Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.94
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2007
The top & bottom is that this is a collection of some classic Lloyd Cole & The Commotions tracks & that every single one of them is a top quality song.If you really only want a sample of Lloyd's work from this time then this would be the one. All of the best known songs are here & it's a real pleasure to listen to. I can't recommend this record enough, it's got the lot - if you're of a certain age this will be a real trip down memory lane
I love all of LC's work but this often gets a spin when I have friends who aren't ususally that keen or familiar with his stuff, over for a barbecue or really any get together where the wine & lager's flowing & they all love it - treat yourself, I'm sure you will too.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2002
This album contains the biggest hits that Lloyd Cole enjoyed in his brief stint with the Commotions. Listening to songs such as "Perfect Skin", "Lost Weekend" and "Brand New Friend" you wonder how mass acclaim and chart success managed to elude this band. Their lyrics manage to be mordant but also strangely uplifting, and I can't think of another artist who could advise anyone to "read Norman Mailer/or get a new tailor..." The influences of Leonard Cohen and the Byrds can be clearly heard, but Lloyd and the band still had a style all of their own. Superb!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1999
I find it quite amusing that I did not discover Lloyd Cole until the early 1990's - his sound is definitely a departure from the 80's sound and is much more akin to today. I like every single song on this cd which is a strange phenomenon and it is unfortunately missing some of the songs I consider to be among his best - "Don't Look Back", "Waterline" and "Loveless" to name just a few. This is by far one of my favorite cd's of all time. Just because you see the years in the title of the cd, do not think you can guess what it sounds like. Anyone who likes Chris Isacc's voice really ought to check out this band.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
You can probably only name a couple of Lloyd Cole songs but when you listen to this you realise there's more you recognise. Beautifully sung and played Lloyd Cole is in a class of his own.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
For me, Lloyd Coles music can do no wrong. Lyrics are interesting, musicality is superb, track variety is refreshingly varied. Yes, he has a unique voice, which, to me adds so much to the listening experience. Sad that he is no longer writing great songs and making great music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
This collection shows that Lloyd Cole and his Commotions were more than just the single evergreen "Rattlesnakes"...here we have tracks from Easy Pieces and Mainstream too, which make for a great cd. Worth buying for any collection. Formidable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
Every single track on this album would chart today. The quality of the song writing and production are simply off the scale. I am not a LC fan as such, but I just love this collection of songs. BUY and listen on something decent !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2000
In the summer of 1985 i had just broken up a long term relationship. It was a year of change, a season for tearing things down and renewing your lust for life. The two seminal albums for me that summer were David Sylvian's Brilliant Trees and Lloyd Coles Rattlesnakes. They were both radical, moody and brilliantly original in their own way but Rattlesnakes was the album you played at parties because it jangled, buzzed and was eminently hip. Cole's lyrics were at the same time smart ass and beat cool. The melodies literally sang ! His lyrical observations were cutting with references to writers, films and famous people, at the same time mythologysing or destroying the friends, lovers, acquaintances and heroes that inhabited his vignettes with the best use of irony in the business. Back that up with a tight ass band that rocked with a sophisticated country feel and you had a band and an album to define the 80's. Pay particular attention to songs like Perfect Skin and Forest Fire - there aren't better 3 minute pop songs in anyone's repetoire and it made for an impressive debut. He pushed the envelope further with the subsequent albums. The songs becoming more complex and dark - Cut me Down, Brand New Friend, Mr Malcontent but each album in turn containing melodic gems like Jennifer She Said and From the Hip. He should have been great, in fact he was and he is, its just that the lowest common denominator that operates with popularity and good taste saw a whole generation miss out on hearing one very talented songwriter and a great band. He was a bit too talented for them all especially the headless chickens that run commercial radio. Buy and enjoy - there isnt better pure pop poetry than this around anywhere.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Every track is a gem,the songs and words are top class,i have never really got into this band before,
but the cd was at a great price so i took a chance,glad i did,happy days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Good album for those how remember them when they were first about and a good intro to anyone who likes alerted singer song writers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99
£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)