Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book brings the family to life
I approached this book with some trepidation, having always previously thought George III and his family were a pretty dull or unpleasant crowd. This book changed my mind completely. The author has done a splendid job in bringing them to life, presenting them sympathetically without glossing over their faults and emphasising their virtues. The Prince Regent may have been...
Published on 12 Feb. 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better
Having loved William and Mary by the same author i looked forward to reading this book. I found this book heavy going and found i was frequently having to stop and look up which one of the fifteen children they were referring to. It would have been a better idea if it had been split up and about one child at a time. Did not like this book at all.
Published 9 months ago by Lisa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book brings the family to life, 12 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: George III's Children (Paperback)
I approached this book with some trepidation, having always previously thought George III and his family were a pretty dull or unpleasant crowd. This book changed my mind completely. The author has done a splendid job in bringing them to life, presenting them sympathetically without glossing over their faults and emphasising their virtues. The Prince Regent may have been an obnoxious husband and a bad father, but a kind brother, while the notorious Duke of Cumberland was a capable soldier and later King of Hanover, far removed from the reactionary monster of time-honoured legend. All the characters, even those unfortunate daughters, are portrayed vividly in the writer's very readable, soundly-researched prose, and the variety of illustrations (portraits, places, caricatures) is first-rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 16 Sept. 2006
By 
This review is from: George III's Children (Paperback)
I found this book very easy to read and most enjoyable. The family tree line at the back of the book is of most help to figure out who's who, as it does get a bit confusing in part when the auther referes to the children via there title not there name.

The children are quite differnet. The boys are sent to Germany for varios different reasons where as the poor girls are kept in the 'nunneray' until its to late to either marry or when they do marry no change of having any children of there own.

Well worth buying for an easy read and very informative about English royal history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George III's Children (Paperback)
Full of information that you cannot easily find anywhere else. Brings these people to life, and explores their relationships with each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 1 Oct. 2014
This review is from: George III's Children (Kindle Edition)
Having loved William and Mary by the same author i looked forward to reading this book. I found this book heavy going and found i was frequently having to stop and look up which one of the fifteen children they were referring to. It would have been a better idea if it had been split up and about one child at a time. Did not like this book at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars George 111's children, 6 Sept. 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Key (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George III's Children (Kindle Edition)
A good and informative read, but would have been much easier to follow all the different characters if there had been a genealogic table at the beginning of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delightfull book, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George III's Children (Paperback)
A really enjoyable and well written book. Gives a real insight into the life of George III and his very large family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it; -), 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George III's Children (Kindle Edition)
Very readable, enjoyed it ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George III's Children
George III's Children by John Van der Kiste
£6.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews