Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Parish and Richards
Love this series so much, I recommend it to all crime thriller readers. The rapport between the characters is at times highly amusing!
Published 9 months ago by steffi

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many sub-plots
Having read all of his crime related books and enjoyed them, I do not feel that this was in the same category. There were too many sub-plots going on which meant that none of the them were, in my view, given enough time - they became superficial. Some did not seem to end - apart from with a throw away line (I won't go into detail so as not to spoil it) - others suddenly...
Published 16 months ago by Derek Shepherd


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many sub-plots, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Having read all of his crime related books and enjoyed them, I do not feel that this was in the same category. There were too many sub-plots going on which meant that none of the them were, in my view, given enough time - they became superficial. Some did not seem to end - apart from with a throw away line (I won't go into detail so as not to spoil it) - others suddenly concluded. If this is how his books are going to continue, then I will probably stop buying them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great...., 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all 10 of the Parish and Richard books. The first few were very good but as the other books came out, the author started his more in depth penchant for VERY violent descriptions of the weirdos actions. OK some is necessary but to the degree in this latest book, yuk.
In addition, in any book plots and subplots are probably good but this book has one main plot and an ongoing background plot and then three other plots.
And my last criticism leads me to the Jerry Kowalski part. What happened there. It was simply left in the air.
Tim Ellis NOT GOOD ENOUGH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Through A Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards 10), 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I love Tim Ellis books, especially the detective stories and banter between Parish & Richards ... unfortunately, I have to agree with other readers that starting with P&R Book 9, things have started to go 'off track'. Too many sub plots causing confusion ..... please, let the series continue, but revert to the earlier style, complete a plot and have an ongoing story in the background to carry forward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Having enjoyed all Tim Ellis' other books I was looking forward to reading this latest episode of sharp wit and humour alongside a good detective story.
However what you get is three short stories loosely bound together by the fact that the characters all appear in each of the stories. Each turn of the page swaps you from one story to the next and back again. Even a keen follower of Parish and Richards found it very difficult to hold all the plots together. Sorry Tim but you should have worked a bit longer on each story and made a full book out of them OR admitted that it was a collection of short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars badly written books, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I gave this book 2 stars because I did not exactly hate it but it was so badly written, I am sure that I wrote better essays at school. I kept buying this series in order to find out what the secret was behind Parish's upbringing but have now realised that I do not actually care and will not be buying the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Hols969 (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Slightly different this one in the P&R go abroad to investigate a crime. Still not keen on the female detective. Really like Jerry being more of a main character though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 April 2014
By 
JLSey60 (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I, like other reviewers of this book, have found this instalment of P & R disappointing. There are far too many story lines, it becomes confusing trying to keep up. Stretching parish's history over 10 books, and probably more, is beyond ridiculous! I really don't care any more. It's become pointless and not even vaguely of interest.
However, for me, the biggest problem with this grisly tale is the character of Michelangelo.the name is a cliche to start with! There is no such thing as a hair lip! Many years ago these were called hare lips. So called because of an apparent similarity to the lip of a hare. In recent years this condition has been, more accurately, renamed cleft lip. A cleft lip does not make someone grotesque mr Ellis! It is a congenital condition. 1/7000 babies will be born with a cleft lip and/or palate. The vast majority are beautiful children, even before repairing surgery. PLEASE use the correct term, and spell it right! And just because you want the character to be evil, don't make a fairly common disfigurement to be something grotesque!
Such a little bit of research would have clarified this for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I think the time has come for Tim Ellis to put the Parish and Richards, police procedural books to bed. They have become too far fetched to be enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parish and Richards, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
Love this series so much, I recommend it to all crime thriller readers. The rapport between the characters is at times highly amusing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book ruined by an incomplete ending, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through a Glass Darkly (Parish & Richards Book 10) (Kindle Edition)
I was thoroughly enjoying this book, with it's very intriguing, separate story lines running in parallel. However, I was astonished by the abrupt ending - this is basically an unfinished book. I thought at first that the way it ended without any proper conclusions, must have been a mistake by the publishers i.e. a chapter missed out, but apparently not. I really can not understand what Tim Ellis was thinking, to put so much work into writing such a good book and then not bother with a proper ending, thereby leaving his readers totally perplexed. There is nothing more annoying than to spend hours reading a good book and then be cheated at the end. AUTHOR PLEASE NOTE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews