Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Courage, Friendship and Faith
This book should be a 'must-read' for everyone! Not only is it a story of courage and inspiration as the first reviewer wrote, it also describes the richness of friendship in a family and among friends of the Yousafzai family. The book is well-written and interesting and I couldn't put it down! The background to events in the Swat Valley is valuable as are the...
Published 11 months ago by Ann Gleeson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good...but...
I struggled to know what star rating to put for this book for a few reasons.

I enjoyed reading the book and felt I learned a lot that I didn't know previously. It certainly educated me in an engaging and interesting way.

My problem with the book is that approximately 75% of it is about her father - what he says, what he does and what he thinks. The...
Published 8 months ago by SM


‹ Previous | 17 8 918 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brave Brave Girl, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing story, told by an incredible brave child, whose countrymen tried to silence her!! Well done, too you Malala Yousafzai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and informative, 14 Jan 2014
By 
E. Phillips (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating and informative book. It gives a real insight into the complex politics in Pakistan. I found it far more informative than some books on Pakistan that I have read that were written by so called intellectuals.
It also highlights the debilitating life of ordinary devout Muslim families under the rule of The Taliban. A remarkable story from a brave young lady proudly supported by her father in the face of radical Muslims determined to enforce their fanatical radical beliefs on a peace loving community. It particularly highlights the difficulties encountered by young women determined to have themselves a good education and I felt it was far more informative than the book "Three cups of tea" which dealt with the same subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational book!, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to support the cause and because of the inspiration it can give others around me. Admirable young lady!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great easy yet informative read, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Kindle Edition)
This book is nicely written with moments of utter beauty. It gives you an insight into the challenges people and particularly girls face in Pakistan. Inspiring young girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Kindle Edition)
I am not too sure how much of this book can actually be attributed to Malala herself. The ideology and argumentation seem to some straight from her father - indeed large parts of the book describe the father's life and career, much of which Malala herself cannot have witnessed. The style and organisation certainly owe much to the co-writer, or probably more accurately, ghost writer - it is difficult to believe that a 16-year-old girl for whom English is a second language could have conceived and constructed a work like this, let alone expressed herself with the elegance and coherence of this text. Howeveer, even if the work is not hers, but a creation inspired by her personality and fate, it is still well worth reading. The descriptions of life in Pakistan are vivid and memorable. And above all, if this book helps the fate of girls and women in Pakistan today by drawing attention to the wholescale discrimination they suffer, then that alone is enough to make it worth reading. So read it and reflect! And add your voice to those defending females from oppression in this part of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am Malala, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The most extraordinary writings and thoughts of an extraordinary girl. A girl who found the courage to stand up for what she believed ir right. What a role model she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Kindle Edition)
excellent book could not put it down . real life story from an amazing girl with determination to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truly mind blowing, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent read, great story, very powerful and emotive. Worth a read for sure. Would highly recommend for sure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - Great person!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must have book in any collection. This girl is truly an inspiration for anyone who wishes to bring about changes in society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting book, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and was Shot by the Taliban (Kindle Edition)
To me the book was interesting on two counts. Firstly because it gave the background to Malala's life and explains the shooting and its aftermath. Secondly because it explains a life style and culture within Pakistans Swat valley I knew little about. Interesting and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 918 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews