Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight
Katherine Stewart wrote in her book A Croft in the Hills, about three people (herself, her husband Jim and young daughter, Helen) taking to the hills 1,000 feet above Loch Ness to live "quiet lives, hill-top farming under a wide sky".

She writes with beautiful simplicity, as a woman that can turn hardship into something to be valued and the simple things we...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by C. Emmas

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too long ago
Of course it is a very nice book. But the author wrote it from too great a distance and idealised her life during that period out of all proportion. In the end they couldn't cope so they must have had great problems and she mentions them, but it seems like nothing touched her. It is still all wonderful, and whatever painful changes they have to make, it is quickly passed...
Published 18 months ago by Leonie


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 26 Jun 2011
By 
C. Emmas "music is math" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
Katherine Stewart wrote in her book A Croft in the Hills, about three people (herself, her husband Jim and young daughter, Helen) taking to the hills 1,000 feet above Loch Ness to live "quiet lives, hill-top farming under a wide sky".

She writes with beautiful simplicity, as a woman that can turn hardship into something to be valued and the simple things we daily take for granted into treasures. We could all do with a good healthy dollop of her spirit - the world would be a much finer place for it.

"When you have lived for a few years in the bare uplands, where life has been precarious from the start, you learn, first, not to panic. Then you are ready to love wholeheartedly what need no longer be feared. You become so deeply involved in the true drama of cherishing life itself that mere attitudes and the pursuit of possessions are discarded as absurd. You discover that under snow there is bread, the secret bread, that sustains."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem of a book, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book, I found it difficult to put down yet I didn't want it to be over. Katherine Stewart shares the story of her and her families life on a croft in the North of Scotland. A life full of richness, warmth and companionship. She has the ability to make you feel like you are experiencing nature and the elements first hand. There was so many times during this book that I felt Katherine was sharing her wisdom of life. A wisdom that should be passed onto many generations to come. A book to enjoy and savour, it will leave its memory with you...just as any visit to the hills and lochs of North Scotland will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tales of a bygone age, 1 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
This is a charming tale of a bygone age. A couple decide to give up life in the fast lane to try farming on a croft in Scotland. Life without running water and limited electricity is unimaginable now- but their life was so rewarding despite these tough living conditions. It brought back wonderful memories of my dad's stories about hill farming when he was a child. It really is an evocative tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, well written and description very good, 10 Aug 2011
By 
Mrs. L. Y. Higgins "True Life stories" (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
After having read this book, the first thing I wanted to do was get away to the Scottish Highlands and live the life of a crofter. Makes us realise that although it is hard to adjust to this type of life, it is probably one of the most rewarding. Leaving the rate race would suit me perfectly, so I thoroughly enjoyed reading someone's else's experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well writted, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
Again having ready many books of this genre this is amongst the best of the genre offering a useful social history as well as the expected collection of anecdotes and is is somewhat better written than most of its kind. A nice well written read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touching and inspiring - a great antidote to hurried 21st century lifestyles, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
This is a wonderful book. Simply written, it describes in great detail everyday life on a small Highland croft. Of course the period it relates to seems very remote to us now, but the feelings and observations of the author seem to me still highly relevant today. I found her descriptions of landscapes and incidents memorable and her own reflections often very moving. The sort of book which lightens your heart and helps you put the trivia of daily life in our present materialistic world in its proper place. I will definitely return to this book when I want comfort and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply a cracking read, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
if, like me ,you long to escape the rat race but cant afford a "get away from it all" croft in the highlands....whats the next best thing...reading about it ! is it torture...well ,yeah but it is also a form of dreaming/planing !
a croft in the hills tells you about the trials and tribulations of running a hill farm near loch ness.
i found it a really enjoyable story.i read a lot of this sort of book and it is now rated second only to "the kerecher man" in my "dreaming of living in a scottish west coast croft" collection [ahem]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too long ago, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
Of course it is a very nice book. But the author wrote it from too great a distance and idealised her life during that period out of all proportion. In the end they couldn't cope so they must have had great problems and she mentions them, but it seems like nothing touched her. It is still all wonderful, and whatever painful changes they have to make, it is quickly passed over with a few happy remarks. Like when their only horse drowns in the bog, horrible of course, but better than if he had grown old and sick and died a slow painful death. And when the child first visits the best school in the world, pages of lyrical description about this marvellous little school. Then the distance gets too much, so she has to visit the school nearby they first deemed not good enough. But miracle of miracles: this too is a marvellous little school. All the neighbours are neighbours from heaven. Without anybody asking them, they arrive with horses, carts and men to help with the harvest. And so on and so forth. I must confess it started to grate on me. So, no, no more than three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed., 27 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Kindle Edition)
Actually very disappointing. I read the reviews and was expecting an account of life not only on a croft but in the beautiful setting of Scotland. Unfortunately it read more as a list of chores, garden and arable plants and how wonderful the neighbours were. There is no emotion, other than how happy they were, no poignant or evocative description of the surrounding countryside. It is literally " we did this, then this, then this" . What a pity. Not what I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Croft in the Hills (Paperback)
A really good read about crofting and how hard it was to make a living without moden appliances like we have now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Croft in the Hills
A Croft in the Hills by Katharine Stewart
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews