Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cuts to the chase without too much jargon
Counselling Skills for Dummies initially looks as if it's going to trivialise a potentially complex subject, but in fact the author is blessed with the gift of simplicity in her writing style. The book is surprisingly meaty and will be of interest to qualified counsellors, rather than people just wanting to offer their friends some tea and sympathy.

There are...
Published 7 months ago by not_a_real_folkie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
My wife is a counsellor with the NHS so I got this mainly for her but have to say she has been less than impressed by it.

Her main complaints were that the information contained was too superficial and she told me that rather than 'A little knowledge being useful' it was more of a case that people would read something like this and think they could then offer...
Published 7 months ago by AndyBSG


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cuts to the chase without too much jargon, 19 Dec 2013
By 
not_a_real_folkie "not_a_real_folkie" (Farnham, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Counselling Skills for Dummies initially looks as if it's going to trivialise a potentially complex subject, but in fact the author is blessed with the gift of simplicity in her writing style. The book is surprisingly meaty and will be of interest to qualified counsellors, rather than people just wanting to offer their friends some tea and sympathy.

There are chapters on establishing helping relationships, beginnings and endings, dealing with tricky issues ("You're being messed around", "Someone is being harmed", to name but two that are dealt with effectively) and taking care of yourself. There are some thought-provoking "Ten..." sections at the end of the book (Ten resources, Ten great counselling books...).

As I mentioned, the author avoids jargon as much as possible, so you won't find any setting out of stalls in terms of humanist, psychodynamic, person-centred etc. Instead there is a focus on listening skills and learning to appreciate different techniques. At the end of the book the writer invites those who are interested to 'investigate further' and suggests some ways in which we could do that.

In summary, the book knows its place and is a deeper introduction than one might expect from the title. It doesn't dig deeply into any single area - there are 'heavy' books for that - but even seasoned counsellors can find a fresh appreciation for techniques outside their usual palette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good basic primer, 15 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Dk Hamm "hornet123" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am not a student or practitioner in this area but do have a personal interest. I have found this book to be ideal for anyone who wants a good basic understanding of counselling techniques but does not have a background in the subject.

As with all Dummies books, it takes you through the subject step by step in easy to understand language. It is full of tips and exercises to try out. Its main aim is to give a basic understanding of counselling in different circumstances and it does this very well. It is ideal for people with family or friends who may need a friendly shoulder or someone to confide in. It is not an in depth tutorial, nor is it meant to be, but more in depth counselling skills should probably be left to professionals.

I found the book to be interesting and easy to follow. Just don't read it through and assume that you have all the knowledge and expertise of a professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Counselling Skills for Dummies, 19 Dec 2013
By 
P. A. Ward "patsywoo" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is titled counselling skills but actually it's more about listening skills. Teaching you how to be a listening helper rather than to counsel people. It's not intended to teach you how to be a professional counsellor but it very useful for those who use listening skills as part of their job or everyday life. I'm just embarking on working as a lay pastoral visitor and i've found this book really useful alongside the course that i've just taken. Would be good also for health visitors, nurses, carers, care home workers, prison visitors or indeed anyone who listens to others issues and problems. It also focuses on how to look after your own health, so that you can carry on this work effectively. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 9 Dec 2013
By 
AndyBSG "A. Graham" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My wife is a counsellor with the NHS so I got this mainly for her but have to say she has been less than impressed by it.

Her main complaints were that the information contained was too superficial and she told me that rather than 'A little knowledge being useful' it was more of a case that people would read something like this and think they could then offer real counselling advice which could end up doing much more damage than good.

Overall, as an assistance to someone who may be studying counselling for a formal qualification then this may be useful but for anything else your better off leaving well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading and straight to the point 10/10!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as I am currently studying Counselling but my Tutor can be a little off the mark with stuff so after some review reading and recommendations I bought this book and I can honestly say it does what it saying on the tin. Easy to read and I will defiantly be buying more of the "for dummies" books for my next courses. Quick delivery and a good price - cheaper than the usual high street book stores
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to read, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Book was very easy to pick up and gave a clear way into the basic skills needed to start being a considerate listener. What I liked most was the straight forward language, yet good enough to be used as a companion for any introduction to counselling. So if you are interested being an active and non judgemental listener, and have skills to look after yourself, at work or just in every day life, this book is a nice easy way in for any student or learner...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brill book that covers all topics. Really would recommend it to any considering counselling as it details all the information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. S. D. Mcginty "Sam" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Being very new to the art of listening, I needed a book that could help me understand the basic principles of counselling: what I needed to understamd about the practice, what I needed to understand about other people, and what I needed to recognise in myself. This book seems to provide a firm basis for this understanding and if you treat it, typically for a 'Dummies' book, as an introduction and a spark for further inquiry, you will find here what you are looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 23 Jan 2014
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is probably not going to make you a counsellor but it's a good introduction to counselling. Like many books in the series of books for dummies, it's written in a simple language without too much jargon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for counsellors, 16 Jan 2014
By 
J. Lyne (Forres, Morayshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is one of the deeper and more challenging For Dummies books I have read. The topic by its very nature is extremely complex and is probably beyond the scope of a single book.

Notwithstanding this, the book actually provides both the novice and those of us with some experience with some excellent advice, tips and techniques for either beginning in the field or developing our skills.

It begins by introducing the subject and moves straight on to the most important of counselling which is the fact that the counsellor needs to start with themselves. It then teaches the basics of good practice before moving on to listening. From here on things get quite involved with the area of developing relationships and understanding of people and problems before introducing ways of dealing with difficult situations and various skills the counsellor can employ. There is also a reading list for those who want to go deeper.

As I stated before, this is a huge subject which this book only begins to cover. However it does so in a logical and easy to understand way with plenty of tips, tricks and anecdotes to hold the interest. A good way to begin the journey.

Another winner in the For Dummies series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Counselling Skills For Dummies
10.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews