Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars152
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2014
There are very few books that have made me truly laugh out loud, this novella is one of them. The premise is that Betty finds herself in debt, big debt, her husband neglected to say he had been made redundant a year ago and their savings were gone, and their bank account severely overdrawn and a loan shark was knocking on their door, but that was not the worst of it following her errant husband she finds where he has been spending his days, with a lady of the night in a somewhat compromised position.

Betty put me in mind of a Hyacinth Bucket type middle-class well to do status conscious middle aged lady, living in a leafy suburban four bedroomed house with her mother-in-law and estate agent husband, days are spent caring for the household, attending the local country club, and meeting with the ladies of the literarily group. She is 'proper' and thus moaned and criticised by her nearest and [almost] dearest.

As Betty throws out her husband and their daughter arrives stating she has left her boring partner, daughter brings with her to read the latest smash "50 shades of grey", just a few captured sentences sends Betty's blush level to scarlet. Needing money and fast Betty talks herself into writing a story and it seems alternate bedroom acrobatics are the dish de jour. But there is a flaw in her plot, namely she knows very little about sex, let alone anything remotely kinking connected to rumpy pumpy; she types into the internet "Show me a free pornographic film, please" [I did say she was proper]. Where her mouse takes her is a journey of hilarity and misdirection.

The chaos that ensues is worthy of any TV situation comedy. Her innocent and naive writing goes viral and she suddenly there are thousands of fans desperately waiting for the next chapter.

I found this really so enjoyable and comfortable that I will definitely be buying the sequel!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Betty Berry is a 65-year-old suburban housewife who has never had a dirty thought in her life -- until her husband quits, leaving her with his debts (along with a grisly coffin-shaped debt collector), his ghastly old mother, and a house that is about to be sold over her head. To make matters even worse, Betty's bossy daughter arrives, having abandoned her own marriage. So what is Betty to do?

All her life, she has dreamed of being a bestselling novelist, but her (serious, literary) novel has never seen the light. Can she write her way out of her dilemma? Can she make enough out of publishing with KDP to get out of this financial mess? Inspiration strikes when her eyes land on the copy of Fifty Shades of Grey that her daughter has carried along. It made a helluva lot of money, didn't it? So why not try a new genre?

Forthwith, Betty embarks on the authorship of erotica. She might be woefully ignorant of the grubby details, but the dominatrix who has been tendering to her errant husband's base desires is keen to provide the needed info. Still more hilarity is added when she gets unexpected backing from a manufacturer of sex toys, which adds a few zeroes to all that lovely moola from Mr Amazon.

It is surprisingly clean, and outrageously funny. As a reviewer on Amazon commented, it is laugh-out-loud-on-the-bus reading. I got through it in one evening, because I just couldn't put it down.

Give it a go. You will thank me.
33 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2014
Firstly, I must say this book is a refreshing 'sideways' glance at a very well known erotic trilogy.

I liked the fact that the main character was written from both the first, and in some cases, the 3rd person. The absence of an 'acrobatic inner goddess' was again, refreshing.

The crossover from the daily life of what one can only refer to as a 'Hyacinth Bucket' lady (It's bouquet actually!), is very well done.

The book doesn't take it's self too seriously but, adding the menacing element of money lenders/debt collectors, in a very honest light will, I'm sure be an eye opener for many people.

All in all a very enjoyable read.

Remember tho, a mother in law is for life.....
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
'My Granny Writes Erotica' is the very funny title of this very funny novella. Betty, at a late stage of her life, finds herself alone after her husband is unfaithful with a prostitute. Poor Betty is left behind with a load of debts and a wickedly funny mother-in-law. Betty's reluctant solution is to turn her hand to writing erotic fiction in the hope that it will become a bestseller like 'Fifty Shades of Grey'.

I raced through this book and found it terribly funny. The characterisation is excellent. Leading the cast, Betty is a lovely comic creation; she grabs the sympathy of the reader while still remaining wildly funny. She constantly strives for middle to upper class values and this makes her getting to grips with all manner of sex toys and the art of writing erotica all the more funny. For me, Muriel, the mother-in-law, was possibly even funnier than Betty herself, always sticking her nose in and putting her daughter-in-law down. The scenes featuring both Betty and Muriel are comic bliss.

I also enjoyed the knowing commentary on self-publishing. I recognised and chuckled at Betty's frustrations and experience in going it alone in the publishing world. Does Betty triumph? As if I'd say here; you'll have to read it for yourself! The book does contain brief descriptions of sexual acts but it is always laced with humour. Betty's disbelief that such things are possible are a joy to watch unfold! As long as you're not a total prude, you'll love this entertaining book. I believe a sequel is to be written following its success. Great!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I've read a few of this author's books before and they have always entertained, she does humour very well, but this latest title from her is the best yet. It even had me laughing out loud, which is rare for me!

The story concerns a grandmother called Betty, she has been writing her romance book for many years and has been constantly rejected. At the same time her marriage crumbles leaving her in severe debt with her mother-in-law, her daughter and her granddaughter to look after. She needs money desperately and hits upon the idea of writing an erotic novel for some quick money.

Naturally things don't go quite as expected and from that premise hilarity ensues. This is a very funny book, Betty's exploration in to hardcore BDSM is brilliantly done. The mother-in-law's occasional appearance also spices things up and the early scene with her and a bruiser was my first big chuckle of the story.

As with some of the author's other stories it pokes some fun at writers and publishing, although there's humour throughout it's also a solid story. As ever the writing is well constructed and flows nicely, making this a quick, but excellent read.

I'm pleased to hear that there will be a sequel, so I'll be looking out for that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Laugh out loud story with believable family moments.Relationships surviving stressful times.Unusual characters.You feel for Betty and her plight to clear her debts hiring a prostitute to enhance the tale.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 28 July 2013
A cracking little novella that can be read in a couple of hours, ideal for anyone who has ever wondered just who writes those erotic novels on Amazon. Betty, who would certainly class herself as a Lady with a capital L, has been writing and rewriting a novel for the past 20 years but when needs dictate, she decides to revamp her "baby" as an erotic serial a la 50 Shades. The fun starts when she has to try and keep it a secret from her mother in law and daughter, as well as try to work out what these strange sex toys that arrive in the post are used for, and how she can incorporate them into her book.

This is a story definitely for adults, not offensive in any way, despite the subject matter, just a very well written, smashing little read which is smuttily funny.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
This book was quite funny in places, I liked the main character and did feel a bit sorry for her, what a horrible Husband, and nasty Mother in Law.

It did make me smile and laugh a few times.

An okay read.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I chuckled my way all through this. It's endearingly funny. My only complaint is that it's too short, but never mind, I just downloaded the sequel. I hope it keeps up the standard set by the first book.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Rosen has done it again; won me over with her hilarious sense of humour! I love My Granny Writes Erotica!! It is laugh out loud comedy which you will read time and time again. I know I will, will you?
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse