Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good If you're not a big Fan
The original cassette of this was the first Album and holds great memories for me. The original Album has the hit's (The Riddle, Wide Boy and Don Quixote) plus some great album tracks (Easy, Roses and Wild Horses being my favourites). The other tracks are great too although I'm not a great fan of Save the Whale. To release this album so soon after debut, Human Racing...
Published 20 months ago by Connell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... is the stand out song - the rest are pretty average?
The Riddle is the stand out song - the rest are pretty average?
Published 1 month ago by Hunkpapa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good If you're not a big Fan, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
Connell (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
The original cassette of this was the first Album and holds great memories for me. The original Album has the hit's (The Riddle, Wide Boy and Don Quixote) plus some great album tracks (Easy, Roses and Wild Horses being my favourites). The other tracks are great too although I'm not a great fan of Save the Whale. To release this album so soon after debut, Human Racing shows that Nik appreciated that you should strike when the Iron's hot. The rest of his career did not have near the success of 1984 and 85.

On the plus of the extra material, The extended mixes are there (I love "Extended Riddle") along with Studio B-sides Don't Lie and So Quiet (Probably one of his better songs). The live track are also good and a great extra to this album. On a whole, if you were someone out to buy an acceptable double CD version of the original or just wanted this album on CD (which wasn't easy before this release) then I'd recommend this.

As a collector though, I'd expect 7" versions of Wide Boy and Don Quixote to be there. I also would expect Progress (the b-side to The Riddle) to be here. If it hadn't been on the Human Racing edition, I would also have expected Shame On you Remix (B-side track of Wide Boy 12") to have been there. Wild Horses 12" was the B-side to When a Heart Beats 12", so I can't see why this is missing.

Thompson Twins, Kim Wilde and many others have crammed the re-releases with as much as possible. It's a pity the same wasn't done on this and Human Racing reissues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An 80's Classic!, 20 May 2007
By 
Mr. J. Atkins "Joe Atkins" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Riddle [CASSETTE] (Audio Cassette)
Having just upgraded from a well worn cassette to an expensive and not easy to find CD I felt it time to do a quick review of a superb record.

The Riddle boasts the talents of a very underrated artist.I always found Nik Kershaw to be a cut above some of the mid 80's male solo artists.His music was unfortunately catergorised to a certain extent to only having an appeal to a younger female audience.This should'nt have been the case though as it's genius should have gone much further than that.

Stand out tracks are "Easy" "City Of Angels" "Know How" and "Wild Horses"..this is on top of the tracks released as singles from the album.

Sitting in the middle of his 3 best known albums...'84's Human Racing and '86's Radio Musicola this album showcases an artist at the peak of his talents.It gets my personal 5 stars as it is,in my opinion, a standout album from one of Britain's foremost singer/songwriters.

A Classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up!, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Riddle (Vinyl)
This was a very good follow-up album to his massive-selling debut 'Human Racing'.

A second successful album for Nik Kershaw here that spawned more it hit singles; 'The Riddle', 'Wide Boy'. and 'Don Quixote'. This is one that might take a little longer to grow on you than his debut - but certainly another great album in my opinion. If any criticisms at all, it would be perhaps to say that the final track 'Save The Whale' seems a little out of place and does not match the standard of the rest of the album - but hey; nine out of ten ain't bad!

Highlights: Don Quixote, Wild Horses, Easy , The Riddle, City Of Angels & Wide Boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Riddle - Wow! Better Than Ever!, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So chuffed to find that this newly expanded/remastered edition has been given the same loving care and attention that Human Racing was given in 2012. In a nutshell it sounds superb! Better than ever...
There's a new-found sonic clarity and depth in the remaster, and I found myself hearing some instruments/effects I'd never noticed before. It's like discovering it all over again!

As for the nay-sayers who are slagging off the track-listing on Disc 2: Come on guys!! You're getting the full remastered classic "The Riddle" album PLUS a 2nd disc of extra material......all for a tenner!!
(Just count yourself lucky you're getting a bonus disc in the first place!)
Personally, I'm not that fussed about the live tracks myself either, but So Quiet (forgot how wonderful this track is), Don't Lie (ditto) and the bonus extended mixes of The Riddle, Don Quixote and Wide Boy more than make up for it.

Very pleased. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 80s albums ever!, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
Sharron Hather "irismay42" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Riddle (MP3 Download)
When I was an impressionable 13 year old, back in 1984 when this album came out, I remember not only being madly in love with Nik Kershaw, but also having a copy of The Riddle and his earlier album Human Racing back to back on a cassette tape that I played to death on my Sanyo portable stereo.

28 years later, this album still sounds just as good, Nik's ability to write catchy melodies and lyrics that can veer wildly from the environmentally conscious exhortations of Roses and Save the Whale to the wry comedy of Wide Boy to the downright unfathomable masterpiece that is the title track itself standing the test of time far better than his ridiculously short pop career ever did. For me, the three singles, The Riddle, Don Quixote and Wide Boy are still favourites, along with Roses and Know How.

Go buy. And while you're at it, have a look at the four albums he's produced since 1999 - all brilliant and criminally overlooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riddle solved?, 22 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Riddle (Audio CD)
I remember rating Nik and his music quite highly back in the 80s and coming under flak for it. I stand by my opinion still: despite being marketed (and successful) as a chart topping pop artist his albums always contained more depth than chart success would suggest. Of course, with hindsight the album is let down by excessive 80s' production: gated and reverb heavy drums and drum patterns, fat analog (or analog style) synth patches and so on, but the songs themselves largely stand out in spite of this.

But high points include excellent bass from Mark King (epitome of 80s production values perhaps...) on Easy, the fine melody of City Of Angels, the title track (which acording to Nik has no solution as it was just rambling to fit the music) and the album's closer, Save the Whale.

Worth a listen, and in its context one of the better "pop" albums of the 80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up!, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Riddle (Vinyl)
This was a very good follow-up album to his massive-selling debut 'Human Racing'.

A second successful album for Nik Kershaw here that spawned more it hit singles; 'The Riddle', 'Wide Boy'. and 'Don Quixote'. This is one that might take a little longer to grow on you than his debut - but certainly another great album in my opinion. If any criticisms at all, it would be perhaps to say that the final track 'Save The Whale' seems a little out of place and does not match the standard of the rest of the album - but hey; nine out of ten ain't bad!

Highlights: Don Quixote, Wild Horses, Easy , The Riddle, City Of Angels & Wide Boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up!, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Riddle (Audio CD)
This was a very good follow-up album to his massive-selling debut 'Human Racing'.

A second successful album for Nik Kershaw here that spawned more it hit singles; 'The Riddle', 'Wide Boy'. and 'Don Quixote'. This is one that might take a little longer to grow on you than his debut - but certainly another great album in my opinion. If any criticisms at all, it would be perhaps to say that the final track 'Save The Whale' seems a little out of place and does not match the standard of the rest of the album - but hey; nine out of ten ain't bad!

Highlights: Don Quixote, Wild Horses, Easy , The Riddle, City Of Angels & Wide Boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up!, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Riddle (Audio CD)
This was a very good follow-up album to his massive-selling debut 'Human Racing'.

A second successful album for Nik Kershaw here that spawned more it hit singles; 'The Riddle', 'Wide Boy'. and 'Don Quixote'. This is one that might take a little longer to grow on you than his debut - but certainly another great album in my opinion. If any criticisms at all, it would be perhaps to say that the final track 'Save The Whale' seems a little out of place and does not match the standard of the rest of the album - but hey; nine out of ten ain't bad!

Highlights: Don Quixote, Wild Horses, Easy , The Riddle, City Of Angels & Wide Boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered & Expanded, 12 Aug. 2013
Nik Kershaw was always something of a reluctant popster/popstar. And if his concert audiences were dominated by screaming teenies after the huge success of his debut album, there was enough evidence of his musical talent to appeal to more grown-up/discerning listeners. Such interest was cemented by the release of this second album, recorded only 9 months after his notable debut. No difficult second album this and the expanded edition is remastered superbly and nicely presented with colour photos and lyrics reproduced in a glossy booklet. Nik himself has written some informative and entertaining (as to be expected!) notes which explain why all is not as it seems with regard to the the live tracks - he has re-recorded his vocals on half of these. "Roses", "City Of Angels" and "Save The Whale" have their original live vocals. "Know How", "You Might" and "Wild Horses" have newly re-done vocals, for what may be termed 'technical' reasons (Mr K wasn't happy with his performance with the then new headset mic. I have to say, I caught the Manchester Apollo gig on this tour and that sounded fine). Having the live tracks alternate with the 12"mixes and B-sides on Disc 2 might annoy some but the re-done 'live' vocals work well and the original vocals aren't so bad. Disc 1 is a classic slice of pure pop which has stood the test of time well, as quality music does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews