Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, intense and peppered with humour
The main character Aidan Netherby, is very skilled and committed to his job, so much so that he is forced into some precarious situations. The history behind the actual Order in the book is extremely interesting, and offers an insight into one of Hungary's greatest known unknowns. There are injections of humour thrown in the midst to throw relief on the intensity of the...
Published 13 months ago by Sash88

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Such great promise
It starts off excellently, and gathers momentum, asks questions, and poses dilemmas. Then, about 3/4 of the way in, it seems to stop, and the ending is poor.

There are some good bits of history, and decent descriptions of the settings in Spain and Hungary, but the characterisation is a bit shallow.

Great premise, executed averagely.
Published 2 months ago by Vaclav Havel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, intense and peppered with humour, 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Order (Kindle Edition)
The main character Aidan Netherby, is very skilled and committed to his job, so much so that he is forced into some precarious situations. The history behind the actual Order in the book is extremely interesting, and offers an insight into one of Hungary's greatest known unknowns. There are injections of humour thrown in the midst to throw relief on the intensity of the plot. I found this book exciting and quite different to a lot of other 'thrillers' out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb plot, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Order (Kindle Edition)
If you're a fan of The Da Vinci Code, conspiracy theories surrounding Christianity, and such like, you will love this! Utterly captivating plot, and interesting twists - just when you have reached a conclusion, you will be astonished about the actual outcome! It was good fun getting to learn a bit more about Hungary, and the deep history of the country. This thought-provoking book will make you wonder the extent to which Brother Anonymous is fact or fiction, I shall leave that up to you. Certainly worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A riveting thriller with plenty of twists and sensational plot lines, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read which keeps you involved from start to finish. Interesting cahracters and unusual locations all add to the intrigue. An excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Such great promise, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Vaclav Havel (Praha,Ceska Republika) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order (Kindle Edition)
It starts off excellently, and gathers momentum, asks questions, and poses dilemmas. Then, about 3/4 of the way in, it seems to stop, and the ending is poor.

There are some good bits of history, and decent descriptions of the settings in Spain and Hungary, but the characterisation is a bit shallow.

Great premise, executed averagely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thriller with unexpected happenings., 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order (Kindle Edition)
ive read all of Antal Kovacs books this was the first and my fave of his work, you can tell he was a film maker the story pushes you along, twists, turns and takes you in unexpected directions, i do want more of the main character and hope there will be a squeal. i also want to visit Hungary after reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kept me reading, but end left me stunned with disbelief, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to like this book. The hero seemed a reasonably empathetic sort of guy and his quest suitably intriguing. Liked the flashes of humour too - rare in this kind of book, which often takes itself too seriously. At least Aidan isn't pompous. Pity about the style though (very choppy, lots of heavy guidebook tendencies). Then we start on the half-digested Dan Browne chunks, and then I always start wondering what the inevitable cop out will be. And sure enough . . . How could any 'hero' pull a stunt like that (practically and emotionally) at the end and claim to be human?

By the way, there was the most awful sample of gratuitously violent nastiness by a different author suggested as a follow-up buy on my version. Don't even go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The cocaine snorting assassin monks frighten the living daylights out of me,, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order (Kindle Edition)
I am glad that the villains get their just deserts and the book ends on a relatively happy note, considering all that went before. The relics of the Roman Catholic Church are nothing short of the bizarre and it puts religious beliefs to a diffeernt perspective. However, the book is basically a thriller, and it move along with a ferw unexpected turns of events. It is definitely a page turner. See for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Order (Kindle Edition)
Intriguing and atmospheric, the story is fast paced with a gripping narrative that made me want to read on. The settings of Spain at Easter time and Budapest are very well realised and the mystery is kept up with the search for holy relics and their scientific authentication. I can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Order
The Order by Antal Kovacs
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews