Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply heart warming
being a fan of their previous work "The Girl who Leapt Through Time" and "Summer Wars" I was looking forward to watching this when I stumbled upon this film on youtube

thought I could only watch it with English subs the emotions of the story still came across and the animation was as stunning as always.

If you're a fan of anime/manga films this one...
Published 8 months ago by CapitainSmiffy

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't particularly like it, but it was okay
The characters were interesting and fairly diverse, but nothing that happened really produced as much of an emotional reaction from me as I was expecting from the great reviews.
Published 6 months ago by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply heart warming, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
being a fan of their previous work "The Girl who Leapt Through Time" and "Summer Wars" I was looking forward to watching this when I stumbled upon this film on youtube

thought I could only watch it with English subs the emotions of the story still came across and the animation was as stunning as always.

If you're a fan of anime/manga films this one is a must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must watch!, 14 Sep 2013
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't seen the dub yet so this is a review of the Japanese original with English subtitles which i first saw at a film festival a year ago.

I'm quite the anime nerd and have seen all of Hayao Miyazaki's works among many other things and i have to say that i rate this as one of my favourite ever anime films and think any fans of Miyazaki's works would enjoy this just as much. It's incredibly heart warming whilst also very funny in places and just all around wholesome (much in the same way that Clannad (tv show) is if you have seen that.

Would recommend for anyone, fans of anime or not and i CANNOT WAIT for this to be released on dvd!

Buy buy buy! ( but leave a copy for me!) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Watch For Any Anime Fan Or Wolf Lovers, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
This anime film by Mamoru Hosoda is one of the most touching anime films i have watched in a while. It will touch your heart strings as you watch the adventure of a girl called Hana a beautiful young woman who falls in love wth a wolf man straight out of a fairy tale

As their love life continues they give birth to two children who are half human half wolf but how do you raise up children who are half children half wolf? Well if you want to know the answers to this or just want to watch a very touching anime film that will tug the old heart strings then i would definitely recommend and buy this anime film as this will do all that and much more for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It made me cry., 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
It was a charming heartfelt story, even though I kept making sarcastic comments I was still sobbing in the end.
It takes great skill to make me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as Miyazaki if not better, 28 Nov 2013
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
I am a massive fan of director, Mamoru Hosada. I think his breakout film, The Girl Who Leapt Through Time is one of the greatest anime films of all time and even rivals some of the movies created by the spiritual godfather of anime cinema, the great Hayao Miyazaki. What I like about Hosada's work is that all of his stories (Girl Who..., Summer Wars and The Wolf Children) are grounded in real, every-day believable settings and that his films all explore universal themes of family. The other advantage Hosada's film-making has over Miyazaki's is that he embraces the three act structure, so you could argue he has a more Hollywood approach to story-telling compared to many of his Japanese contemporaries.

Wolf Children is the story of a family of shape-shifting humans. As the title suggests, they are able to transform into wolves. When tragedy strikes it is up to the mother to raise her two rambunctious little children. The film is both funny, sad, uplifting and overall very moving. When I saw it originally on screen in Paris earlier this year I couldn't believe how many people in the audience were crying by the finale. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who loves their family, who loves nature and who loves good animated movies from the likes of Studio Ghibli, Pixar and Disney. BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Anime movies ever made, 23 Aug 2013
Once in a while it comes along a movie that redefines how heartfeelt and honest a anime movie can be, i can not recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would highly recommend this to any anime fan, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
Would highly recommend this to any anime fan. The film is great. The story focuses on the mothers struggles to raise her two young children who can morph into wolves, and the children's struggle of dealing with their abilities whilst trying to lead a normal life. The story is very well laid out and is very fun all the way through, and with a great art style to match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this movie : )
Such a great buy , sobbed so much though .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for tears., 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
Dont bother contemplating buying this. Just get it! If you like anime, emotion, immense character development. This is for you. It is by any means a masterpiece. I would even say you do not have to be interested in the anime genre to enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Animee film, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wolf Children [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my daughter who must have now watched it a dozen times. All the family enjoyed this film. would recommend. Excellent fast delivery too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wolf Children [DVD]
Wolf Children [DVD] by Mamoru Hosada (DVD - 2013)
16.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews