Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of great music, BUY THIS ALBUM., 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Amen Corner - If Paradise Was Half As Nice.
Well everybody knows the title track from this all-encompassing compilation, don't they? Let's assume they do but if they don't, there are 3 versions on the two disks to enjoy anyway, ranging from the original mono version to the lively Welsh Coast Live Explosion version that vividly salutes that fantastic range and power of Fairweather-Low's extraordinary vocal talents.
But this compilation is much more than a tribute to one hit, one of a surprisingly large number as it turns out. If like me, you were only born in the year that Amen Corner were releasing singles, you will be surprised just how many of the songs you have heard without realising who recorded them.
If Paradise Was Half As Nice is the perfect way of building a fully comprehensive Amen Corner collection. Disk 1 has no less than 23 tracks that span the full Amen Corner career. In tracks like the indulgent Farewell to the Real Magnificent Seven or the almost hypnotic chorus of Lady Riga, the full extent of the young 7 piece's music talent, (in both song composition and playcraft), will ooze from your hi-fi.
Disk 2 is the full live album, The National Welsh Coast Live Explosion and is a stark contrast from the first more sober, clean and clinical collection. Fantastically energetic, I challenge anyone to listen only to a single track from it. From the moment it bursts into life with a MacArthur Park medley, you cannot turn it off.
So a short verdict? If you were an Amen Corner fan first time round, buy this album. If you are fan of the voice of Andy Fairweather-Low, buy this album. Or if you just love great music, BUY THIS ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Immediate label recordings, 18 April 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Before signing to the Immediate label, Amen Corner (lead singer Andy Fairweather-Low) had three major UK hits for Deram - Bend me shape me, Gin house blues and High in the sky. You'll find live versions of those hits here, but you must buy a separate compilation for the original studio recordings of those three songs. This compilation presents everything that Amen Corner recorded for Immediate. The first CD contains their studio recordings while the second CD is a straight re-issue of their live album, The National Welsh Coast Live Explosion.
The studio recordings include the two UK hits that they had for the label - If paradise was half as nice (a number one hit) and Hello Suzie (a top five hit) together with covers of Get back (Beatles), Proud Mary (Creedence Clearwater Revival) and The weight (The Band). There are many other great songs too, including Evil man's gonna win, Farewell to the real magnificent seven, Lady Riga and Long chocolate limousine. I'm not always keen on live albums but the one featured on the second CD is certainly one of the best I've heard.
After the collapse of the Immediate label, the group evolved into Fairweather and had a UK top ten hit on RCA with Natural sinner, but the group disbanded soon afterwards. Andy Fairweather-Low had a couple of UK top ten hits in the mid-seventies with Reggae tune and Wide-eyed and legless.
So this compilation stands on its own merit, but if you enjoy the music here you might also enjoy their earlier music as well as Andy's solo music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amen, 29 Oct 2008
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The primary reason for buying this album is the inclusion of the entire 'Farewell To The Real Magnificent Seven' album, which forms the backbone of CD1. Like the Zombies' superb parting shot Odessey and Oracle, the album was released as the band broke up. The difference, however, is that it was a collection of singles and leftovers. Incredibly, it sounds like a masterwork and has a consistency that their debut album for Deram lacked.

The big hits, 'Half As Nice' and 'Hello Susie' are both included and there is more gorgeous pop in the form of 'At Last I've Found Someone To Love' and 'Mr Nonchalant'. The big surprise is the plethora of weighty rock numbers. 'Evil Man's Gonna Win', 'Lady Riga' and 'Welcome To The Club' are especially impressive as is the rousing 'Hey! Hey! Girl'. Most impressive is 'Farewell...', an extended workout with a wordless vocal arrangement. The theme song to the horror film 'Scream And Scream Again' also appears. The three covers are arguably the least interesting tracks. 'Get Back' was a mistake, while 'Proud Mary' is decent, but I was never a fan of The Band's ponderous 'The Weight'.

Apart from a few bonuses, the album is completed by Amen Corner's live album which fills CD2. This reveals that they were a fine live act, though it is also a reminder that pop bands were still being screamed at in the late 1960s, a feature that mars several live albums of that decade. Nevertheless, this collection contains a wealth of great, but relatively unheralded music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in Time, 5 Jun 2004
By 
Chrissie McCall (Manchester, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This album truly transported me back in time - remember those crazy days of the 60's? Well with this album you can actually feel them again. That strange haunting voice of AFL (not exactly the best voice in the world but distinctive nevertheless)belting out old favourites - songs you have forgotten, songs you have remembered. Well worth a listen, BUY IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Weatherfield Low and Amen Corner, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. R. Shelvey (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have these numbers on conventional records, these CD's are a great back up and sound much better too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant mix of studio recorded and live classics. Simply sit back, sing along to your favourite lyrics, or get up and dance - this is a seriously good album - Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paradise on earth, 16 Mar 2011
By 
Mehaudy S. Roberto (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hadn't heard many of the songs included until now and though the band is mainly famous because of the top hit "If paradise was half as nice", I can say that the whole compilation deserves nothing but good comments. I feel happy to have it. Roberto from Argentina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Paradise is half as nice, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Alan D. Clair - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superb Album,a lot of the tracks I hadn't heard before, but was pleasantly surprised at how good they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews