Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing Oh My Goodness -It Ain't Necessarily So!
The Brunswick UK Vaults 1959 - 1962 has 60 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS spread over 3 CDs.

BUT Amazon have `scrunched' all the tracks and artists together which makes it hard to see which artist is by which track and vice versa.

So I've cleaned it up and spaced it out for you.
Grab these discs while you can because next year the laws on copy write will...
Published 24 months ago by Glenn Cook

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars should be annonced as a country and western compilation
country and western is not my favourite kind of music.
except Brenda Lee which is more rock and roll, I found this compilation of a very poor quality.
Never mind but wouldn't recommend it.
Published 21 months ago by Corbin Gérard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Track Listing Oh My Goodness -It Ain't Necessarily So!, 7 Aug. 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
The Brunswick UK Vaults 1959 - 1962 has 60 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS spread over 3 CDs.

BUT Amazon have `scrunched' all the tracks and artists together which makes it hard to see which artist is by which track and vice versa.

So I've cleaned it up and spaced it out for you.
Grab these discs while you can because next year the laws on copy write will tighten up and fall in line with the Americans (God Bless `em).
(Now all we need to do is for them to stop putting region 2 on UK DVD releases to compensate?)

If you are cutting and pasting ignore the last track on CD 3?

For a 'Fuller' review I suggest you read my co reviewer Mr Fuller's review (sorry I could not resist that pun) It's a good review though!

CD 1

1. I Fall To Pieces - Patsy Cline
2. My Heart Is An Open Book - Carl Dobkins Jnr
3. Speak To Me Pretty - Brenda Lee
4. The Shape You Left Me In - Jimmy Donley
5. Rock Around With Ollie Vee - Buddy Holly
6. Bye Bye Baby - Dante
7. Just As Much As Ever - Bob Beckham
8. Caldonia - Bill Haley & The Comets
9. Yum, Yum, Yum - The Cinderellas
10. House Of Bamboo - Earl Grant
11. New River Train - Bobby Helms
12. Hear Them Bells - Bobby Darin
13. The Inn Of The Sixth Happiness - The Four Aces
14. Come On, Come In - Carmen McRae
15. Oh My Goodness - The Kalin Twins
16. Just About That Time - Roy Drusky
17. I'm Sorry - Brenda Lee
18. Willie Boy - The Perry Sisters
19. Time After Time - Rod McKuen
20. I Ain't Never - Webb Pierce

CD 2

1. Cheat On Me Baby - The Rockin' Saints
2. Sweet Nothin's - Brenda Lee
3. A Little Bitty Tear - Burl Ives
4. If You Don't Want My Lovin' - Carl Dobkins, Jr.
5. Crazy Arms - Bob Beckham
6. Tender Is The Night - Earl Grant
7. Moody - The Kalin Twins
8. No Love Have I - Webb Pierce
9. Carnival - Ginny Arnell
10. Hurry Baby - Bobby Helms
11. Crazy - Patsy Cline
12. Joey's Song - Bill Haley & His Comets
13. Emotions - Brenda Lee
14. This Is Real - Malcolm Dodds
15. It Ain't Necessarily So - Peggy Lee
16. The World Outside - The Four Aces
17. Tammy Tell Me True - Sandra Dee
18. Three Hearts In A Tangle - Roy Drusky
19. That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine - The Wilburn Brothers
20. Shine On Harvest Moon - Jimmy Durante

CD 3

1. It Started All Over Again - Brenda Lee
2. The Greatest Builder - Bobby Darin
3. Lucky Devil - Carl Dobkins Jr.
4. Midnight Shift - Buddy Holly
5. Not One Minute More - Earl Grant
6. MonkeysAnd Butterflies - Guy Warren
7. What Must I Do - Jimmy Donley
8. Zing! Went The Strings Of My Heart - The Kalin Twins
9. Tremble - Malcolm Dodds
10. I Got A Woman - Bill Haley & The Comets
11. Heartaches - Patsy Cline
12. Wait And See - Roy Drusky
13. Your Sweet Love - Bob Beckham
14. Pillow Talk - Rock Hudson
15. I Want To Be Wanted - Brenda Lee
16. Let Me Be - Sam Hawkins
17. Gotta Travel On - Bill Monroe & His Bluegrass Boys
18. Waltzing Matilda - The Four Aces
19. All I Need Is You - Webb Pierce
20. Moon River - Carmen Cavallaro
21. The Holderness Drain -Stevie D'Or and The Dockers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of a very familiar label..., 6 Aug. 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
DAY3CD038

I Fall To Pieces, Gems from The Brunswick UK Vaults 1959 to 1962

CD1 running time 48.32 with recordings from 1955 to 1962
CD2 running time 53.29 with recordings from 1953 to 1962
CD3 running time 50.47 with recordings from 1956 to 1962

The label has a long history with record production going back to 1916 and is still in existence today. Many will recall that in the UK the Brunswick label was the home of American Decca recordings from the 1940s. In the early 1950s the label started issuing rhythm and blues stuff and then from around 1957 pop. Just picture all those labels on the 78s; 45s and new fang led LPs some 10 inch and others 12.
Early artistes included the Kalin Twins who have 3 tracks on here; Roy Drusky also 3; Bill Haley likewise 3; Buddy Holly 2; Brenda Lee an amazing 6; Burl Ives a singleton; Patsy Cline 3; Bobby Helms 2. Not to forget the likes of Bobby Darin; Jimmy Durante, yes; Rock Hudson and the well established pianist Carmen Cavallaro who closes the 3 CD set with his interpretation of the now classic Moon River.
Brian Parks provides the informative liner notes and these are nicely illustrated with 12 small black & white of some of the featured artistes. The sound quality is excellent throughout.
This is yet another in an impressive list of label retrospectives often the only such collection available. Pricewise these are a bargain and for the record collector offer an impressive look back at a specific label. Each track shows the original record number.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All depends on what your looking for?. {AMAZON PURCHASE}, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Howard Griffiths @ gtfm 107.9 (Radio station gtfm 107.9 or www.gtfm.co.uk tune in and enjoy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
As quite a few other people have already said it's mostly C&W , but there's a few exceptional tracks on here .After the KALIN TWINS vanished out of the UK with there one hit wonder "When" in 1958 , {which is not included on this collection } Follow up's never appeared in the shops here ,so a nice little find . White do-op , Four Aces with attic classic's . You may notice that the Roy Drusky track on C/D 1 track 16 is not Just About That Time it's an upbeat version of I'm A Fool , much , much better than the ballad version which Drusky recorded .I'm pleased with the Bobby Helms tracks , we all seem to think of Jingle Bell Rock , and the two Bobby Darin tracks , I have never come across these before. Also lend an ear to a fading Grand Father of Rock'n'Roll Bill Haley and his Comets , but have a play of a new up and coming star Buddy Holly with his first recordings , Rock Around With Ollie Vee top rate rockabilly For me it's obscurity on the cheap .You may ask why not give it 5 stars , some of the best UK Brunswick are missing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another One Day Music Anthology, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
Another nice collection with more than it's fair share of cover versions. There are a number iinteresting tracks including one by Rod McKuen before his voice got shot to pieces. Oddities include Rock Hudson's version of Pillow Talk. And as for the Four Aces version of Waltzing Matilda I'll leave it to you to make up your own mind! Worth more than one listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He loved it just what he wanted, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
Bought for my dad! He loved it just what he wanted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars then I discovered the other wonderful performances herein, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
Must admit Brenda Lee to me was Brunswick, then I discovered the other wonderful performances herein!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value., 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
A very good collection of oldies, which is good to reminisce with. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2015
By 
O. Parry "Big O" (oswestry, shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
lovely thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 (Audio CD)
Good CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962
I Fall To Pieces: The Brunswick UK Vaults - 1959-1962 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews