Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rolling back the yearsl
I love this album, as it rolls back the years to the string of lp,s and performances in the late 70,s and early 80,s there is a warmth to hearing Cooder, Jimenez, Evans and Mculler enjoying themselves as they roar through this set. I,m a fan i might be biased i might even be wrong, but i still love chicken skin music live and i,ve got a feeling that i,m going to be...
Published 17 months ago by g j linfoot

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Ry Cooder's best
Ry Cooder fans like me will want this in their collections, but it's not one of his best albums by any means. There are some great moments, but also some rather weaker stuff and the live sound isn't great.

Good bits first: there are cracking versions of Vigilante Man and Crazy 'Bout An Automobile and there is, of course, some really fine guitar work in plenty...
Published 17 months ago by Sid Nuncius


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rolling back the yearsl, 17 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In San Francisco (Audio CD)
I love this album, as it rolls back the years to the string of lp,s and performances in the late 70,s and early 80,s there is a warmth to hearing Cooder, Jimenez, Evans and Mculler enjoying themselves as they roar through this set. I,m a fan i might be biased i might even be wrong, but i still love chicken skin music live and i,ve got a feeling that i,m going to be playing this for as couple of decades. Knocked a polnt of for the between songs "banter" which i,m already skipping through but the playing is peerless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In San Francisco (Audio CD)
I don't quite get the generally luke warm reviews so far. To me this is a fine live CD. The sound quality on my system is pretty good, maybe not quite up to Live On Air standards but more than acceptable.

Ry and the band are in fine form and the recording gives you a front row seat experience. Highlights for me are Dark End of the Street, with great vocals from Terry Evans and Arnold McCuller and brilliant accordion as always from Flaco Jiminez. Of course Vigilante Man is Ry at his best with brilliant guitar. I also love the closer Good Night Irene which features some really beautiful interplay between Ry and Flaco. Vocally Ry seems to have improved with age compared to the Live on Air set.

The 10 piece horn section don't dominate the set , rather they compliment those songs they feature on.

Overall this is a very enjoyable disc, if you like live music then buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Dont You Try Me, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
D. Smith "davidsmith151" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In San Francisco (Audio CD)
A bad Ry Cooder release be it a studio or live one isn't on the cards so far. I bought `live on air` a while back and really enjoyed it, especially on long car journeys. For me the winner is a really good `Dark End of the Street` `Schools Out` being a close second, whilst the others just feel `pedestrian`. It may well be a grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Ry Cooder's best, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live In San Francisco (Audio CD)
Ry Cooder fans like me will want this in their collections, but it's not one of his best albums by any means. There are some great moments, but also some rather weaker stuff and the live sound isn't great.

Good bits first: there are cracking versions of Vigilante Man and Crazy 'Bout An Automobile and there is, of course, some really fine guitar work in plenty of other places. The opening of Volver Volver is wonderful, for example...but the rest of it really isn't up to much, including some pretty dodgy tuning in Juliette Commagere's vocals. And that rather sums up the album for me - great in places but pretty ordinary overall.

Part of the problem is the sound, which is woolly, boomy and indistinct a good deal of the time. There is also a lot of intrusive audience noise, including a lot of that whooping in completely inappropriate places which is all about drawing attention to the whooper and nothing to do with appreciation of the music. It really needed to be mixed down because for me it spoils quite a lot of the quieter bits. (And what is it about Goodnight Irene? It's a pretty dull song and first Eric Clapton and now Ry Cooder have released...well...dull recordings of it. It's a mystery to me.)

I've loved Ry Cooder's music since I discovered Bop Till You Drop in 1979 (better late than never) and I'll certainly listen to anything by him, but I can't see me playing this very often. I suspect I'd have loved it if I'd been there, but as a record I can only give it a lukewarm recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ry Cooder live in San Fran, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ry Cooder live with Corridos Famosa they just rock the place.. A lot of his most well known tunes with a quirky number thrown in , the Mexican flavour just another layer into a great musical journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ry Cooder, Live, 9 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. R. Kerr "Rob Kerr" (Wynyard UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Starts well, but looses pace progressively as it plays.
Interesting guitar work, but has done better.
The first three tracks are the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well Yes..... Pretty Good,.... Mostly, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In San Francisco (Audio CD)
I rather like Live in San Francisco and it leaves me with the impression that it would have been great to be there! However as is often the case the difference between being there and listening to the recording leaves you with the feeling that those who were there on the night got the better end of the deal. But its not a bad album , Crazy 'bout an Automobile, Why Don't you Try Me and Boomer's Story are welcome old friends but this version of Dark End of the Street verges on the maudlin while Do Re Mi and School is Out are a bit ordinary and Volver Volver very ordinary indeed. This is not the case however with the Outlaw Jesse James ,Wooly Bully and a stand out, dark, stark, Vigilante Man. These three songs make it all worth while, but if you're not an initiate of the man this might not be the album to start you on the path to enlightenment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As always, Ry is on top form, 7 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ry Cooder is a genius and a master and such a generous musician, bringing so many other players and styles to the attention of loyal fans like me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars funky live cooder, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In San Francisco (Audio CD)
if you know cooder then you probably heard these before but its well done played well with some alt takes on favourites nice atmosphere,bit of a companion piece for cd "showtime"from 70's and recorded at same place interesting to hear the change in voice and guitar tones etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album by ry cooder, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live In San Francisco (Audio CD)
this is a fantastic album by ry cooder i have played it over and over again love it he gets better with age and his guests were something else you will not be disapointed if you buy this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live In San Francisco
Live In San Francisco by Ry Cooder (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews