Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight
Katherine Stewart wrote in her book A Croft in the Hills, about three people (herself, her husband Jim and young daughter, Helen) taking to the hills 1,000 feet above Loch Ness to live "quiet lives, hill-top farming under a wide sky".

She writes with beautiful simplicity, as a woman that can turn hardship into something to be valued and the simple things we...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by C. Emmas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars worth a read on yours holidays
Its abit repetitive in the middle of the book about the crops. Its a relaxing book to read. I think I would of enjoyed having a holiday at the croft in spring time, that would be right up my street. I'm glad to hear about Helens life at the end.
Published 6 months ago by karen hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
Actually very disappointing. I read the reviews and was expecting an account of life not only on a croft but in the beautiful setting of Scotland. Unfortunately it read more as a list of chores, garden and arable plants and how wonderful the neighbours were. There is no emotion, other than how happy they were, no poignant or evocative description of the surrounding countryside. It is literally " we did this, then this, then this" . What a pity. Not what I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not very exciting, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
needed more of a buzz about it, it is very repetitive from one year to next and could do with a bit more excitement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, I even got my husband reading it ..., 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read, I even got my husband reading it as well and he thoroughly enjoyed it! If you love Scotland and all good things in life you will love it. There is so much technology in this world that we live in nowadays and so much paperwork, I would like to go and live in this lovely croft in the hills of wonderful Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The hard and good life, 12 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. D. Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
A good read describing the hard life in the crofting community in the highlands of Scotland. It is written in such a way that you almost feel part of what was going on and you can relate to the hard times and the good times equally well. A recommended read free of bad language and inuendos that spoil so many books today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
A really good read about crofting and how hard it was to make a living without moden appliances like we have now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book :-), 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book.
It is about a family who want more space for living in than a 'semi in london with a tiny garden' - they want proper space to grow their food, raise animals and give their daughter space to run in ! So they move to scotland and buy the croft and it's small amount of land.
We hear about how they gradually do up the croft, get the land back into working order, get some animals and generally live. It's a hard life but there's very little complaining going on - they knew it wouldn't be a fairytale. To me it sounds a hard life but very enjoyable (if i'm honest i'd love to do it myself !)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle read, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
A trip,back to days gone by and a life we may all dream of.
Humour and pathos and some delightful 'characters'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life in the Highlands, 14 April 2014
By 
ALUN PRICE-DAVIES (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
A lovely tale of crofting life in the Highlands above Loch Ness. True to life with no punches pulled but portraying the harshness of the environment but the beauty of the landscape and the neighbourliness of the community/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
Loved this book along with her other book A hovel in the Hills. Very well written and enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars admire the guts and resilience of this couple, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
am enjoying the read and am impressed by the resilience of this couple and the warm neighbourliness of their
neighbours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Croft in the Hills
A Croft in the Hills by Katharine Stewart
£3.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews