Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cff- movies (english) in germany!!
hello, everybody,

i write to all cff lovers, because in germany are great thrilling six cff-movies with english language
for buying there in amazon.de.
Five on a Treasure Island (Die Sache mit der Schatzinsel)
Five Clues to Fortune (Geheimsache fünf)
Valley of the Kings (Im Tal der Könige)
Beware of the Dog (Achtung: Bissiger...
Published 5 months ago by sir hilary

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1 st story is the best
O K a bit dated but my daughter enjoyed the 1 st story, that was quite scary. recommennded for over 10's
Published 17 months ago by coco98


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cff- movies (english) in germany!!, 13 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
hello, everybody,

i write to all cff lovers, because in germany are great thrilling six cff-movies with english language
for buying there in amazon.de.
Five on a Treasure Island (Die Sache mit der Schatzinsel)
Five Clues to Fortune (Geheimsache fünf)
Valley of the Kings (Im Tal der Könige)
Beware of the Dog (Achtung: Bissiger Hund)
The Carringford School Mystery (Die Halskette)
The Young Jacobites (Die jungen Jakobiter)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy and nostalgic, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
Joanne Sheppard (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
I remember two of these films from my childhood when they were screened on TV during the summer holidays. Both of them made a real impression on me (by 'made an impression' I mean 'terrified') when I was little and I was really pleased to be able to revisit them. Although clearly made on a tight budget the standard of film-making is surprisingly high and all three films are certainly creepier than you would expect from a film aimed at the same age group today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Tales, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
Having seen Haunters of the Deep many years ago and enjoyed it,it was great to find it on DVD.
The other two films are good as well.A good childrens DVD for a wet day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and it's amazing the faces you recognize, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
I remember these films from when I was a kid, and it's amazing the faces you recognize. Top marks go especially to Haunters of the Deep, a ghostly tale of a haunted Cornish mine, re-opened decades after a disaster in which many miners died. I am hugely happy to find this and other Childrens Film Foundation movies are available to collect and enjoy on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scary stories., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
very good dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary stories, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
A fantastic dvd these films never fail to entertain. 1st class seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 4th volume in this series could be better., 8 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. David Rayner "David Rayner" (STOKE-ON-TRENT, STAFFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
This is the fourth volume in BFI's three CFF features on a DVD series. All the previous volumes have featured films remastered from the original 35mm negatives and have looked marvelous. However, on this volume, only "The Man From Nowhere" (1975) has been remastered in 1.85:1 anamorphic wide screen from the original 35mm film negatives, while both the excellent "Haunters of the Deep" and the less than excellent "Out of the Darkness" have been remastered not from the 35mm versions, but from 4 x 3 ratio 16mm versions and it shows. Although they look as good as any 16mm film from the mid-1980s could look (which isn't saying much), they both have a softness of focus about them and look rather grainy. The difference in image quality between the 35mm "The Man From Nowhere" and the two in 16mm is very noticeable indeed. So what are the BFI saying by doing this? That the original 35mm negatives from "Haunters of the Deep" and "Out of the Darkness" no longer exist? And if so, why not, as they are both less than thirty years old. I was expecting a really clear image on the "Haunters of the Deep" transfer, but as it is, it looks no better than the bootleg copy I've had for years. 4 out of 5 for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still a Must, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
Not the best of the Foundation Collection, but still a must for fans of classic films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
S. Boothe "Peace for Life" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
Perfect Product...Excellent Delivery....As I Wished For....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars childhood memoriees, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD) (DVD)
these were brilliant programmes that once made for kids and loved been frightened as a kids but then terrified to go to bed lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Childrens Film Foundation Collection: Scary Stories (DVD)
£7.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews