americans (God Bless `em).
(Now all we need to do is for them to stop putting region 2 on UK DVD releases to compensate?)

If you are cutting and pasting ignore the last track on CD3

CD1

1. War Paint - Bill Haley & His Comets
2. You Don't Know What You've Got - Ral Donner
3. Bermuda - Four Seasons
4. Baby Come Back - Johnny Rivers
5. Could This Be Magic - The Dubs
6. The Spider - Doc Bagby
7. I'll Never Cry - The Earls
8. Come Softly To Me - Richard Barrett
9. Angel Face - The Neons
10. Mine - Jimmy Stone
11. Can I Come Over Tonight - The Velours
12. Everybody's Gonna Rock And Roll - The Isley Brothers
13. I Love You (Sherry) - Enchantments
14. Beachcomber - Jo Ann Campbell
15. 07-Nov - The Gone All Stars
16. Pretty Little Girl - The Shells
17. All Danced Out - Darryl Jenson
18. Branded - Richie Robin
19. Ding Dong Darling - Carter Rays
20. Angel In Disguise - The Inspirations
21. Cool, Cool Baby - Connie & Lee
22. The Beggar Became A Kin - Johnny Jack
23. A Lover's Plea - Mack Vickery
24. Please Don't Go - Ral Donner
25. Never Let Him Go - The Carousels

CD2

1. The Drag - The Isley Brothers
2. Spanish Lace - Four Seasons
3. Pancake Hop - Doc Bagby
4. Mama (Can I Go Out) - Jo Ann Campbell
5. Lamplight - Deltas
6. School Of Heartbreakers - Ral Donner
7. Such Lovin' - The Dubs
8. Goin' Back To St. Louis - Mack Vickery
9. My Love - The Isley Brothers
10. King Of Fools - Sam Hawkins
11. Stool Pigeon - The Inspirations
12. Spanish Twist - Bill Haley & His Comets
13. I'm Confessin' - The Uniques
14. How Much I Love You - Joe Antel
15. Long, Long Walk - Johnny Rivers
16. Maybe You'll Be Mine - Connie & Lee
17. Mama's Boy - The Kokomos
18. I Don't Like It Like That (Pt. 1) - The Bobbettes
19. Mona, My Love - Wild Bill & The Blue Denims
20. If You Want To - The Carousels
21. How Will It End - Johnny Carl
22. Chapel Of Dreams - The Dubs
23. Let's Fall In Love - Tony Middleton & The Willows
24. That's My Desire - The Channels
25. Summer's Love - Richard Barrett & The Chantels

CD3

1. You're Free To Go - The Dubs
2. My Secret Love - Carter Rays
3. Girl Of My Best Friend - Ral Donner
4. I'm In Love With You - Darryl Jenson
5. My Kind Of Woman - Bill Haley & His Comets
6. Come On Home - The Enchantments
7. Girls! - Joe Antel
8. I Wanna Know - The Isley Brothers
9. I Ain't Got No Steady Date - Jo Ann Campbell
10. Meant To Be - Mack Vickery
11. Dirty Tricks - The Carousels
12. School Bells - Nicky & The Nobels
13. Long, Black Automobile - Don Elliott
14. All Is Forgiven - Richard Barrett & The Chantels
15. Sippin' Soda - The Shells
16. The Chase - Wild Bill & The Blue Denims
17. Stay As You Are - The Channels
18. Touch Me - Johnny Jack
19. Never Bite Off More Than You Can Chew - Andrew Taylor
20. The Dance Is Over - Bonnie Lane
21. Devil In Disguise - Stan Mitchell
22. My Foolish Heart - The Excels
23. I'm So Unhappy - Uniques
24. Riviera - Bill Haley & His Comets
25. Pretty Little Thing - The Carousel
26. Angel in Disguise - Stevie D'Or and The Dockers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Compilation, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "traceyann" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
This is a review for music lovers (NOT list lovers).

This 3 disc set from `One Day Music' compiles 75 tracks from George Goldner's `Gone' label from 1957 - 1962. There were some great names on this independent label - Bill Hayley, The Dubs, Four Seasons, The Isley Brothers and the great Ral Donner to name only a few. For the most part the music is a mix of Doo Wop, Instrumentals, Jump & Jive and Rock n' Roll. As always with these compilations there is no booklet - just a one sided intro to the label itself. The sound quality is variable as always with these public domain compilations, but overall it's good (but not great).

Cd 1. (59.18mins). There are some top tracks on this disc including - `Baby come back' by Johnny Rivers (sounds like Elvis' -Santa bring my baby back to me'), `Everybody's gonna rock n' roll' by the Isley Brothers and `The Beggar became a king' by Johnny Jack which is great stuff. 8.5/10.

Cd 2. (60.30mins). This disc is a little weaker in my opinion, but it does contain two fantastic tracks - `School of heartbreakers' by Ral Donner and `Let's fall in love' by The Willows (what a great voice Tony Middleton had). 7.5/10.

Cd 3. (58.00mins ). Contains Ral Donner's version of Charlie Blackwell's original - `Girl of my best friend' (E.P's version is the best though). Another good disc overall, very enjoyable mix of tracks. There are some Teen orientated tracks on this disc that work quite well - Mack Vickery and Daryl Jensen. I love 'Devil in disguise' by Stan Mitchell. 8/10.

Overall, great value for money, the sound quality could be better in places but what do you want for a fiver. Recommended, very enjoyable. 8.5/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gone Gone Gone, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
Brilliant, the hits and obscurities, a short-term label that opened doors for some of it's stars early on in their careers.
Great to hear Ral Donner again and some Billy Haley non-hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War Paint, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
Nothing wrong with the price or quality of the product, but I find the content poor. I have a vast collection of early music and some of these titles I had never heard before. Now I think I know why. However there are some good tracks on it, but they are rather outnumbered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
This item was very pleasing to listen to although it was not what I thought it would be like. Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars war paint the gone records story 1957-1962, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
the music is very good afew hidden gemm hidding away,ifully recomend this to all who like to listern to very good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 (Audio CD)
This CD is realy awful. Sorry I know other reviews have have said that is good. Well that their personal choice. I hat this CD. It is not Evern. Part of my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962
War Paint: The Gone Records Story - 1957-1962 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews