Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking
This was a winner in the cinema. I noticed the audience joined in with the characters' emotions very readily, laughing, gasping and silence in the moments of tension. The range of emotions as the story progressed got more and more intense, as the characters move from the relative safety of urban life and supermarket convenience, to the stark battles with nature and...
Published 6 months ago by katrina_marina

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't particularly like it, but it was okay
The characters were interesting and fairly diverse, but nothing that happened really produced as much of an emotional reaction from me as I was expecting from the great reviews.
Published 7 months ago by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
This was a winner in the cinema. I noticed the audience joined in with the characters' emotions very readily, laughing, gasping and silence in the moments of tension. The range of emotions as the story progressed got more and more intense, as the characters move from the relative safety of urban life and supermarket convenience, to the stark battles with nature and decay in the countryside. This tension between the two worlds is also in the characters themselves, battling with half-wolf, half-human traits which their mother can only try to understand from her all-human perspective. The drawing is just gorgeous, and the scope of variations of scene, reflections, surfaces, subtle cues to the passing of time, weather changes and vegetation is marvellous. From a beautiful field of different wildflowers in the sunshine, to a torrential gale, the weather seems to reflect the mother's inner struggle to give her children the right to choose whether to be human or wolf, and ultimately being content with their choice. The musical score is beautiful, and perfectly accompanies the animation. There were happy faces going home, from tiny tots to pensioners, and this mum here had a few teary moments too. Just beautiful - I'm going to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply heart warming, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
being a fan of their previous work "The Girl who Leapt Through Time" and "Summer Wars" I was looking forward to watching this when I stumbled upon this film on youtube

thought I could only watch it with English subs the emotions of the story still came across and the animation was as stunning as always.

If you're a fan of anime/manga films this one is a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must watch!, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't seen the dub yet so this is a review of the Japanese original with English subtitles which i first saw at a film festival a year ago.

I'm quite the anime nerd and have seen all of Hayao Miyazaki's works among many other things and i have to say that i rate this as one of my favourite ever anime films and think any fans of Miyazaki's works would enjoy this just as much. It's incredibly heart warming whilst also very funny in places and just all around wholesome (much in the same way that Clannad (tv show) is if you have seen that.

Would recommend for anyone, fans of anime or not and i CANNOT WAIT for this to be released on dvd!

Buy buy buy! ( but leave a copy for me!) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! [some spoilers], 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children Collector's Edition Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack (Blu-ray)
Really loved the movie when I watched it. It has such an amazing story and the art is fantastic! I also love that you get some art made by the creator with it. Those looks great too. My favorite character in this, must be Hana. She's a great mom and does great, considering she has two half-human, half-wolf kids and what makes me love her even more, is how great she handles everything when her boyfriend/the dad passes away. It was just so sad when it happened, but she manages to pull through at that what makes the movie so great.

I also loved how the kids made their own decision of what they.... wanted to be, either a wolf or a human. If you're uncertain if you want to watch this movie or not (or to buy it), just do it! You will not regret the choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Summer Wars, but then what is?, 28 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
Version I saw: UK DVD release (subtitled)
Actors: 7/10 Plot/script: 7/10
Photography/visual style: 7/10
Music/score: 7/10
Overall: 7/10
Wolf Children is the third film from director Mamoru Hosoda, after The Girl Who Leapt Through Time and Summer Wars. The latter is an
incredibly difficult act to follow, and although Wolf Children does not quite come up to that standard, it gives it a damn good try and comes out with plenty of credit.
It's a mythic story, drawing on Japanese folklore stories of wolves that could take on human appearance. This idea is transposed to modern Japan, where it is played out as a love story between a young university student and a mysterious man who turns out to be a wolf. They have children, and then he is forced away, leaving her to raise the children by herself.
Family is a major theme of what follows, and as in Summer Wars, the family relationships really have the ring of truth about them, to me at least. This is clearly a strength of Hosoda's work, and that of writer Satoko Okudera. Interestingly, their perspective seems to have shifted between the two films, from that of the youths to that of the parents. Everyone grows up, I suppose.
For my full review, see my independent film blog on Blogspot, Cinema Inferno: http://cinemainferno-blog.blogspot.co.uk/2014/07/wolf-children-2012.html
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch For Any Anime Fan Or Wolf Lovers, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
This anime film by Mamoru Hosoda is one of the most touching anime films i have watched in a while. It will touch your heart strings as you watch the adventure of a girl called Hana a beautiful young woman who falls in love wth a wolf man straight out of a fairy tale

As their love life continues they give birth to two children who are half human half wolf but how do you raise up children who are half children half wolf? Well if you want to know the answers to this or just want to watch a very touching anime film that will tug the old heart strings then i would definitely recommend and buy this anime film as this will do all that and much more for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Masterpiece, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a huge anime/manga fan and this is another wonderful movie. It's a decent length (which sometimes you don't get from this genre) and mixes all kinds of emotions with the beauty of nature. You won't be disappointed of you're a fan of the genre and it's a brilliant animated movie in its own right. It's brilliantly dubbed but also can be watched in it's original format. The story is about a woman who loses her husband and is left to look after her two children, who are a type of werewolf, in a way. She moves them to the countryside where they both chose their paths and grow up surrounded by nature. It's lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as Miyazaki if not better, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
I am a massive fan of director, Mamoru Hosada. I think his breakout film, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is one of the greatest anime films of all time and even rivals some of the movies created by the spiritual godfather of anime cinema, the great Hayao Miyazaki. What I like about Hosada's work is that all of his stories (Girl Who..., Summer Wars and The Wolf Children) are grounded in real, every-day believable settings and that his films all explore universal themes of family. The other advantage Hosada's film-making has over Miyazaki's is that he embraces the three act structure, so you could argue he has a more Hollywood approach to story-telling compared to many of his Japanese contemporaries.

Wolf Children is the story of a family of shape-shifting humans. As the title suggests, they are able to transform into wolves. When tragedy strikes it is up to the mother to raise her two rambunctious little children. The film is both funny, sad, uplifting and overall very moving. When I saw it originally on screen in Paris earlier this year I couldn't believe how many people in the audience were crying by the finale. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who loves their family, who loves nature and who loves good animated movies from the likes of Studio Ghibli, Pixar and Disney. BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Beautiful, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
in more ways then one. The animation is stunning and incredibly detailed and colourful, while the story is imaginative and compelling. It's different from the norm in that there is no bad guy to drive the plot; instead, it's all about the journey of the family. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Anime movies ever made, 23 Aug 2013
This review is from: Wolf Children Collector's Edition Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack (Blu-ray)
Once in a while it comes along a movie that redefines how heartfeelt and honest a anime movie can be, i can not recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf Children Collector's Edition Blu-ray/DVD Combo Pack
Used & New from: 49.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews